We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior service and location in downtown Singapore!”
Review of Hotel 81-Bugis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 81-Bugis
Ranked #246 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Get a room with a window, if you are staying for more than one night. We were there for five nights. Small room, good view from room 502. The walls were a little thin, we could hear the phone ringing in the next room. The hotel is one block away from the famous Raffle Hotel. James, at reception, was extremely helpful, all of the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda123itsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 220 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed there for 4 days last June 24-27 2010 & the hotel staff delivered what we have expected. The room was good for 2 persons so it was right for us. The room was immaculate & the staff made sure that it was cleaned everyday. Basic neccesities like towels, toothbrushes & etc were also provided daily. The toilet was crammed so it will test your gymnastics skills. But since this is a reasonably priced budget hotel, you should not expect much from it. Also, if you're a claustrophobic, book for a more spacious room & avoid the standard one. Likewise i suggest that you request for a window room.
I also noticed that the hotel did'nt have a lounge area so the reception crowded a bit.
I have read from the reviews that the hotel is a place for some trysts of lovers, hookers & etc...& the reviews were indeed right! Despite of that, we didnt encounter any inconveniences though.
In summary, as long as your a patient traveller, you have to make it work!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eccentric_jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Booked this online for a week. Hotel is new, room was clean and staff was friendly. The location is only couple of blocks from Bugis junction food courts / shopping and also the subway station is there. There were two negatives:
a) Though I booked 'luxury' room, the shower bathroom / toilet is very small and there is no shower space / curtail. The end result is that the toilet seat, anything on the washbasin shelf and the whole toilet floor get wet. Initially I thought that it is only a toilet with a washbasin and later I found the shower head in a corner :-)
b) In the evening rooms are rented to guys who come with hookers on an hourly basis. This goes on past midnight. Locals told me that it is the practice of this hotel chain and not that the night staff making extra money. What this means is that if you arrive late, you might have to wait. Room cleaning goes all night ... good for guest who are going to check in soon after, but bad for those trying to sleep next door. Also this many not be the best experience if you are with kids.
c) though the web site mention "basic business center" there is nothing like that there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlienHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

if you are travelling alone or with a partner, are on a tight budget, will be allocating most of your time and funds to sightseeing/shopping, and just want a clean, comfortable place to stay at night, hotel 81 bugis fits the bill. first thing i noticed about the hotel was its superb location -- just a 5-minute (or even less!) walk to bugis junction, which is just diagonally across the street. the mall has loads of restaurants, shops, a supermarket, and a BHG department store. further down bugis junction is the bugis street market, some hawker stands and temples, an OG department store, sim lim square, etc. so it's a great area for sightseeing. plus, there's an MTR station at the basement of bugis junction, which can take you anywhere in singapore. i found the location very convenient for shopping and also when we suddenly had to buy emergency stuff like water, prepaid cards etc.

to my utmost relief, the hotel room was very clean. it's very simple and basic. just a bed, a small side table, flat screen TV with DVD player, a ledge for placing stuff. the room is very small, just enough for 2 adults and maybe 2 big pieces of luggage. as i said, basically just a place to stay at night. but the most important thing to me was that it was clean, and it had no moldy/musty smell like other hotels. and no bedbugs. the bathroom was also very small, and yes, when you shower everything will get wet because there is no divider between the shower, toilet, and sink. but just the same, it was ok with me, since it was clean and had no moldy tiles or icky smell, which i hate, and i'm very particular with clean bathrooms. the water heater and pressure were also fine. the hotel also provides the most basic amenities -- two towels, two toothbrushes, water kettle, one sachet each of coffee and instant cereal, two mugs, one bottle of water, a box of tissues. NO ref, mini-bar, spoons, or closet (just some hooks on the wall). the room does have free wifi, which was super neat.

i should also mention the surprisingly good service. for a budget hotel, service was actually efficient and pleasant. the front desk staff and even the housekeeping were quite helpful in answering our questions and smiled a lot. when our first room had leaks coming from the ceiling, they immediately moved us to another room.

don't come here if you are travelling with kids or if you are looking for a grand relaxing getaway. but if you're like me who came here for just a super short stay (4 days), was not keen on spending double the price on other hotels, and just wanted a clean and comfy place to rest at night, then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank browneyedgirlManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Paid 387 Singapore Dollars for 3 nights. Compared to the hotels in the area around Suntec City it was cheap.
From looking at previous reviews I knew it would not be The Hilton but I needed a place to sleep and to be able to walk to the conference I was attending in Suntec.

Receptionists efficient and friendly enough. You do notice a lot of couples booking in without luggage and you realise what type of establishment it is!

My room was the deluxe room on the 4th floor. The corridor was 90% of the time occupied by a cleaning cart and numerous cleaners.
The room was quiet small. The bathroom had a dodgy smell all the time I was there and disgustingly there was a sanitary towel on the floor of the bathroom when I arrived. Not a great sign!

Free cabled internet was a major plus. TV very small. Sheets/bed o.k.

Luckily I sleep o.k. because the banging of the doors, the music played by the cleaners, the sounds of the other "clientele" could have kept me up all night.

To be honest if I was paying out of my own pocket again for a conference in Suntec I would probably have to stay here again or try to stay in the relatively reasonably priced and well reviewed Naumi Hotel nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

This stay was a bit of a disaster from the start:

The staff on arrive wouldn't explain why we had to wait ages for our room even though we arrived at 7pm, as agreed on booking.

The cleaners seeded to be hired to clean the room through the nights, which they did so very noisily.
The cleaners did a lot of standing, chatting, eating and making A LOT OF NOISE on the corridor all night long, even when asked to keep the noise down (at 4 in the morning!!).
Both nights we were there (yes we stupidly thought the first night was just a one off, so gave them another chance) a mysterious phone was ringing every 20 minutes, for 2 - 3 hours every night, when my husband went out to investigate, a cleaner was peering round a corner out of one of the rooms. If it sounds like we've got it in for those cleaners, yes we have.
Strange when we were told the hotel was full. What were they cleaning?

There was also some random screams and shouts throughout the night (we did wonder if we'd accidentaly booked into a brother or a mental asylum).

But on the good side, its a short walk to Raffles, then on past to Clarkes Quay was really great. There's a shop for snacks across the road. The room was smart if a little small, clean, and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuGSmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed December 23, 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fragrance Hotel - Bugis
#180 of 317 in Singapore
447 reviews
Downtown Core
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#216 of 317 in Singapore
156 reviews
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#201 of 317 in Singapore
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Summer View Hotel
#116 of 317 in Singapore
495 reviews
Downtown Core
Park View Hotel
Park View Hotel
#221 of 317 in Singapore
237 reviews
Marrison Hotel
#266 of 317 in Singapore
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81-Bugis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81-Bugis

Address: 31 Middle Road, Singapore 188995, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $71 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81-Bugis 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel 81-Bugis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81-Bugis Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing