We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Singapore Flyer

Singapore Flyer
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.36*
and up
Marina Bay Segway Hire in Singapore
Ranked #8 of 805 things to do in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: At 165 metres tall, Singapore Flyer is a masterpiece of urban architecture and engineering that showcases not only the mesmerizing cosmopolitan cityscape of the tropical Lion City, but even the surrounding islands of Indonesia and parts of Malaysia in all their glory. In addition to offering panoramic views of Singapore's cosmopolitan cityscape, guests can also indulge in a flute of champagne, or savour the iconic Singapore Sling whilst hosted in a special themed capsule. Diners seeking both privacy and luxury can opt for a multi-sensory treat unlike any other with our Premium Sky Dining Flight, complete with a four-course dinner and an in-flight host.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

The views are fantastic. The stepping on and off may be a bit daunting for some. The wheel turns very slowly but it was a challenge for one elderly gent. It is flow enough to indulge in mass photography. The views are incredible on a clear day.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wwhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,853
    4,578
    1,576
    218
    82
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth the ride for the views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I had looked up on this long before we had booked our holiday to Singapore, & I was definitely going to be going on it. I wasn’t a disappointment. Stunning views from up top, looking over the Marina Bay& Gardens by the Bay. We went on board the Flyer, pretty much as the last paying guests of the day, so it was pretty late at night, but we had the cabin all to ourselves, it was magical. It moves really slowly, not stopping to let you on or off, but taking photos is easy because it’s so slow. You feel like your getting your moneys worth since your on for a bit of time, think was bout 35min for full rotation, & there is plenty of room inside the cabins. Like I said, the views at night are stunning so I would recommend going at night, you can also see the road track where the Formula 1 circuit is, which I never noticed at ground level. It was $33, bit steep yes, but you can’t come to Singapore without going for a spin. It is the world’s largest observation wheel after all.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Khristophoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
555 reviews
298 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Worth paying for the views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Fortunately for those over 60 the price drops from SGD33 (US$27) per person to SGD24 (US$20) per person; still fairly expensive for anyone on a budget in a city that has a high standard of living.

It's best to try to go during the week when there will be less people; conversely sometimes you'll have to wait for others to join you in the relatively large cabins; we were lucky to travel on our own.

It moves so slowly, not even stopping to let you get on or off, that taking photos is very easy. Try not to pick a day when it is overcast or rain is forecast, like it was on our visit, when a thunderstorm broke out, the ride was stopped temporarily, then completely for about an hour just after we got off. Photos will also be much better on a clearer day.

We didn't get a chance to travel at night but imagine the views would be excellent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnpsau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I am not terribly good with heights - but I am so glad I took a breath and took a ride. Firstly you dont feel as if you are moving at all - no rocking of the pods. The views are amazing and as it goes around so slowly you have plenty of time to capture great photos. The day we went was very clear and we had no-one else with us in the pod.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pumpkin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Most enjoyed the scenes from and view...something not to be missed when you are in Singapore. Great place to walk around and do sight seeing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MandrewsSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Singapore Flyer also viewed

 

Been to Singapore Flyer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing