We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful fusion”
Review of Indochine Waterfront Restaurant - CLOSED

Indochine Waterfront Restaurant
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese, Seafood, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Quays
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
493 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“A wonderful fusion”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is not fusion cuisine, which I am always a little sceptical about. Rather it is a fusion menu where it is possible to choose a selection of dishes from Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysian and to a certain extent, Thai. When visiting Singapore, we stopped here for dinner with some expat friends. Between us we ordered too much food because everything sounded great. We weren't disappointed. The Vietnamese spring rolls were fresh, Char Koay Teaow was spicy, marinaded minced beef was soft and tangy, massaman curry had depth and the salad was zingy. The restaurant is on the river at Clarke Quay and on the Sunday night we visited, it was extremely quiet. Apart from that it was a good experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eat1Drink2Travel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    208
    90
    50
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Would definitely go back”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Vibrant atmosphere and excellent food. We ordered a selection of BBQ chicken and fried seafood as a starter and we shared. I ordered a snapper that was a little dry though still good. The views are great and the walking area around is really nice. Huge seating area outside. Expect an average of US$ 60 per person.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mason2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely location, pity about the service!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Was recommended the restaurant and had heard that it was good so had high expectations. Was a party of 5 and had made reservations. Had to ask for drinks. Waiter took order. First (2) drinks arrived in about 5 minutes. The third about 5 minutes later by a waiter who didin't know who it was for and was swilling it about. We waited a further 15 minutes for the other drink. When questioned, the waiter said he had chased it up but no apology. Another 5 minutes later asked to speak to a supervisor who said that they were changing the cast of beer hence the delay. Asked why we were not told as the rest of the party didn't want to start until everyone had a drink. No apology until asked for it. The drink was changed and duly arrived about 5 mintues later. Had to ask for food order to be taken. Food good but not great. Service was poor. No interest in finding out how our meal was. One waiter asked if we wanted another bottle of water which we said yes. While waiting, another waiter came and filled our glasses with water from a jug!! No co-ordination. All in all poor experience for such an expensive restaurant. Atmosphere was good, food not bad. Service for the price apalling. Would I go back...not if I had a choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PKKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Top location, dont expect much else”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We wandered past IndoChine on our first night in Singapore, thought it looked inviting so went back for dinner. The location right on the river is great and we had a table for two on the edge of the steps so could watch the passers by, the boats on the river and lights across the other side. It was all down hill from then. The service was at best appalling, with the food exceedingly average. We waited a long time for our original drinks order which was wrong when it did arrive. It was then another long wait to get the correct order. We had long finished our drinks and were still waiting for someone to take our food order, let alone get another drink to pass the time. After not so subtely attracting the attention of he waitress, who appeared to have no knowledge of the wine list, the menu or in fact what her job was, we finally had our order taken. We shared an entree, prawns on sugar cane with special dipping sauce (cleverly disguised as Maggis sweet chilli sauce), which was reformed prawn meat moulded onto the end of a cane stick - rather RSLish. The mains arrived, green duck curry, chicken fried rice and lamb rack. The curry was very runny, but tasty. The rice was nice. The lamb was the nicest dish with a tasty sauce and nice marinade. This little escapade then set us back over $230.00 sg. Probably a nice to do on the river, but don't go for the food or service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dellick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
571 reviews
384 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This a lovely restaurant with a great location/ view at night. It is right on the river looking across at the CBD and Boat Quay, and has a great atmosphere. A romantic location as well
The menu is a tour of Indo- China as the restaurant name suggests and the food is excellent, beautifully prepared and presented. Authentic tastes - the one thing though is, it is pricey. So a great place to visit but you pay a premium to enjoy it all.
I go back time after time when I am Singapore

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BenYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indochine Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing