We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little taste of home”

Hog's Breath Cafe-Chimjes
Ranked #6,211 of 10,933 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Core
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A little taste of home”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Not a bad place, even if it is Aussie Themed.

The food is good, and the staff a somewhat friendly. They have a nice outdoor area where they have a large projection screen to show the current sporting interest, be it soccer, tennis etc..

The Steaks are very nicely done, but I don't recommend that you go for the "Aussie Size" as it tends to be a bit stringy. the prices are high compared to normal food in Singapore.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gibbo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    27
    37
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jimbaran
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food, shame about the service”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food we had was good - lamb shank and lamb cutlets, beefburger and a prawn rice. Main reason we ate here was we had been here before and they had draft cider! This time the cider was gone! So no big draw for us in future and the staff constantly had to be called over to get service not just by us but also other tables we noticed. Compared to other places was not a stand out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tac1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Superb night !!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The best steak I've had since being in South Africa 3 years ago.
Good service, the guys were really friendly. My partner and I both had a cocktail V.Nice. We both had a steak, I took the bog standard prime rib cooked rare with the mushroom sauce (also chose the 400gm, biggest they do) and it was amazing!! Granted it had more fat in than I'm used to, but it was rib so I did expect it. My partner had the blackened prime rib medium to well done and chose the 300gm Aussie style steak. As a business man he always ends up eating at expensive restaurants with work and even goes out for $250+ steaks and said this was pretty good consider it was about $45. So overall a great location, good service, lovely atmosphere and brilliant food. Defiantly will be going back

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jade A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good quality food at very reasonable prices”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

called in there for lunch, it's an Aussie style bar/ restaurant which has very reasonably priced food and drinks and its just opposite the Grand Pacific Hotel, good value for money good quality food

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank webboWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A seriously poorly hog”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The disorganisation which met us at the entrance when we arrived was a taste (no pun intended) of things to come. The waiting staff were nowhere to be found when we wanted to order and the folks on an adjoining table resorted to physically going in search of them. You wouldn't have thought it possible to do too much damage to a simple meal of steak & veggies but given that the broccoli and carrotts were almost raw and therefore quite inedible, they appeared to have managed it. My steak was ok or rather, the portion that wasn't fat or gristle was. The salmon in my partner's salad was cooked to death and beyond. We decided to give desserts and coffee a miss, ordered the bill, waited 10 minutes, had to remind them to bring it and then bemoaned the fact that a service charge had been automatically included -it certainly wasn't deserved. Won't be going back unless a nuclear holocaust leaves us without other dining options in Singapore.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BazSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog's Breath Cafe-Chimjes also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Hog's Breath Cafe-Chimjes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing