We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty!”

The Banana Leaf Apolo
Ranked #186 of 10,776 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Little India
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were staying next door at the Vintage Inn, so thought we would try it out. It wasn't until we sat down inside that we realised it was the restaurant that is in the guidebooks and given great reviews! It was so busy but the service was still really good. The food was very tasty, we had the fish head curry, which was delicious. It wasn't the cheapest place but it was still worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frankied7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    393
    194
    68
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Good Indian food - have a look at the chefs”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stopped in the busy and very entertaining Little India district one night for dinner. If you have not been here, stop by Little India, it is much more fun than Chinatown.

Its a very Indian restaurant, a large room, no cozy decor and large tables of which some are clean and some are not.

Most people there were eating with their hands.

We had Chicken Masala, Chicken Korma, Tandoori chicken, Kebab chicken and some dall.

Especially the masala and tandoori was really good. Strong flavor and good quality ingredients.

You dont get any plates here, but eat all meals on banana leaves right on the table. I hope they dont reuse them.

Service was quick and efficient.

The food here is 3-4 star. But the restrooms across the street were really disgusting. Also, we got billed 1.5 SGD for the small wet napkins pr person. What a ripoff. So jsut 3 stars.

When we did not tip on the credit card receipt the waiter asked for a tip (which we left cash). I dont think it is appropriate to ask for a tip.

If you have time, go watch the two chefs prepare the food, make nan, dosai etc. They are incredible artists.

Decent price for Singapore. We paid 90 SGD for 6 persons.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nothing exceptional”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

visited the place about a month back. the place gives a feel of some indian dosa joint/restaurant in terms of smell, its ambience, crockery & cutlery used etc. service is nice. they have bells on each table like an aircraft for calling the staff. main thing food is not great. i have eaten at many indian restaurants so i can say the food lacked in true flavours/spices and indian bread was semi cooked then the way it should be. rest was fine. price ok.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank casyby30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condom, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Indian food!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We discovered this restaurant after a friend highly recommended it. She was right.
It is situated on the busy race course road in Little India Singapore.
We were welcomed in by a cheerful smiling girl who sat us at a long table, which we later shared with four others. The atmosphere is great with bustling waiters and inscrutable chefs whom we could all watch working their magic. The food was heavenly. The curries were fresh, spicy and utterly delicious, as were the vegetable accompaniments. There is only beer, wine or soft drinks but that is all you need!
The restaurant was bustling and great fun. It was also excellent value for money.
Can't wait to go again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Filthy Restaurant”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

YUCK! We went there last night based on a recommendation from a friend. Disgusting! When we arrived, it was clearly not a place we would have ever chosen to eat at by the looks of it, but thought that we should give it a try based on the recommendation.
The table was gross and sticky. The menu that were handed to us had mashed up wet food inside it. We also had the option of using a germ ridden iPad to order food from. Would never recommend or go back because of the cleanliness or state of restaurant.
1) service was ok, food came pretty fast. Eggplant dish was very tasty but super oily. Butter chicken was not good at all, 3) mango lassi not recommended, too sweet and unnatural tasting, 4) vegetarian biryani ok, 5) rice terrible. It was more like sticky gross Chinese rice than long grain basmati rice.
Did not enjoy it at all and would not recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Likeitniceandclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Banana Leaf Apolo also viewed

 

Been to The Banana Leaf Apolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing