We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Regency House by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #25 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Me and my family (about 20 members) booked 3 rooms at the Regency House. 2 were the three-bedrooms and one was the studio. We stayed for 8 nights and it was nice. Locations was very near the Orchard road. Staff was nice (though the guy who took the night shift can use a chill pill). Overall it was a good stay, breakfast had the essentials not very fancy but OK. Only complaint is the furniture and the windows need to be soundproofed.
Would stay here again and recommend it.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for rooms opposite the street
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaWLee, Manager at Regency House by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Mjambi,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are delighted to learn that all of you enjoyed the stay at Regency House.

We are also pleased to inform you that we will be embarking on a project to soundproof all the apartments facing Penang Road during the later part of the year.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Warmest regards, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for Regency House by Far East Hospitality
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 265 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have been a frequent traveller to Singapore since the early 1980’s and have stayed in various places but none better that Regency House. The location could not be better, within walking distance of bus stop & MRT station. A stones throw from Orchard Road. An abundance of good restaurants, pubs & shops, but the best thing about my stay (over 5 months) in Regency House was the friendliness (day or night) of the staff. Nothing is too much for them. I would highly recommend Regency House to anyone visiting Singapore whither it be a family holiday, business trip or long term work you will not be disappointed.
Ian

Room Tip: All rooms are goob
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian1690_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaWLee, Manager at Regency House by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear ian1690_13,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are delighted that you have enjoyed the stay at Regency House.

We are pleased that all the staff made an impression during your stay.

We wish you well and look forward to welcoming you back at Regency House in the near future.

Warmest regards, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is our 5th visit to Singapore, usually every year we go for 10-14 days in January. Our usual place (Somerset Grand cairnhill closed down) and I was hesitant to try another unknown place. But decided on Regency House after TripAdvisor reviews. We arrived late at night around 11.00pm, and was received by Joyce Xu. She was extremely pleasant and very efficient, simply made us feel at home. That initial touch made us feel very welcome. Next morning I met Ginly Lim at the reception. She was FANTASTIC. No job is too difficult for Ginly. She made sure we were well looked after right through our stay! All staff (Security, reception, Breakfast room staff etc;) were simply outstanding!! Our room was serviced by Karen, who made sure it was sparkling clean every day!! The Manager Christina Lee runs a tight ship, and the result is obvious!! Regency House is a GREAT family holiday accommodation!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing Penang Road, as this road is very noisy at night.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OzPerth2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaWLee, Manager at Regency House by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear OzPerth2011,

Thank you for choosing Regency House for your recent stay.

We appreciate your recognition towards our staff and it is always a pleasure to be remembered for making our guest stay an exceptional one.

We look forward to welcoming you in Jan next year.

Warmest regards, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I lived at Regency House for over 18 months and it was a great central location to be based whilst in Singapore. Close by is orchard road for shopping and for nightlife there are various pubs and restaurants all within walking distance. The apartment itself was clean, comfortable and spacious. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Will miss the place as it was my home away from home

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank Normnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaWLee, Manager at Regency House by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Normnl,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review to compliment Regency House and the staff.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We found the staff to be exceptionally helpful and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. The front reception staff gave us great advice on where to visit and also found an extra bed for our 6 year old daughter very quickly for no extra charge. We booked through an agency and our request for an extra bed did not come through but Christina sorted it out very promptly. We found all the staff to be friendly, polite and helful. Our children loved having their pyjamas laid out for them each night and enjoyed the lovely pool and spa. We will definitely stay here again. The matresses on the beds are very firm so this may take a little getting used to.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaWLee, Manager at Regency House by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Stephanie2501,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed the comfort and facilities during your recent stay at Regency House and had an enjoyable experience.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Warmest regards, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Have travelled often to and stayed in Singapore for long periods, yet this is my first long stay at Regency House. I am still staying at Regency House as I write this review.

I wish to share the following, in case you are considering booking Regency House for your visit to Singapore:

1) This is a boutique-style "home" (not a big multi-storeyed, multi-roomed hotel with lots of staff) and usually caters to corporate guests ( read: adults, not catering for children) and thus, facilities and furnishings, etc. are more adult-friendly. There are about 88 rooms - of various types. As such they have a small staff to run this outfit like a family-type home. Do think twice if you have small children with you. It might be better to go to a big hotel, pay a bit more and you can get pampered to the hilt - including designer/branded shampoo, soap, etc which you can squirrel away when you check-out. If you still want to book Regency House, may sure you get a reply to confirm they will meet each of your request - be it a baby cot, an extra mattress, a quiet room or even the area in sq m. of the room. Please do give them time - not 2 days before you arrive - to look into your demands or requests and time for them to reply to you.

2) Most guests are long staying and have come to know the staff, and vice-versa - by name. These guests know/learn to clear their breakfast things to a side-table close to the kitchen, and they know the 2 "aunties" who manage the breakfast service really appreciate this DIY house spirit. I find it a rather homely and friendly give-and-take thing. The staff - from house-keeping, reception, and kitchen - are very friendly and if you communicate well in advance (and not at short notice) your requests, they will consider it done. I did notice some guests making a mess of the table they occupied, ate their breakfast and left, leaving behind dirty plates, etc including lots of toasted bread, fruits, etc. which they greedily piled up but did not eat, and they expect the staff to clean up after them. The aunties are practical in continuing to re-plenish the buffet table so as to keep the food fresh, warm and inviting-looking. I thank auntie Alice for " creating " a tasty mini-sesame bun filled with mashed steamed chicken fillet and lettuce.

3) Almost all serviced apartments in Singapore Orchard Road area do not serve breakfast and do not clean rooms at week-end and during public holidays (think this is a policy they have to follow) and this makes it different from hotels. I have asked other serviced apartment outfits and this seems to apply to them too.

4) The Orchard road area is an extremely busy area, and this means very busy and heavy traffic, hence during certain hours it is very difficult to get a taxi at short notice. Singapore has an efficient system for booking a taxi or a limo in advance - at an extra cost - but you are guaranteed that you will not be kept waiting. I learnt that in this busy core Business District city area, taxis are not allowed by law to stop anywhere along the road to pick up passengers. The taxi drivers risk paying a fine when caught by the CCTV cameras along the road. But they can do so outside the core Business District city area. So if you need a taxi for an important purpose like going to the airport, do book a taxi at least a day/night before - this is for your own advantage.

5) Regency House is very well located and is very close to MRTs, shopping complexes and eateries of various types and budget levels. As such, like other outfits in the same area, the rates are high. In any case, Singapore high-end hotels and high-end apartments are expensive. Go try lower-priced outfits and you will learn the difference.

6) I defined and listed my needs before I did my booking, contacted Regency House well in advance to find out how they can meet my requirements, and I am not disappointed. The staff are efficient, very helpful, and friendly - Edward, Ginly, Joyce, Theresa, house-keeper Susan, engineering and security staff, just to name a few, under the leadership of Christina, are a quality team that makes a stay at Regency House a truly enjoyable and memorable experience. I hope to be back to stay soon.

Thank you to the team at Regency House !

Best regards,
Seow

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silverlucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaWLee, Manager at Regency House by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Silverlucky,

Thank you for your excellent review and we are happy to know that Regency House has surpassed your expectations during your recent stay.
We will pass your appreciation to all the staff who have provided exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were on holiday and stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment at Regency House
It was a great apartment, and we were very comfortable.
It had a fully equipped kitchen, cable TV with a wide choice of complimentary channels, and free Wi-Fi.

Staff were simply great – from the manager, reception, housekeeping staff and of course, the breakfast ladies.
They all provided customer service that well exceeded my expectations.

There were nice warm touches throughout our stay – the basket of welcome items and the surprise Christmas cake that were given to us on Christmas Day.
The apples, lollipops, cookies and excellent coffee that was provided at the Lobby is an excellent set-up. We spent a lot of afternoons having a cup of coffee and a cookie and chatting with the friendly staff.

All in all, it has been a wonderful stay and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenTeo0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaWLee, Manager at Regency House by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear StephenTeo0608,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is especially heartening to receive such nice compliments about the staff.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Regards, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Serviced Suites Orchard Singapore
Orchard Road
Orchard Parksuites by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Orchard Point Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency House by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency House by Far East Hospitality

Address: 121 Penang Road, Singapore 238464, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $186 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regency House by Far East Hospitality 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the junction of Penang Road and Oxley Road, Regency House is within minutes by foot from the major shopping malls along Orchard Road. Besides the fine dining options along the famous district, the serviced apartment is a minute's walk from Killiney Road, which offers a wide selection of local and International cuisine.The Istana, which is the Official Residence of the President of Singapore and entertainment hotspots such as the trendy Robertson Quay are also located nearby. The Somerset MRT station close by connects you to the rest of the island, with the Singapore’s Central Business District at Raffles Place just two stops away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Regency House by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency House Hotel Singapore
Regency Hotel Singapore
Regency House By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing