We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Lunch”

Bread Street Kitchen - Singapore
Ranked #138 of 13,789 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central Area/City Area
Description: Sophistication meets casual dining at Bread Street Kitchen, where vintage blends with modern and the music is as eclectic as the décor. With a vibrant spot by the waterfront, indulge in the British European menu with traditional fare such as Fish & Chips and Shepherd's Pie. Hang out at the al fresco bar and sip on well-known classics, innovative cocktails, as well as a large collection of world wines. And on weekends, have a leisurely brunch with the English Breakfast, Eggs Benedict, Buttermilk Pancakes, and more.
Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

I was indeed looking forward to a special treat from Gordon Ramsay's new restaurant in Singapore. The venue is not easy to fund and certainly a long walk from the car drop off point. Nonetheless, we were seated in a prompt manner and the restaurant was not so crowded. However, as 1pm approaches, the place began to fill up and service was noticeably much slower. As we had to turn around back to work, we had to skip dessert and wrapped up the service. While names for meals were fancy, the food was rather ordinary. It looked like a simple burger might be a better approach than the fancy lunch set. I am not sure I would recommend as a lunch venue and not so sure I'll be back soon.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Changjo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRG R, Manager at Bread Street Kitchen - Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2016

Dear Changio88,

We are sorry to hear of your disappointing lunch at Bread Street Kitchen. We pride ourselves in being a leading dining destination in Singapore for business lunches so it is a shame to hear when our guest expectations are not met in one way or another. It is important for us to listen to our guest’s concerns such as yours if we wish to have continued success in Singapore so please be assured your comments will not go overlooked. Our service for weekday lunches is meant to be fast, efficient and professional. From your review it seems as if we need to work on keeping the service fast throughout the entire service and not just at the beginning and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention very much. As a casual dining concept, our dishes aren’t meant to be complex, instead simple British fare, with only a few quality ingredients used in each dish. Our service is meant to be relaxed yet professional with a fun, sophisticated atmosphere.

Your comments have been shared with the team and we believe that your dining experience does not sound like a true reflection of what BSK works hard to achieve. We would be glad to have the chance to make it up to you and show you what a proper BSK is all about. We are confident that upon your return you will leave pleasantly surprised.

Best Wishes,
BSK Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,232 - 1,236 of 1,853 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2016

Decent prices, excellent view and friendly staff. Loved the spicy tuna and scallop starters. Mains were just mediocre, we had the steak and fish and chips. But for the location and price, nothing to complain.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRG R, Manager at Bread Street Kitchen - Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2016

Dear Joanna n,

Thank you for joining us for lunch at Bread Street Kitchen. We are delighted to hear that you had thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience with us. As a casual dining concept, our dishes are meant to be simple British fare done right. You will find many classics such as the fish and chips, which are traditionally very simple with only a few ingredients on each plate, however the ingredients used are of the highest quality. Please be assured we take our guest feedback very seriously and are always looking for ways to better our guest experience. Your feedback has been shared with the team and we hope to see you back soon to try more on the menu!

Best Wishes,
BSK Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2016

The beef wellington was 80 bucks and was decent. however the pastry was very soggy.

Overall, for this to be a Gordon Ramsay restaurant it is very underwhelming and should have impressed more.

I would say that the service was good but a little careless.

The finishing touch of having some cookies to end my meal was a good idea. but unnecessary

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank KevinS9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRG R, Manager at Bread Street Kitchen - Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2016

Dear Kevin S,

Thank you for taking the time to give Bread Street Kitchen some feedback following your recent dining experience. We are sorry to hear that the pastry of your Beef Wellington was soggy. When the filet mignon is cooked inside the pastry, all of the juices are retained inside. Once out of the oven, the Wellington must sit for a few minutes, however if left for too long, the pastry can become a bit soggy. We do apologize for this and your comments have been shared with the chef. Please be assured we take our guest feedback very seriously as we are always looking for ways to improve.

As a casual dining concept which serves a very high number of covers each day, our service is meant to be more relaxed and efficient. However it should be professional, friendly and certainly not careless. Our homemade cookies is many of our guest’s favorite parts of their dining experience and adds a personal touch that one would not find at many restaurants here in Singapore.

We hope that this one experience won’t keep you coming back and that you would be willing to give us another chance to make it up to you and show you what a proper BSK experience is all about.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best Wishes,
BSK Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

Was there the 1st time for a business dinner after hearing about this restaurant. The place is nicely decorated with a picture of Gordon Ramsey. All of us ordered sirlion steak. The decoration is simple and the steak is okay. We had 3 different types of desert and only like apple rhubarb. The service is good but the food is just okay only. The price is okay.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank EdwinT819
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRG R, Manager at Bread Street Kitchen - Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2016

Dear Edwin T,

We are sorry to hear that your dining experience at Bread Street Kitchen had only been okay in your opinion. As a casual dining concept, our dishes aren’t meant to be complex, instead simple, with only a few ingredients used in each dish, however the ingredients are of the highest quality. Please be assured we take our guest feedback seriously and are always looking for ways to improve, therefore your comments will not go overlooked. We hope that you would not let this one experience keep you from coming back and that you would be willing to give BSK another chance to try more of the menu that may be more to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,
BSK Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

Been to heddon street kitchen and Petrus in London. Their street kitchen restaurant is more of a casual dining restaurant than fine dining restaurant

Started of with the tomato tarte which was unique and delicious. Had the fish & chips and steak ale pie. IMO the Fish & chips is one of the better ones i had but end of the day is still good ol' deep fried fish & chips..ain't going to be blowing anybody's mind away... The steak ale pie was not bad.

Ended with pineapple carpaccio which is really good as pineapple was naturally sweet which makes me wonder if they grilled the pineapple a bit it may taste even better.

Finally their cocktails are unique but a little on the pricey side

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank John-C_EW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRG R, Manager at Bread Street Kitchen - Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2016

Dear JohnNRach,

Thank you for taking the time to give Bread Street Kitchen a nice review following your recent dining experience. It is always a pleasure to hear when our guest’s understand what we work hard to achieve, which is casual dining with simple, quality British fare done right, served in a relaxed and fun atmosphere. It sounds like you had ordered some of our all time favorites such as the fish and chips and pineapple carpaccio. Your feedback has been shared with the team and they are very thankful. As our menu is always changing, we hope that you will be back soon to try something new!

Best Wishes,
BSK Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread Street Kitchen - Singapore also viewed

 

Been to Bread Street Kitchen - Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.