We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place!”
Review of Melt Cafe

Melt Cafe
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 10/7
8:00 PM
OR
Reserve a table
Ranked #37 of 14,289 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $111
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Marina Centre
Description: Melt Café is a sophisticated all-day-dining experience, where cultures and cuisines mingle. The restaurant presents guests with contemporary and stylish interiors, where a delightful patisserie counter takes centre stage. Known for its extensive buffet presentations, the restaurant has a variety of stations to tempt diners. The main dining space is filled with light, which comes from the floor to ceiling windows and provides a welcoming ambience. Guests can also dine alfresco during dinner, amidst lush greenery, while enjoying a delicious barbecue. Indoors, the award-winning pastry theatre provides for the perfect finale.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

We realy liked the food: a lot choice of high quality food all around the world. Price-Quality is worth it!! We recommend if you want to enjoy a nice evening with family and friends. Excellent service also (Ganesan and Alex Wong)

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank MajaMam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
EtienneFrancois, Director of Food and Beverage at Melt Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2019

Dear Mandarin Oriental Guest

We are pleased to know that we have earned ourselves a fan of our all-day dining restaurant, Melt Café, and that our friendly colleagues, especially Ganesan and Alex, have left a memorable impression on you. Your kind compliments on our gourmet excellence, which we are often known for, are also truly appreciated and will be shared with the team.

All of us here look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Etienne Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,142 - 1,146 of 1,973 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2019

We took a group of us to this venue to celebrate a special occasion, and were a bit concerned about the discerning tastes we were bringing to Melts table, but have to say with an age range of 3 to 73, everybody was satisfied with what was on display without reservation. The seafood fanciers got fresh crays, oysters, prawns and more. The sushi likers got satisfied too, as did the traditional roast people, the duck and chicken were delicious, the hot dishes were many and varied, and lets talk about desserts.
OMG was the opinion of the junior members, who loved the waffles and ice creams, not to mention some pretty colourful cakes to try out. Have to confess, I was worried about the taxi ride home as each child loaded up from the dessert bar.
Good choices of wines, beers and cocktails, and coffee if you need it like me after too much celebration wine!
Melts, thank you for a great lunch. Rest assured nobody went away hungry, and the entire group all agreed it was a sensational meal, in a superb environment, and with very attentive waitpersons that really made it special for us.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hilmar Horst D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
EtienneFrancois, Director of Food and Beverage at Melt Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2019

Dear Mandarin Oriental Guest

Thank you for celebrating such a joyous occasion with us. It certainly makes our day to hear that you enjoyed our gourmet highlights crafted with the freshest of ingredients at all-day dining restaurant, Melt Café. As we believe that personalised touches can make a world of difference to our guests, we are glad that our colleagues went the extra mile in ensuring your dining experience was a memorable one. Your commendations will certainly be conveyed to the team as it is comments like yours that motivate us to consistently deliver sublime epicurean experiences.

We warmly welcome you back for another amazing visit with us.

Yours sincerely
Etienne Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2019 via mobile

This restaurant is just top of the top. Great service, great food and at a price no one should think twice stopping by to have dinner.
Stayed with my wife and friends before and not with my team. Looking forward to having the next chance to eat there.

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank 382helmutw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
EtienneFrancois, Director of Food and Beverage at Melt Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2019

Dear Mandarin Oriental Guest

We are pleased to know that we have earned ourselves a fan of our all-day dining restaurant, Melt Café, and that our friendly colleagues left a memorable impression on you. Your kind compliments on our gourmet excellence, which we are often known for, are also truly appreciated and will be shared with the team.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

Yours sincerely
Etienne Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

Impressive variety of cuisines. The seafood (lobster, prawns, crab, oysters, sashimi) is the best - quite fresh. The Indian selection is also commendable. The local food is mediocre, far below the level at StraitsKitchen at the Grand Hyatt: bak chor mee, laksa, roast meats, carrot cake. Service is friendly but not terribly proactive - we had to ask for water refills all the time. Surprisingly, the cashier agreed to give us parking redemption tickets only if we signed up for (free) membership of local MO eating club.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank LamN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
EtienneFrancois, Director of Food and Beverage at Melt Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2019

Dear Mandarin Oriental Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback as it is essential in our continuous efforts to improve our services and offerings. We do apologise for the less than favourable experience during your recent visit to Melt Café. Please be assured that your feedback on our local offerings have been taken on most positively and will be reviewed with the culinary team as we endeavour to consistently offer a delectable spread for all guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a better dining experience.

Yours Sincerely
Etienne Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019 via mobile

Staying at the M.O. for 4 nights, I'd opted for a Club room (which includes complementary champagne breakfast in the Club Lounge) however visited Melt for breakfast on two mornings, having read some great things on their breakfast buffet. Without a doubt, it’s the most extensive breakfast buffet I've ever experienced (I stay in hotels ~2 months per year) - there's huge variety, and its constantly replenished. My only criticism would be the table service which was very much lacking. They do not provide tea pots, and staff were amiss in offering top ups.

The table service for breakfast (on two visits) and dinner (on one visit) was dire. Which is such a pity, as the buffet selection is excellent. It’s really letting the hotel down - and considering several managers were clearly on shift is all the more disappointing. On being seated, staff are then illusive - plates go uncleared, glasses are not replenished, and the bill for dinner took a lifetime to arrive. The chefs on the various stations are very good however (particular call out to the young Indian gentleman on the Indian dishes station on Sun 4/8 around 9pm).

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank nick164
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
EtienneFrancois, Director of Food and Beverage at Melt Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2019

Dear Mandarin Oriental Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. While I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our sumptuous international buffet spread, we do apologise for the service lapse you experienced during your recent visit to Melt Café. Please be assured that training efforts will also be stepped up as providing unrivalled dining experience for all our guests is among our top priorities.

My team and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Etienne Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melt Cafe also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Melt Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.