We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to expectation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of No Signboard Seafood Restaurant

No Signboard Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #7,276 of 10,422 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Marina Bay
Description: Chuckle all you may, but this unusual name for a restaurant was concocted by the patrons of No Signboard Seafood themselves. Founded in 1981, it is now known island-wide for its creative and original recipes.
Manila
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not up to expectation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Celebrated my Birthday dinner here. The atmosphere was a bit noisy, the restaurant was full though good thing we reserved a table that morning.
Was so excited to try their chili crab, Which people were raving about but when i tried it I was disappointed. It shouldn't be called Chili crab, It should be named sweet crab as it was more sweet than chili. =< I guess i just had to much expectation...

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank christine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    178
    134
    92
    121
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not friendly for solo dinner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I'm on a business trip to Singapore and always enjoy Singapore's chili crab. I was very disappointed to not be welcomed by the staff at No Signboard Restaurant when I'm a lone dinner. As a traveler not used to Singapore's weather I had requested indoor seating and was turned away and said that I can only dine outside. I had made a point to go to dinner early at 5:30PM before the crowd on a Monday. There were no wait to the restaurant or people dinning this early. Even with that the staff had not seated me indoor. The staff was rude and inconsiderate to my request. I advise lone business traveler to skip this restaurant because there are so many other great eats in Singapore.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Crabs by the beach, one of the best places to enjoy with kids as well, specially on the ECP”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great food, good place sit outside enjoy the sea view with lightened ships leave the kids to enjoy the garden area next to beach, and you enjoy with friends and family,
Vegetarians do not loose hope you have options to a nice dine out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aryamitsonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
156 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Went for weekday dinner. 7 of us altogether. We had pepper crab, butter crab, fried squid, frog meat, chicken, prawns, and vegetables. Nothing memorable in terms of food. We had tested better seafood elsewhere. We sat indoor and it got noisy and stuffy because of the low ceiling. Better to have sat outside. This restaurant is convenient though in terms of location if you wish to entertain clients in town and want to go for other stuff like drinks after dinner. But not the place you will want to go if you are looking for outstanding seafood.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack_CCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Chilli crabs with an ocean view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I had a quick bite to eat here with colleagues on the way to the airport. We had a local order for us and the food that came out was good and I enjoyed tasting dishes I'd never had before. The chilli crab was excellent. The staff were very attentive and the food quick. The location is great looking out over the ocean (even if there were several container ships docked out at sea). There's something special about eating crabs looking out at sea. The area feels a bit more like other parts of Asia which is a refreshing change from the sometimes sterile surrounds of Singapore city.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tiney_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No Signboard Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to No Signboard Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing