We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zen business lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Iggy's

Iggy's
Ranked #1,114 of 10,515 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Orchard Road
Description: Iggy’s, founded by Ignatius Chan, and is one of the top restaurants in Singapore, with international accolades and a following to match. Serving an amalgamation of modern European and Asian cuisine, the food is exceptional, using ingredients from Europe, Asia and Australia. The seasonal tasting menu is a culmination of the best of Ignatius’s travel and dining experiences throughout the world.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Zen business lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

A classy, healthy, sumptuous business lunch set amid minimalist decor.

I love Asian food. And I love minimalist Japanese design. So this place really did it for me.

The chef serves a unique set meal each day. On our visit, we had: baby tomatoes with a gespacho sorbet (palette cleanser), followed by a slab of foie gras with sliced pear (starter). Main was a cappelinni with ebi, followed by red rockfish topped with Spanish ham and finely diced mixed veggies. Dessert included dollops of chocolate and hazelnut ice cream.

The staff was formal and professional, while also kind and flexible. One of our party had anti-gluten dietary requirements, which the Iggy's team gladly and easily accommodated. They are flexible when requesting "off menu" options.

At SG$85 per head, this is great value by Singapore standards.

Excellent food. Excellent service. Excellent decor.

If you want a burger, seek other shores. This is modern Asian dining at its finest.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ironrooster73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    58
    57
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Some Great and Some Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had the tasting menu and a bottle of wine. $S1000 for 3 people. If the price was not so high I might have rated it a 4 but the value component was not there.

We had some wonderful dishes and some that were really average. At a restaurant of the caliber I would expect everything to be great and at the very least good - but average is not acceptable.

The setting is also not very inspiring.

Iggy himself is a delight.

We were quite disappointed for the "Best restaurant in Asia"

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Top 50 in the world for a reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I've been to Iggy's several times over the past 5 years and each time I am more and more impressed. The recent change to the Hilton hasn't spoilt what is a unique dining experience. Menu is always evolving, but they can also do dishes on demand such as their ebi cappelini. Worth every cent.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank JP_MELB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Iggy's is Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My girlfriend's birthday was in December, so despite the wide choices available for fine dining, we decided on Iggy's. We do not regret our choice one bit. We have eaten at the "highly acclaimed" restaurants at MBS and RWS and along the Fullerton area, but Iggy's takes the cake. Food quality was excellent, even a mere tomato had natural flavors that many other places lack (because they don't bother placing enough importance on the natural flavors of the raw products).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack-M-Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't have too high hopes.. (like us)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had high expectations for IGGY's as it's ranked in Top 50 best restaurants in the world. Here is a summary of what we experienced:

Atmosphere: Dark, stylish & modern setting. The way they arranged the tables feels a bit random to us. Beware that the restaurant is very cold! It was actually too cold in my opinion as most ladies needed to wrap themselves in either cardigan or scarf. I was surprised to see that they set the temperature at 17 C!

Service: it was ok but nothing special really. The waiters were nice but they were not smooth operators. They forgot to ask us about the wine so eventually we had to ask them for the wine. Also, we feel like they didn't give us enough time to relax when we just arrived and between courses - a little bit of 'rush' kind of feeling.

Food: A bit tricky here - I thought it was ok but my other half didn't enjoy it so much. We were not given the option of a-la-carte so there is only the tasting menu option (but if you don't like some of the courses you can still change). Prepare to spend SGD +800 otherwise just go for lunch.

ETC: we don't like the fact that you need to go outside the restaurant to use the hotel (Hilton) toilet. There were 2 huge parties in the ballrooms next to the restaurants and we had to queue up in the toilet next to the cabaret dancers. What a chaos..

Overall: It was good enough to try something different but we don't think it was worth SGD $950 for our bill. We've been travelling around the world and been to many Michelin Star restaurants and we can say that this one is pretty disappointing by that standard.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bufoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iggy's also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Iggy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing