We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upscale fusion food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of My Humble House - CLOSED

My Humble House
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Marina Bay
Description: Eight-year-old My Humble House is the first artistic restaurant opened by the famed Tung Lok Group of Restaurants here in Singapore. With its dark hues, muted lighting and chic furniture, the elegant venue, which comes replete with towering tables and chairs, evokes grandeur and elegance set in a homely ambience.
frederick, maryland
Level Contributor
632 reviews
400 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 540 helpful votes
“Upscale fusion food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were treated to a special multicourse meal at this restaurant; it was anything but humble fare and definitely a place for foodies. Each course produced another meat or soup and finally a mango dessert treat. Very satisfying taste sensation without feeling stuffed. This would be a good place for special celebrations.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fred200099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    32
    18
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
166 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“disappointingly pretentious”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had high hopes for this place. It was well reviewed. On arrival we were made to wait 15 minutes (we had a reservation) and when we went inside the place was half empty. It took another 15 minutes to place the order and we felt the waiter was doing us a favor. When the food finally arrived the servings were tapas size which meant that to order sufficient dishes would make it an expensive night. The food itself was ok and although the chef tried hard it was nothing special.
The room was a spartan and lacked atmosphere - certainly not a humble house.
At the end of the meal we offered an Amex card mainly because there was sign at the entrance which said that there was a discount for Amex. Needless to say the discount was not forthcoming and when this omission was pointed out we were informed that the discount was only for Amex cards issued in Singapore. I suggested that the sign didn't say that but the staff wouldn't budge.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good food and ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

If you want a quite and nice family lunch, i would highly recommend this restaurant. It is in Esplanade and before or after lunch you can take a nice stroll on the water front with great views. It has a good range of chinese cuisine and prices are not too high. I had an amazing carrot cake (Singapore special - there will be no carrot!)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Subramanian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“In a word amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Eaten at a lot of restaurants in Singapore but this one blows me away every time. During this visit they had a visiting Michelin starred chef, Michel Sarran running the kitchen. So it was a french-asian fusion menu. All I can say is it was stunning, the wines they offered with the meal were absolutely spot on and the sémillon was really good.

OK so it's pricey, but if you appreciate very good food and wine then it's well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank virtualbma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
286 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

I was taken for my birthday dinner at the Humble House in Esplanade and came away a tad disappointed. It's not that the food is bad, its just not that great, especially given the high rating this place seems to have.

Helpful?
Thank barve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Humble House also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing