We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major need of service standard”

The Manhattan Fish Market
Ranked #4,959 of 10,934 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Orchard Road
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Major need of service standard”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

I had dinner at the Century Square outlet on 24/12/2013 with my wife. We ordered mushroom soup,mussels,salmon(main) and prawn/fish meal. With 2 drinks. My wife soup came fast. Drinks came after 10mins. And its not busy. I waited for my mussels. I ask one of the servers. She check. And the screwed up started. My salmon came and still no mussels. They took it back. My wife mains came and thn the mussels. While I'm enjoying the mussels,out came my salmon for the 2nd time. By the time I finish my mussels; my mains turn cold. I always hv lunch or dinner at MFM. My fav are still the ones at City Square and Plaza Singapura. The servers are attentive. Please give your staffs the correct training they need before they work. I'm from FnB background and I'm ashamed if the standards; even for a fastfood,are not met. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Boyanz1273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    49
    59
    27
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The Manhattan Fish Market at Thomson Road United Square was disappointing. The clam chowder was pretty much tasteless, the mussels in a garlic sauce was OK but the bread - photographed in the menu to suggest toasted garlic bread was plain. The house salad was ordinary but included some lettuce leaves that looked suspicious. The most disappointing thing was the dory batter - it used to be a crisp light delight but last night it was more like a crumbed cover. The dory was tasteless. My partner's cheery snapper was better. The salad on my plate was daubed with a sweet minty mess. Partner was spared that. I'm crossing Manhattan off my list.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yragnhoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Get Cheated”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Visited Bugis+'s outlet on 17/11/13.I'm so careless never checked my deal as I get cheated.I have brought 2 Groupon deal vouchers, one is $11.95 come w 1Fish n Chips Dory Lite+Fish n Chips Regular.Another voucher is $24.95 come w 1 Fish n Chips Dory Lite+1 Fish n Chips Regular+2 Soup of the day+2 Mocktail+1 Fried Country Mushroom.But I was being served less of 1 Fish n Chips Regular.


Helpful?
1 Thank Angelina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Service could be better, but then they are rather short of staff. Food wise is just average and seafood platter portion seems a tad small.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank antt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Reasonable food”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I ate at The Manhattan Fish Market (in the Central Shopping Centre - Clarke Quay MRT) twice because it was close to where I was staying, the food was nice with generous portions and it was reasonably priced.
I found the restaurant after eliminating some other restaurants within the complex.
The first night I visited (Saturday about 8pm) there was a queue but it moved fairly quickly (about 15-20 mins). They happily accommodated me even though I was a solo diner.
A meal of seafood entre, grilled Dory on a bed of herb garlic rice with vegetables, a drink and tea was a little over Sing$20.00
Another night I had clam chowder, Manhattan fish, chips, sauce and salad, dessert, tea and soft drink this was about Sing$30.00
I do agree with a previous reviewer about the back of the restaurant being more noisy, which it is, but I asked to the seated near the back of the restaurant on both occasions as the view across Clarke Quay is more interesting than looking at someone elses meal.
I enjoyed both my meals and felt they were good value. The service was a bit hit and miss, but the staff polite.
My one comment would be that the tables could be slightly larger.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 35yrdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Manhattan Fish Market also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to The Manhattan Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing