We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chinese push cart dim sum as early as 7 am”

Red Star Restaurant Pte Ltd
Ranked #1,044 of 10,692 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“chinese push cart dim sum as early as 7 am”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

we like visiting this restaurant because it opens really early. You order your hot tea, it comes with an extra bowl of hot water to rinse the china tea cups. We like the porridge, the hoi sien juan which is minced pork rolled in steamed bean curd skin. We also like the Chee Cheong Fun (rice rolls) with light sauce, siew mai, steamed cha siew buns.

The steam prawn dumplings were not too good though. the steamed custard bun with melted egg yolk within, used to taste really good. But I guessed after they had a change of cook/chefs?, the steamed custard bun tasted differently and we decided never to order this again.

Service is slack perhaps that is why this restaurant charges 15 percent for services and taxes, rather than the usual 17 percent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travels8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    90
    75
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very authentic dim sum experience”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Was introduced to this place by my local friend. It serves dim sum in push cart and you just pick those that you like. The dim sum were delicious and the place was very authentic dim sum house.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkoHermansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The only thing I like was the ambience and the waitresses. The food is horrible, the queue is horrible, the location is horrible. I went there 3 times because of my aunt, and their standard were kept horrible all 3 times.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
319 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nope!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Disappointing though suppose to be the cart driven dim sum. food is oily, place is rundown and feels unhygienic.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Littlepods18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“food as expected”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

food as expected. place can get very crowded. not all the kind of food is served every day.
very noisely

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maarten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Star Restaurant Pte Ltd also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Red Star Restaurant Pte Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing