We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as crowded but just as nice (food)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red House Seafood Restaurant

Red House Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #237 of 10,422 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: The Quays
Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not as crowded but just as nice (food)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Typically, we bring our guests to Jumbo for the Singapore seafood experience. But it gets ridiculous if we couldn't get a table until 9pm even when making reservations one week out. If you are in a similar predicament, head for Red House seafood.

IMHO, the food is just as good, as least as far as the main dishes are concerned. That would be the famous chilli and black pepper crabs. Another plus is the ambience. No hurried waitresses, loud crowds, etc. you get the picture.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BFGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    235
    84
    34
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Unpleasant experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Restaurant was near my hotel in a nice quiet spot by the river. As a lone diner, I felt fine about being there on my own. These were the reasons I chose it.
I sat outside and it was an age before anyone came for my order. The waitress couldn't speak any English so she did the next best thing, which was to leave me alone! I guess they wanted to make money on drinks so were not pleased when I asked for tea. I had a vegetarian meal which was good enough, nothing special. The service was slow, and rude and made me feel bad. I wouldn't go again,
I have reviewed the prices as good, but bear in mind this is because I had a vegetarian dish and rice only, that with the tea, service charge and taxes cost $17.40.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pfeiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
2,121 reviews
1,296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 822 helpful votes
“Good Seafood but a little on the Expensive Side”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We decided on this place because my colleague wanted Chili Crab since it was his first visit to Singapore. We also did not want to stray far from our hotel. An internet search turned up this restaurant as the main option in Robertson Quay. The restaurant is well located overlooking the river and features open air dining. The décor is fairly plain and favors the look of a seafarer's restaurant. We were seated promptly and our order was taken in a very timely manner. The server was very helpful in helping us sort through our choices. We decided on corn chowder as a starter and found it to be surprisingly very tasty (surprising because the specialty is seafood). For the mains, we had the chili crab, of course, as well as the spicy seafood mix. The latter was very good as it was spiced well enough to have a kick while still maintaining a full body of flavor. The chili crab was also quite good and the sweet and hot taste of the chili sauce was nicely balanced. The biggest negative was the prices as I would say they were a little expensive for the type of establishment it is (perhaps as opposed to what it thinks it is). With a minimal amount of drinks included, the bill for two was about $200 SGD, which is about $150 USD. While the food was good, it was not that good. Hence, the quality of the food was very good while the value for the price paid was marginal at best.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good banquet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We decided to order the seafood banquet for 2 so we could try several dishes and not pay too much for the crab which can be expensive as charged by the weight. We knew what we would be paying upfront. We enjoyed razor clams, lobster, lobster noodles, chilli crab, asparagus in XO sauce, dessert and a glass of wine. The outside seating tho still undercover, is more pleasant then the frenetic atmosphere and bright lights inside. While not cheap ($68++ SD pp) the banquet is reasonable value and quite an experience. Eating the crab was a messy business but worth it as it was delicious. Charging extra for tea and wet wipes is a bit much tho. One small towel is not enough to deal with the messy crab and sauce so take a pack of your own!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
300 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good if you go with someone that knows what they are doing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Went with a friend who lives here, but I would imagine I would be lost if I wandered in as a lone tourist. They served a mean chilli crab, and decent prawns, but again, all of the sides that were useful, like rice and buns, and gloves, crab crackers, and bibs, seemed to be something that saved the meal that wouldnt have been provided had someone who had been there before spoken up. And yes, it is expensive for singapore, but seems a bit strange to get totally ripped off like others mentioned (as not even the big chilli crab cost thaat much), and while service was ok, we were one of the few patrons still around near closing time. So, if you want to try the chilli crab and dont feel like venturing out of the center, ask for one medium crab, some bread and rice, and the crab gear, and you should do just fine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oddholio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red House Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Red House Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing