We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey restaurant but good food and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaan

Jaan
Ranked #31 of 10,422 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $200
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Derived from the ancient Sanskrit word for ‘bowl’, JAAN is an intimate, 40-seat restaurant dedicated to showcasing the finest in Artisanal French cuisine in Singapore. The Artisanal menu by Chef de Cuisine Julien Royer is built around a passion to showcase the freshest ingredients through simple but beautiful dishes that reflect both culinary tradition and creativity. The result is an imaginative, innovative cuisine that celebrates and respects seasonality, terroir and the skills of the world’s best gourmet producers.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pricey restaurant but good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Have been recommended by the concierge of Marriott hotel, we decided to give a try since I'm missing the "real" French food for a long time.
Started with superb champagne cocktails and the waiter was very knowledgable who spent quite a few minutes to explain the menu.
I love the foie gras and my wife enjoyed her saint Jacques by different ways.
Overall the Wine is very expensive here, as we are not able to finish a bootle, the restaurant sommelier recommended good choices of wine by the glass. Perfectly matching with the main course.
I've been traveling many years and it's first time that the chef came out and check on the feedbacks. Thank Chef de cuisine Julien and his team made the night enjoyable.
It's true dine and drink are very expensive so make sure you spent the money in the right place likes JAAN

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rollingmushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    98
    47
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing else is quite good enough anymore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was my first experience with fine dining and it was everything I thought it would be. The service was impeccable, the dining room was small and intimate with a great view, and the food was divine. I had the Jardin Gourmand menu, which is completely vegetarian, something I found to be quite lacking in fine dining restaurants in Singapore from a little research online. As a vegetarian, it was easily the best and most impressive meal I've ever had. Every flavour was exquisite, and there was some pretty unexpected and innovative combinations, which worked out really well. I love the chef's hummus, but my favourite had to be the brie and the truffles ice cream. If you're a vegetarian and looking for a one-time splurge on some excellent cuisine, I can't recommend this enough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zeniale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Artisanal Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I embarked on a voyage of culinary pleasures at one of 16 world-class restaurants and bars available at the Swissotel The Stamford, Singapore. JAAN Restaurant soaring high on level 70 – cuisine inspired by Chef de Cuisine Julian Royer.

Chef Julien Royer is passionate about the freshest ingredients through simple but carefully thought out dishes that reflect his own creativity and the grace of all things wholesome. Chef Julien was born into a family of famers in Cantal – Auvergne (Central France). “The appreciation of food I learnt from my family, and the importance of organic and seasonal produce is perfection”.

Artisanal Cuisine, A Way of Life – an inspired title on my menu. I was intrigued in Chef’s cooking philosophy and devotion to sourcing the best tasting food from all parts of the world, including local suppliers respectively.

Take a look at some of the delicious meals I was lucky enough to taste. I can honestly say, it was a food celebration where innovation took new colours to flavours.

Guests are offered a refreshing taste in his dishes, bringing to the table flavours and textures which are layered and taste-provoking. One of Chef Julien signature dishes is the anticipated mushroom tea, an intensely aromatic nutty amuse buche.

This 4o-seat restaurant offers an immaculate fine dining interior featuring a stunning Murano cystal chandelier and Singapore’s best scenic views facing the Marina Bay area. JAAN’s is not only known for its modern French cuisine in Singapore, but proudly offers a wine list of 500 different labels that compliments the menus on offer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rruiz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

For our first time in Singapore we decided to do a gastronomic tour with my wife.
The location is great the view wowwww but the service was very slow and rude luckly however the food was very nice but some of the dishes not hot enought and few of them to salty four my test.
I recommend this restaurant but not on Saturday night they are to busy to deliver a good service due to the fact that they short of manpower.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LEE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

the waiting and the service staff are very friendly and professional. the sommelier explain you well the different wines they suggest. all this is excellent and thats what we can expect from a top class restaurant. but the reason of our visit was to taste the withe truffles. unfortunately the truffles - claimed to come from alba - had really no taste

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MICKAEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaan also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Jaan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing