We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the trip to the gardens” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Halia at Singapore Botanic Gardens

The Halia at Singapore Botanic Gardens
Ranked #41 of 10,424 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: European, Asian, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Tanglin
Description: Nestled in the charming grounds of the Ginger Garden, The Halia at Singapore Botanic Gardens is the flagship restaurant of The Halia Group; which includes Villa Halia, The Halia at Raffles Hotel and The Halia at Westlake, Hanoi. Here at The Halia at Singapore Botanic Gardens, diners can expect to be charmed by contemporary European cuisine with subtle accents of Asian flavours.
Maine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth the trip to the gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The setting for this restaurant is lovely, in the park, and a great place to end a few hours stroll at the botanical gardens. Be sure to order the Singapore crab. This national dish was delicious and followed up by the local icecream assortment was one of our most memorable meals in this city filled with great restaurants

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    302
    93
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Always love to visit here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I first chanced upon this restaurant while strolling through the park on my own. I was initially disappointed that set lunch would no longer be served even though I was merely 10 minutes past the time. Still, it's a lovely respite from the usual Singaporean humidity and heat. Lovely garden with a quaint setting. Food is nice as always. I have gone there twice now, both for lunch and it's always a nice experience. Pricing is not over-the-top. Typically the same pricing that we would pay if we dined at a nice restaurant elsewhere for lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HotMama_Dev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good for a date”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Visited the restaurant on a wet afternoon... Door hostess was prompt in getting my date and I a table (indoor).

Ordered their ginger tea and I would say, it's nice and refreshing. Food was nice and well presented. A but pricey though.

The assistant manager, Redzuan was super friendly and knows his food product. Thumbs up to him for his excellent services.

Will go back on special occasion.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavier K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, great service. Expensive and pedestrian food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had lunch at Halia this weekend. It's a favored haunt of the "ladies wot lunch" set. They were busy nd we had to wait a while for a table for three, and oddly we weren't invited to sit and wait. Spoke with the manager a little and after ten minutes or so, we were seated.

We both ordered ice coffee and a pastry basket while waiting for our third. The bread was good, the coffee so sweet I thought I would go into shock. Top tip, order sugar on the side!

Or fiend arrived and we ordered. Corn beef hash - bland. Salmon toasty - bland too, truffle fries - very good. Also ordered a bottle of s.blanc. Not bad but pricey.

Indeed that sums up the experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank An-gof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in the Garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

To get to Halia, one must stroll along a pathway in the Singapore Botanic Gardens, past a couple of waterfalls and its colorful indigenenous flora. The restaurant provides both indoor and outdoor dining in a lovely setting surrounded by the gardens. We hosted a dinner for eight indoors and were seated next to a small kitchen which gave the impression we were eating at a Chef's table. Cocktails were generally good but the fresh ginger infused drinks took a little getting used to. I ordered the New Zealand Rack of Lamb marinated in Java spice which was papered perfectly rare and was as exotic a lamb as I have ever tasted. Our guests were similarly satisfied with their mains. The hit for me was Halia's Rojak desert which included fresh fruit, berries, an amazing chilli chocolate sauce, chopped peanuts, sesame seeds and nori crisp. It was a perfect ending to a great meal. I would have easily given the restaurant five stars had the service not been so slow on what appeared to be a slow night. If you want a nice, relaxed romantic evening enjoying a fantastic meal in Singapore, I highly recommend Halia's

Helpful?
Thank Paladin47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Halia at Singapore Botanic Gardens also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to The Halia at Singapore Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing