We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple food in terrible environment”

Whampoa Food Center
Ranked #650 of 14,305 Restaurants in Singapore
Neighborhood: Novena
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Novena
Reviewed April 26, 2016 via mobile

I had prawn noodle from shop named 545. I saw long line which pulled my attention to try. Noodle is so so, but the terrible thing is surrounding there. I had dinner nearby an old Chinese man who spit up mucus every 5 min!!!! So dirty and I didn't expect this rude and dirty manner in Singapore. I definitely won't return to this place and I warn you if you pick this in yr list!!!

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank happyp757
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 51 of 137 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2016

1 of the 4 heavenly kings of chicken rice in Singapore.

If you love chicken rice in Singapore, you should not miss out this traditional Hainanese chicken rice.

As a local, this Loy Kee chicken rice (located @#01-49/50, Whampoa Makan Place, 91 Whampoa Drive) has a real traditional succulent taste in the 50s.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MyTripTransportSer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 16, 2016

We stayed at Balestier RD is just a walking distance. I wasn't familiar with the hawker style food area but I find this one fascinating. There were variety of food they sell and they have stall specializing in drinks only. Tried a couple of different menu's from different stalls and all were delish and cheap compared to restaurant food around the area. Serving size is also big enough to be shared.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jesset884
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 17, 2016 via mobile

This small hawker was behind the fresh fruits, vegetables and plants market.

We arrived the area around 2 p.m. on Sunday. There's 20+ choices of food stalls for you to pick. The Seating area look clean. Not many table though.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank 0_Gyrfalcon_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 16, 2015

The Whampoa Hawkers Market is a collection of stalls, some of them tiny but each specializing in their own food or gifts, accessories etc.

The food is strikingly different and totally fascinating. Fried oysters were superb, but one could spend days sampling various other foods.

Well worth a visit; scrupulously clean.

HINT: Look for the stalls with long lines of locals waiting - those are almost certainly the best around

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Whampoa Food Center also viewed

 

Been to Whampoa Food Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.