We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the better value bento lunch on a Sunday in singapore!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tatsuya

Tatsuya
Ranked #503 of 10,422 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $0 - $70
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: If sashimi is your secret indulgence, then you must know that few restaurants do it better than Tatsuya. Try celebrated Chef Ronnie Chia’s creations while seated along its impressive 23-seat sushi bar, the longest in the country.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
273 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“one of the better value bento lunch on a Sunday in singapore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

we went to Tatsuya for the lunch bento. Sushi set was very good. the fish were fresh. tempura was just cooked right and the chawamushi with a hint of yuzu was refreshing.

the owner of the restaurant also shared the secret of fresh sashimi. according to the chef owner Mr Chia, fish has to be aged at least 8 hours before serving. he said fresh fish will not take the same as the sushi. Since the sushi was very good, he knows what he is talkin.

we made reservation for the following Sunday already!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chinaren_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    47
    32
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“rip off after renovations”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

i am a regular client of this restaurant. but decided to try them after its new renovations. the food quality we ordered was acceptable. but the prices have sky rocketed and a real rip off. i guess the owner needs to recover his renovation costs etc , but there is a limit . the local public are not stupid either. we ordered 2 aburi sushi plates for my wife and i. on each plate were 4 small pieces of sushi , supposedly done in a flashy manner. each plate cost us $100 and there is no way it should cost this much for 4 small pieces of sushi. we had no drinks and just 3 oysters , one hiram sashimi. and the bill came close to $400. there is no way their food is near to that of hashida at the mandarin gallery. at hashida , the owner is japanese and all the counter staff are japanese. so you are getting the real deal. at tatsuya , the owner is local and the counter staff mostly from malaysia. it's sad that greed has got the better of tatsuya. there are many other japanese restaurants where you can get a better value for your food and better quality. it cannot try to be and charge like a 5 star restaurant when it is not. just because the decor has improved does not mean that the quality of the food has increased. sadly , it has not. stay away unless you have deep pockets.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ALVIN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Omakase was the best meal in my life. Everything is very fresh and unique. Our own chef kept making food for 3 hours and kept asking if we had enough. When we said no, he whipped up something special each time for all of us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiechong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not so good after reopening”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We used to come here for lunch or dinner at least once a month before Tatsuya was closed for renovations.
After the relaunch we came back for lunch and found that the food was just as good, service was significantly poorer and food prices a lot higher. While we understand the need to increase prices due to food inflation, it needs to come with a better overall dining experience.
Service was slow although the restaurant was only half full. I waited more than 15 minutes for the bill and actually went to the counter to pay it. Our tables were not cleared even after half an hour of finishing our meal.
This is sadly our favourite Japanese restaurant in Singapore no more. Don't think we'll be back anytime soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJones28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very goog food and very nice people especially the owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant looks very japanese inside, less outside. The food is excellent but the portions quantity is a bit limited. The owner has been very nice and welcoming. I would come again whether again in Singapore.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tizianata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatsuya also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Tatsuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing