We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food from italy”
Review of Galbiati Gourmet Deli - CLOSED

Galbiati Gourmet Deli
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good food from italy”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

let your heart desires run wild with this wonderful little cafe, almost just like eating in a small italy town

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank ronaldcmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Never Disappointing”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We were at Galbiati's (again) today this time for late lunch - a good class neighbourhood deli-restaurant at upp bukit timah. It never ceases to amaze me how this italian set up manages to fit the food/bar service counter and enough tables and chairs tightly but comfortably. Authentic Italian at reasonable prices; go for squid ink pasta with crab sauce and if its a pizza, the parma ham one. Their set lunch is reasonable in price and portion and yummy-mia good with a starter, main and dessert with coffee at $18-20. They do takeaways in even bigger portions i must say. I love drinking tea at Galbiati's - no tea bags but true earl grey tea leaves!!! Move over TWG i would say : ) With Galbiati, i am happy to be living in upp bukit timah.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweetiemine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great place for a light dinner”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This is a family hangout for us. We usually go there, if there is nothing in the fridge, or we are too lazy to cook.

the food is always good, the service depends on the staffing of the moment. Quite a few untrained personnel.

the lamb shank is great, and so are all the roasted vegetables.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trilife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Food, Atmosphere, Prices--FABULOUS!”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Finding a place to eat in Singapore that has A) good food B) good prices and C) good atmosphere is totally unheard of! However, this nice little gem of a place was a welcomed surprise. The quaint Italian restaurant has everything that one could want from an Italian restaurant- bread, wine, food, and atmosphere. A tasty calamari starter and a nice portion of a somewhat custom-ordered pasta, as well as a nice bottle of wine was not going to break the bank! Chef Roberto came out to say hello, and welcomed us to his restaurant. His tiramisu?? OH MY stars..YUM! A great place for a nice dinner when you want to actually talk to the person across from you, have a nice meal, and not break the bank! Thanks Roberto!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GyPsYs0uL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Home cooked Italian food”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Chef Roberto and his team have always made lunch or dinner a wonderful and simple affair. The restaurant is kept very simplistic and basic, but the food cooked is at all times very good. Mixed starters with mozzarella, cold cut, vegetables are usually a good way to start, followed by some of the daily suggestions for pasta. Main dishes to be recommended is the lamb or the risotto with funghi. Try any of the desserts, they are worth the sin. Galbiati also does catering and did so for my last birthday party including fresh cooking of various sorts of pasta and sauces, which was a great success.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tablank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galbiati Gourmet Deli also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing