We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delight”

Min Jiang at One-North
Ranked #455 of 10,605 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $120
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Set amidst beautifully luscious greens, undulating grounds and tree-lined winding roads, Min Jiang at One-North at No. 5 Rochester Park Singapore is the only Chinese fine-dining restaurant housed in a stylish and spacious two-storey black and white colonial bungalow. Featuring modern Sichuan and Cantonese cuisine, the house specialty is its truly authentic Beijing Duck, served with 8 different condiments. This delicacy is prepared by chefs from China according to an ancient Chinese recipe and roasted to perfection in a custom-made wood-fired oven. The restaurant has earned many awards and accolades since its establishment in 2006.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A delight”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

New Year's Eve in Singapore was a delight in this lovely restaurant where staff where so
welcoming - we had prebooked their speciality of Beijing Duck and it was terrific. They did not gouge prices as sit was New Year's eve and we would to back again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fergphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    65
    31
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Chinese taste, European appeal”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I tried the Min Jiang restaurant with some Singapore resident friends, who spoke highly of the place. I confirm their judgment. Quality of food is outstanding. I don't know much about Chinese food, but this is certainly not the Chinese take-away sort of place. Nice dining room, silent atmosphere, spotless table napkins. The main feature of this restaurant is duck, cooked and served in every possible way. I just let myself be guided by my friends, and the waitress (who unfortunately spoke very little English, making communication a tad difficult). Regardless, the food was simply excellent.

Wines are very expensive because of high Singapore liquor taxes, but I managed to get a very decent claret for $SIN85. Total bill came out very reasonable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiki051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“over-priced but good ambience”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Was dragged by colleagues to join their dinner at Min Jiang at One North - heard alot of good reviews and decided to taste it myself.

We've pre-ordered half of roast duck and add on with cripsy honeyed eel / hot and sour soup(appetiser), chicken with dried chilli, dong po pork, claypot toufu, fried noodle with duck meat , xiao longbao etc.

The food is of average quality - I've tasted better sichuan cuisine at a lower price. I do enjoyed the roast duck wrapped up with the new version condiments (Szechaun pickled vegetable etc) - thought it'll taste weird but I find it refreshing and less oily. The claypot toufu and fried noodle were equally good.

Dong po pork is avearge (slightly tough), chicken with dried chilli - more sweet than spicy, hot and sour soup - rather tasteless. Xiao long bao - the gracy/soup is tasty but rather tasteless filling

The dessert were good - esp the chrysanthemum jelly - fragrant and refreshing. Didn't really fancy the durian glutinous ball and red bean pancake

Service was good though - always attentive.

Frankly, if I craved for Sichuan / Chinese cuisine again - I'll go to silk road or Lao Beijing

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank satoyuriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere but pricey”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Situated in a converted "black and white" colonial house.
Very nice dim sum at lunch but expensive for what it was.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank expediti0nleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was a highlight of our trip. Everyone should eat there! The duck was amazing! It is a fair taxi ride out but worth it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JillianSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Min Jiang at One-North also viewed

 

Been to Min Jiang at One-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing