We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local spread lunch buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of StraitsKitchen

StraitsKitchen
Ranked #85 of 10,515 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Singaporean, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Local spread lunch buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great place to try a variety of local and asian dishes in 5 star ambience. Almost everything was good, from the gado gado, satays, noodles to the kebabs and desert.

Will be back.....

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vasdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    238
    88
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hahndorf, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were taken,as a family group of 4, to this restaurant by our son,who was in Singapore for the second part of his marriage to his Singaporean bride.It was a surprise for us after a day of sightseeing together.The whole experience was one of the most amazing eating experiences I've ever had. Imagine being able to try cuisines/dishes that you might be careful about ordering a la carte, just in case you didn't like it. I was able to try many different dishes, just serving myself enough for a taste, as I could always go back for more.
I was really keen to try Asian desserts, which were (a) made from unknown ingredients (b)very brightly coloured! I also wanted to try some unusual fruits.I found that durian icecream and soursop gelati are divine, and dragon fruit looks pretty but tastes like nothing!!
The table service was impeccable-plates etc cleared quietly and efficiently (though remember to keep your cutlery- strange...) and our waitress offered suggestions to try as we tucked in to each new dish (as well as some old favourites).
I suggest that you take care with the quantity you serve yourself, as this experience is a marathon, not a sprint, if you want to take full advantage of the offerings.
I can't advise as to costs, as our son insisted on paying and wouldn't tell us how much!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aless6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Quality for Such a large resturant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

A massive restaurant covering most of the Mezzanine floor of the Grand Hyatt in Singapore. Superb service and food, covering a wide Asian range. Everything is clearly fresh and the kitchen is very visible and actually part of the restaurant layout. Great wine selections.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GordonAbben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
216 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Amazing buffet breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This restaurant is sinful as the food variety is truly amazing. You can choose from hawker style roti prata to traditional western, Chinese food and full service of waffles and pancakes etc etc. one of the best buffets I have ever experienced in the world. Service is also excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank budsy987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Rich selection of local gourmet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you are into trying every bit of local food, this is the one stop place to it. High quality of food. It can be very crowded at lunch time, so come early. The food here is certified halal so muslim can feel happy to eat anything...
I brought my parents here and they were happy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed StraitsKitchen also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to StraitsKitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing