We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, poor service”

Greenwood Fish Market & Bistro
Ranked #1,505 of 10,497 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
SG
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have eaten here 3 times now and am always impressed by the selection of fish that is avialable and how well it is is cooked (with a number of options on how you want it cooked). The wine selection is very nice too.
The location is nice too, if a little crowded.
Unfortunately the service has been poor each time, it can be hard to catch a waiter's attention and order can take a long time to appear, even if it is just drinks. The last time I was there my main arrived after the 5 people I was dining with had finished theirs, to make matters worse the restaurant refused to remove the service charge from my bill and instead (eventually) offered me vouchers worth less than the cost of the service. It is worth noting that even after complaining about the timeliness of dishes multiple times our desserts still took 20 mins to arrive.
The restaurant is worth a try because the food is great, but I would suggest going during quieter times as the service will still be bad but you can at least catch their attention.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolm b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    105
    39
    24
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
317 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Must try”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

They have seasonal fishes and very fresh. Its value for money and always suggest you book first. Not easy to locate if you are a tourist

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlepods18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips Takeaway”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Here, they do Fish and Chips like nobody else in Singapore (and it's cheaper when you takeaway!) It's a fish and chips that's comparable with those served in Western countries. Of course, they offer much more than that, look out for the special deals that run throughout the week! If I'm not wrong, it's oysters for Tuesday! They serve fresh and good seafood without any nonsense. Fantastic place, great food!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cngjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional lobster”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

On Monday night lobster evening with 40S$ for every 450-550 gr lobster: grilled, steamed or with supplement termidor. We loved it and visited already twice. Optionally to sit in- or outdoors and besides the lobster a wide variety of other fresh fish available. We love the place and quiet location. We can advice this one!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oorthuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Okay Food with worst service ever!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Went to the Greenwood because we saw the good review here at trip advisor. Overall, experience was bad. A great location, quiet with a warm and cozy decor. The first impression was wow, couldn't wait to taste the food! Price is okay. We expected to pay for the freshness and good food from the reviews we saw. We ordered a couple of things. Sashimi were fresh and crab cake was okay. None of the Oyster choices were available so we were a little disappointed but it was still okay. However, things went downhill after that. Seafood chowder was very blend. Caesar Salad was worst ever tasted - Lettuces were very tired, Salmon toppings was overcooked and dressings was worst ever tasted (including whichever ready-made dressings you would get from supermarket!) many Ingredients in the dressings were missing and you couldn't even taste the flavor that screams caesar dressings. Overall, food experience gave a mixed feeling. Service - was bad as well as the attitude. We ordered two salads and a seafood chowder, one crab cake, one sashimi platter, a daily special and some oysters. We were early so there was only one table beside us when we first ordered. After the daily special, crab cake and sashimi platter, nothing else showed up after that. So, we asked for the server and asked where was the rest of the food. It seemed that the rest of the food were not put in for order. Then, we repeated the rest of the orders. And still, Greek Salad was missing until the end of the meal. When we called the service staff to check the rest of the orders, they were very insincere. Conclusion, we had a bad dining experience and felt very disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodlover986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwood Fish Market & Bistro also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Greenwood Fish Market & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing