We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Ember”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ember

Ember
Ranked #1,106 of 10,515 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $40 - $100
Cuisines: European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Ember”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lovely food and great presentation. Really hate to be asked for your desert order because the kitchen is closing half way through the main course.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Foodluvver12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    68
    24
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

One of my favourite restaurants in Singapore! The food is consistently good and the waitstaff are really friendly. There are quite a few good dishes however I would highly recommend the foie gras with egg yolk, and the cold angel hair pasta as both those dishes are tasty and very well put together.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank benfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food but can be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Was there for lunch. Abit confused on the menu initially. Staff explained well anyway. Tried their foiegras as first course. I would say its abit mushy for my liking. Their duck confit was my main and it was yummy! Just a tinkle to the chef.. The duck confit can reduce their salt a little as I'm a person who loves my food salty but this is too much though. Dessert is heavenly good. Im usually not a dessert person but this chocolate lave cake is so great! Their service is very good. Well done and keep it up. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank isabeld622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, could have better service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

You can never fail if you order the Foie gras with the mushroom and poached egg at Ember! Absolutely great every single time. I just tried the cold truffle angel hair pasta for the first time with Abalone, that was surprisingly good, though I wouldn't say it was better than the one at Satsuma Restaurant in Gallery hotel. The Chilean seabass is good too, just beware that it can get a little salty after a few bites.

It is a little bit of a shame about the service. We had to ask for the bill three times before it finally came, but if you're out for a good meal with friends for a good price, then I would definitely check it out!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melanie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Food!! Great Value Lunch Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Went there for lunch with a friend. They have a very good value Set Lunch Menu for arond $39++, $45++ with foie gras. Trust me, go for the foie gras, they are simply heavenly.
I just recently reviewed about a very high end french restaurant, which I commented that it was over priced, although the food there was good. But I still believe food and price must be exceptional to achieve an 'Excellent'. One can only do that much with good. You can put the most expensive ingredients on the plate, and if it doesn't do anything for me, it doesm't do anything for me, no matter how expensive the ingredient is. I judge food with my palate, and while in a restauarnt, I judge food with both my palate and wallet. On that, I have to give Ember a 'Very Good' for it's excellent food, and great value for it Lunch Menu.
My foie Gras was perfect, my crispy pork was perfect, and even thehot straight-from-the-oven bread served was perfect. Only dessert was ok. But hey, it still scored a "Very Good"!!!
It definitely warrant a second visit, a third and fourth.....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellernot2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ember also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Ember? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing