We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional”

Hua Ting Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #824 of 10,791 Restaurants in Singapore
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Orchard Road
Description: Having been around since 1992, Hua Ting is a Cantonese institution that is well-recognised for its exquisite ethnic cuisine and other provincial specialties. It’s no wonder then that the crowd keeps coming back for its delightful weekend dim sum.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unprofessional”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Arrived 10 minutes before the restaurant opened. Was told by a service staff to wait. That was fine. When the restaurant finally did open it's doors, the male host told us that it was fully booked and that there was no way that they could accommodate us. He wasn't even apologetic.
It doesn't say anywhere on the website that the restaurant only accepts guests with reservations. It is also unacceptable for a hotel that claims to be an upscale hotel to book it's restaurants up so fully that there is no table for walk-ins.
We've heard good things about the food, but this service is a real put-off. You're better off taking your money across the street to Yan Ting at The St. Regis.

We proceeded downstairs to Noodles as an alternative, only to be told that the place was "not ready" and would open at 1130 even though it clearly stated 11 as the opening time on the menu!

We're never coming back to this hotel.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Felte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    61
    27
    5
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food...a must try!!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Just had dinner at Hua Ting...food was excellent, especially the suckling pig.
It was yummylicious...
Every dish was done to perfection.
The soon hock fish was excellent.
Liked the french beans with fried golden mushrooms.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChocChocChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very friendly, warm and attentive Staff”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Was there for lunch (Tim Sum) sometimes in July. It was our first visit. Staff were very friendly and attentive right at entrance to those who took our orders. Our plates were constantly changed even though the restaurant was full. Will definitely return again to try other food in menu. Keep up the good work to the service crew !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsSiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good restuarant but expensive”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

this is a good restaurant and its reputation precedes it. we were invited for a dinner by a friend in a private room. and wasnt aware of the furore surrounding dress code. luckily we were properly dressed. but it is a favoured location for business entertainment. the ambience is good and you can feel its a posh restuarant when you step in.
i found the service to be extremely good and the staff most obliging. the food is very commendable in that we had ordered dishes or courses as the Chinese would call it. it was a 10 course for the 8 of us. we found all the courses thoroughly authentic.
as this place is expensive , it is not a place to go for sweet and sour pork or just roast duck :)

but my good friend , the host is a regular customer, thus perhaps there was special attention paid to us.
i think the meal was fairly expensive at the end of the day but as guests we thoroughly enjoyed the meal.

i think this is a good place for offcial entarinment, or for that quiet important family diiner ( for a special celebration). if you are wanting casual dining perhaps this place might not be it, not unless you have a deep pocket :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fly_a_lot888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overrated Chinese food”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Price Is too much for over branded Chinese food. Won't recommend anyone to visit as it is not tasty at all

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hua Ting Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Hua Ting Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing