We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good price and location in Singapore” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayo Inn
Ranked #182 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
“A good price and location in Singapore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

It is clean and comfortable to stay. I was really satisfied with its room and their service. Room is clean and looks rather nice. The hotel is not far from Bugis Junction, just about 7 minutes walking. Value for money to stay expensive Singapore.

Room Tip: Ask for quieter place when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    87
    50
    5
    2
See reviews for
47
54
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Finding decent and inexpensive accommodations in Singapore is tough but Mayo Inn stands out by offering no-frills and only the essentials for a fair price. It's located in between two MRT stations: Little India and Bugis making it easy to get around. It's also a stone throw away from Kampong Glam and Little India. The room and bathroom are clean. Everything was functioning as it should. It can get a bit noisy during the day but if you're always out and about it won't matter much. The air conditioning is slow in cooling the room but after a while it gets really cold. In other similarly priced places the shower is over the toilet but not here which is a very good thing. The lift was under repair when we stayed but we did not really mind as our room was just one floor up although it was a pain bringing down luggage after a few days of shopping. The staff was helpful in assisting us with getting a cab on our way to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room located along Mayo St. Rooms near Jalan Besar can be noisy during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyapjoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

you get what you pay, ok room, good location, near bugis junction, MRT, mini market etc, just one minus: no elevator, quite difficult drag our baggage to third floor, female staff don't help when we check in, male staff help when we check out.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ffsebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Accommodation in Singapore is expensive and the Mayo Inn offered us accommodation for 4 at a fair price. The room was small but the four of us squeezed in for the night. The room faced onto the street and was quite noisy. Overall adequate for a night or two.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank columbiaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The room is very clean and neat, reasonable size room. It's about 5-8 min walk to Bugis MRT where there are lots of eateries and a mall. One bad thing of this hotel is the lifts were out of order during our stay so it was quite a hike up and down for the 6 nights but other than that, it's pretty good value for money considering how expensive the hotel prices are in SIngapore.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ftang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Average, no-frills hotel - it was what we expected given the price we paid. The room was average-sized by Singapore standards but it was clean and it had all the basic amenities (AC, TV, clean bathroom with hot water). Only two complaints: 1) it's beside an MRT station that's being built so it can get quite noisy and 2) their lift is not functioning so you may end up carrying your luggage up 3 floors.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timlimgenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This id the frist time i have been to Asian & the frist time i been to Singapore. they have some good thing.
A.helful staff .B clean room & good location.
C.the room i stayed in very small .B the street very noisy at night verry hard for me to sleep.
if i come back singapore again i will find some where else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glanda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Lloyd's Inn
#50 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Kam Leng Hotel
#211 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#118 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#116 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#60 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,213 reviews
Hotel YAN
#49 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayo Inn

Property: Mayo Inn
Address: 9 Jalan Besar, Singapore 208786, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An economy Hotel with 22 rooms in a 4-storey conservation building on the fringe of the Little India Historical Conservation Area. Close to local eatries and restaurants. A short walk to Rapid Train stations leading to many tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mayo Hotel Singapore
Mayo Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing