We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Japanese restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Japanese Dining Sun @ Chijmes - CLOSED

Japanese Dining Sun @ Chijmes
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Chinese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Core
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good Japanese restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I think it is really a good Japanese restaurant. Food tastes very good and is very fresh. Maybe it is a little pricey (50SGD per person) baed on the fact that the portion are very small but I think it worth it. I do recommend the place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sissiburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    36
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
173 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Business Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Decent japanese food and good for business lunch settings.
Quality of the food is above average considering the prices.
If you have a tight budget, you always choose the lunch sets.

please make reservations.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aychuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh Japanese Wagyu beef. Service a bit too eager.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

The restaurant's specialty is charcoal grilled beef. We had a wonderful S$300 plate of 800g Japanese Wagyu beef which consisted of tenderloin, sirloin, rib eye, tongue and other cuts. Apart from the ox tongue, all the other meat were cut into small 1.5 inch cubes for easy grilling. It was a wonderful and very satisfying meal. The meat was truly of high quality. The waiters kindly came to change the grilling rack 3-4 times so that pieces of burnt meat stuck on the rack would not hinder further cooking.

Overall the service was good. The only thing I would say is that before we ordered, the waiter was a bit too eager to provide his advice and to tell us about all the promotions available. For 3 times I had to tell the waiter to give us a few more minutes to select the food and drinks.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ariellek_bj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good is ok but it is overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We went there on a Saturday evening. I would say the food is oaky and fresh but it is overrated. The teppanyaki beef is tasteless. Overrall it is ok but I think It is overrated.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IvorynGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great food - a bit pricey!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We ate here on our night in Singapore (stopover from Oz to London). I saw the restaurant mentioned in the Mr & Mrs Smith review of our hotel and decided to try it out. The food was nice and super fresh tasting sushi, however it was very expensive for Singapore prices and not sure I'd recommend a visit.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janelouise1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japanese Dining Sun @ Chijmes also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing