We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, bad service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The St. Regis Singapore
Ranked #22 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Makkah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in December/ January for two weeks, and was my first time in Singapore. The hotel is located in a prime location close to shopping malls, restaurants, cafe...the hotel interior is beautiful, but the service is very bad especially housekeeping and butler service.
The hotel staff need more training to meet guest expectation and deliver consistent service standard.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Brahim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSRSManagement, Front Office Manager at The St. Regis Singapore, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Brahim R,

Thank you for choosing The St. Regis Singapore, and thank you for your note. We are currently reviewing them and we will work with the relevant departments to ensure your next visit with us will be an even exceptional one. We look forward to welcome you back to The St. Regis Singapore.

Yours sincerely,
Herman Foo
Director of Rooms
The St. Regis Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,287
    425
    162
    77
    51
See reviews for
377
634
150
577
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a 1 bedroom suite with our own butler. The room was big and worked very well for us since we have 2 small children.
It's a beautiful hotel with excellent service. We didn't use the butler service much, but when we did they were swift and accurate.
You could find everything in the breakfast buffet, but the breakfast room was a little too small for such a big hotel. Always people waiting to be seated.
We didn't eat in the restaurant during the days or evenings. We ordered room service twice and the food was excellent.
The location of the hotel is good, 5 minutes to Orchard Mall. Never any problems getting a taxi.
Don't know if there were anything for kids at the hotel. There was no kids pool but the pool was ok.
5 minutes walk to a small shopping centre with a good supermarket.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malin_Pihl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSRSManagement, Front Office Manager at The St. Regis Singapore, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Malin_Pihl,

Thank you for selecting The St. Regis Singapore for your family vacation, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your feedback, and rest assure that we have taken note of them and are currently working with the relevant departments to ensure all matters are resolved. We look forward to welcome you back to The St. Regis Singapore.

Yours sincerely
Herman Foo
Director of Rooms
The St. Regis Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel a few years ago and spent a couple thousand dollars in my few days there. This time I was with my wife and on a Starwood Cash and Points stay, so I was somewhat worried the service wouldn't be up to par. No issue. At all. In fact, I believe I was given the same excellent service, possibly a better room, and came away even more impressed with the St. Regis Singapore than I was last time! The location is excellent, just off of Orchard Road and a block and a half from Tanglin Mall, which has an excellent Indian restaurant (Yantra, see my review), an excellent Thai restaurant, and an excellent grocery store in the basement (go out the front door, walk left a block and a half). Hard Rock Cafe is a seven minute walk (go left out the front door, left, left, straight down a hundred meters or so on the right). As I mentioned, service was excellent, room was excellent, Sunday Brunch was excellent! Taxi is between $8S and $12S to get down to Marina Bay Sands area. You really can't miss here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseVargas100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSRSManagement, Front Office Manager at The St. Regis Singapore, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear JoseVargas100,

We are extremely happy that you are equally thrilled with your experience at The St. Regis Singapore. We would like to extend our utmost gratitude to you for your glowing review. We look forward to welcome you back to The St. Regis Singapore to continue experiencing the art of living with us.

Yours sincerely
Herman Foo
Director of Rooms
The St. Regis Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the St Regis twice in relatively quick succession in december and january. Along with the Fullerton Bay, these two hotels set the standard in Singapore.

+ve
Beautiful luxury ambience in the lobby and bedrooms
Butler service very attentive and helpful
3 pieces of pressing provided free of charge -- very helpful for a business person

-ve
Lacks a little intimacy through the check in process eg they did not recognise the fact I was a returning guest

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RajTRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSRSManagement, Front Office Manager at The St. Regis Singapore, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear RajTRay,

Thank you for choosing The St. Regis Singapore, and we are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken note of your feedback and we are currently reviewing them. We look forward to welcome you back to The St. Regis Singapore.

Yours sincerely
Herman Foo
Director of Rooms
The St. Regis Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I am often overly critical of hotels and I can be accused of expecting perfection. Fair criticism and I agree. However, I can't say enough positive things about this hotel. Great location, great entrance, great check-in experience, food, room service, and restaurants are good. Every room comes with butler service with free daily coffee or tea brought by your butler to the room, unpacking service, free pressing, etc. The rooms are fantastic--luxurious, comfortable, aesthetically appealing, and thoughtful. Maid service as many times a day as you want it. Great bath products, and thoughtful touches. I could have lived in my room it was so great. Spa is amazing--massage from William is the best massage I've ever had at any spa in the world. Spa facilities are gorgeous and free for hotel guests. I honestly can't think of a single negative thing to say about this hotel. It is superbly run--everything a hotel should be and in this case, absolutely is. Way to go St. Regis / Starwood--you are doing it all the right way in Singapore. I would never stay anywhere else when I come to town.

Room Tip: Executive Deluxe room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HudsonRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSRSManagement, Front Office Manager at The St. Regis Singapore, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear HudsonRS,

Thank you for your glowing review of The St. Regis Singapore and we are extremely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your thoughtful praise with our team. We look forward to welcome you back for another bespoke experience in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Herman Foo
Director of Rooms
The St. Regis Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious and luxurious, though a bit over the top for our more modern taste. The location was not convenient to public transit but within a short walk to Orchard Road -- though given the hot weather many may find that walk a bit long.

We are relatively low-maintenance, so the only amenities we used were:

-- the pool: lovely setting, large enough to do exercise laps;
-- the gym: nice and clean
-- coffee service: prompt, friendly, and good coffee.

We didn't eat at any of the hotel restaurants, and question why anyone would eat at a hotel restaurant when there is so much amazing and affordable food throughout the city.

Overall, a very pleasant stay. We used SPG points for our stay so cannot comment on value for the money. There are plenty of high quality hotels in Singapore so it's worth shopping around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelovesutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSRSManagement, Front Office Manager at The St. Regis Singapore, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear mikelovesutah,

We are glad that your enjoyed your stay with The St. Regis Singapore. We look forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely
Herman Foo
Director of Rooms
The St. Regis Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

It's always a hassle to get here with 2 small kids with problems with room booking at the St Regis but in the end we enjoyed this city hotel. The hotel has great decor and the floor butler is a great extra with comp tea and coffee. The decor in the lobby and in the rooms are really nice. They have a nice stereo system in the bedroom and in the large bathroom. The kids loved the t.v. In front of the tub. Rooms were spacious and since they couldn't give us roll aways even though we booked it 10 months in advance( they didn't have any available, a bit unbelievable as we booked it 10months ago! St Regis is always trying to get us to book suites with 2 small kids who are not ready to sleep in another room by themselves) they kids were ok on the sofa. We were here over New Years so it could be just a rush period but the breakfast in the ball room was kind of a zoo. Otherwise the concierge service was good. There is a great Japanese place 3-5 min walk away at the end of the block that's a must! The pool is small but nice. would be even better if it was a bit warmer. Great hotel, reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fam4luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSRSManagement, Front Office Manager at The St. Regis Singapore, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear fam4luv2travel,

Thank you for choosing The St. Regis Singapore for your family vacation, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your invaluable comments. We are currently reviewing the processes with the relevant departments and ensure corrective measures are in place to avoid recurrence. We look forward to welcome you back to The St. Regis Singapore.

Yours sincerely
Herman Foo
Director of Rooms
The St. Regis Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Singapore

Property: The St. Regis Singapore
Address: 29 Tanglin Road St. Regis Hotel Singapore, Singapore 247911, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#16 Business Hotel in Singapore
#20 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#22 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#30 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the city’s premier shopping district, with the world-class shopping of Orchard Road at your doorstep and the grandeurs of a 5-star hotel within, The St. Regis Singapore is the ideal residence for the discerning luxury traveller. The St. Regis experience begins when you arrive at Changi Airport. A luxurious St. Regis Bentley and chauffeur can be arranged for your journey to the address where timeless elegance resides.From its location at the most coveted address to the legendary St. Regis Butler Service, this is world-class hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Singapore Hotel Singapore
St Regis Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing