We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Indian Food Vegetarian and Non Vegetarian”

The Banana Leaf Apolo
Ranked #153 of 10,515 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Little India
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food Vegetarian and Non Vegetarian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Clean and spacious....food is good. Quantities are very large and reasonable pricing. The menu has a very wide variety of North and South Indian food if one is familiar with Indian food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank shay12123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    378
    190
    67
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“authentic food, authentic feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

everything here, from the decor to the way food is served (on a banana leaf, with servers coming up to you with their metal pots and scooping whatever you fancy on to your leaf/plate) is as traditional as it gets. the food tastes great, and value-for-money.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank audrey151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Loved the leaf plate. Food was beautiful, good size portions and the service was excellent. Reasonably priced too!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
93 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice Indian Cuisine Resto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

it;s nice place for Indian Culinary Food, every food have a nice taste and little bit spicy.
the recommended food is : papadap is chips, very very nice taste and cruncy, and than the best food in here is Curry Fish Head . is the taste of winner ...
so Lamb, squid, chicken and many traditional Indian food is recomended too ..
the last you must try : Massala Tea, is a special traditional tea from Indian .. so warm and unique taste ..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loegada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainmoonearth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic, fiery, flavourful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I've been going to this restaurant since the early 80s. It's famous for Fish Head curry... but to be honest, I never eat that. The real winner here for me is the masala chicken. What a fabulous dish. Be prepared for some serious spice action though. It's thick, heavy and absolutely bursting with flavour. Along with that, I always order some plain yoghurt (to cool things down) and lime juice (unmissable... sweet and limey and the perfect antidote to all the masala)

The regular leaf comes with either yellow (fluffy, fragrant and scrumptious) or white (snooze!) rice and two vegetables. You're in luck if one of them is cabbage. It's kind of sloppy looking, but with flavours of mustard seed and turmeric, tastes awesome... with a slight crunch. The other winner veg (although I love them all) is eggplant. It's sort of gravyish, slightly tangy and totally heartwarming.

You're looking at under $10 for a rice and two veg + lime juice. If you add a masala chicken, not much more.

I would say that beer is the perfect accompaniment to this meal but frankly, I don't want to waste tummy space on bubbly beverages...

As far as other dishes go... forget it. They're probably amazing... but I don't need more than what I've mentioned to make this meal one of the best once-every-few-months indulgences in town.

Oh, and go only to the original branch on Race Course Road.

Oh... and full disclaimer: you will leave smelling of Indian food. So, I don't recommend this as a business lunch/during work sort of place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rainmoonearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Banana Leaf Apolo also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to The Banana Leaf Apolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing