We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Dinner @ Roland Restaurant on 24Apr2013”

Roland Restaurant Pte Ltd
Ranked #705 of 10,798 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice Dinner @ Roland Restaurant on 24Apr2013”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

See full reviews & photos at my blog=http://chefquak.wordpress.com/2013/04/27/nice-dinner-roland-restaurant-on-24apr2013-2/

Roland Restaurant was the venue for our get-together dinner on 24apr2013.
Roland had a long history (from 1956 when Lim Choon Ngee & his wife started a seafood restaurant by the Kallang River, later relocated to Bedok Beach – now the reclaimed ECP – and the current location at Block 89, Marine Parade Central managed by their son Roland after they migrated to Christchurch in 1985) and reputation and the food is certain to be good. I have always wanted to try but never quite got round to it. I parked my car at Parkway Parade, not by design but turned out to be not a bad option as parking for the evening was only $1.50! The more seasoned among my peers correctly parked at the multi-storey car park where the restaurant itself was located on level 6.
We had 13 pax for the evening. Dinner started with the appetizer platter (prawn mayo, small octopus, a seasoned pork dish, haechor & a roll item) which was quite good as expected.
That was followed by a crab meat sharks fin soup – good too if nothing exceptional. Sambal kang kong was next. Roland was a good standard restaurant so all the dishes thus far were good.
Next was the roast chicken. This was nicely done! The skin was crispy & the meat moist, sweet & tender, very nice taken with a dip of 5-spice salt provided.
CH & I thought the deep-fried squid (their signature dish) was par excellence – crispy, crunchy, tasty! must say I had not taken it for a really really long time liao (don’t go Long Beach, Jumbo type seafood restaurants often & these days they also do fine dining dishes & deep-fried squid does not feature much).
The chilli crab (top photo) was another of Roland’s signature dish. This was very good too, though these days many restaurants like Long Beach, Jumbo etc do this very well too. & of course the deep-fried mantou buns to soak up the chilli crab sauce. yummy! :- )
The fried rice was also of good standard – “pang” got “wokhae” ie fragrant (my favourite though was the Imperial Treasure dried scallop crab-meat egg-white fried rice, and recently I had a very good one at Xin Cuisine). the deep-fried tiny silver fish I supposed gave it added textured complexity though it didn’t really work for me – too crunchy – I preferred my fried rice simple & fragrant.
the orh nee yam puree dessert was like totally bland? I guess no lard no taste la such a wonderful, fun evening of food, fun & feel good!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chefquak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    37
    19
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Crabs”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a bit of difficulty looking for the place, finally found it on the sixth floor of a parking lot.
Even though the place was huge, the staff were very prompt and attentive.

Their deep fried baby squid was crispy and tasted sweet. The sweet and sour pork was also good but the main highlight of the meal were the two crabs, one the traditional chili crab and the other, salted egg crab. Both were delicious. The chili crabs had just the right amount of spiciness, the fried mantou was perfect for mopping up the sauce. The salted egg crab was very tasty, the coating, crunchy. A must order when dining here. Pricing is just right, not cheap but not expensive either.

Will surely come back when in Singapore.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F0RE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good here is great”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We were invited to this dinner for 12...the dishes were generally very good despite a full house. The favourite dish was a two way pomfret fish where the chef deepfried one side of the fish into a bowl shape, and then lightly fried the other side, and when cooked, will piece out the delicious flesh and fried the vegetables and fish together.

The chili crab...and it is not hot, was delicious...soak the sauce with the bread buns...yummy!!!

Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Lagusaya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Chili Crabs”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Roland restaurant is large. We went there during lunch time and it was quite empty. The chili crab was fantastic. The crabs have a lot of roes and the sauce was thick which is perfect for the fried mantou. We also ordered a black pepper crab which I really liked as well. The crabs here are very fresh and the crab meats were solid. Another dish we tried was the pompret cooked two ways. The fish was also very fresh. The shrimps in black sauce were very delicious and the deep fried crullers were wonderful. The draft beer here were cold and refreshing. I would definitely return to this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kesilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila, philippines
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“very good crab, but a pricey place”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

this was very good crab. there was a stronger flavor of cilantro than other chili crabs we've tried and we liked it a lot! also somehow a curry-ish undertone and sharper peppers than others. excellent stuff!

but we wonder about the cost - the place is in a car park (not easy to find!) and not swanky... so SGD 50+ for the crab was a bit of a surprise to us.

however, if you're a crab aficionado you should give this a try

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank apester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roland Restaurant Pte Ltd also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Roland Restaurant Pte Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing