We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Regency House by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #31 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Great service and very welcoming”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We found the staff to be exceptionally helpful and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. The front reception staff gave us great advice on where to visit and also found an extra bed for our 6 year old daughter very quickly for no extra charge. We booked through an agency and our request for an extra bed did not come through but Christina sorted it out very promptly. We found all the staff to be friendly, polite and helful. Our children loved having their pyjamas laid out for them each night and enjoyed the lovely pool and spa. We will definitely stay here again. The matresses on the beds are very firm so this may take a little getting used to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaWLee, Manager at Regency House by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Stephanie2501,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed the comfort and facilities during your recent stay at Regency House and had an enjoyable experience.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Warmest regards, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    43
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
161
4
4
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Have travelled often to and stayed in Singapore for long periods, yet this is my first long stay at Regency House. I am still staying at Regency House as I write this review.

I wish to share the following, in case you are considering booking Regency House for your visit to Singapore:

1) This is a boutique-style "home" (not a big multi-storeyed, multi-roomed hotel with lots of staff) and usually caters to corporate guests ( read: adults, not catering for children) and thus, facilities and furnishings, etc. are more adult-friendly. There are about 88 rooms - of various types. As such they have a small staff to run this outfit like a family-type home. Do think twice if you have small children with you. It might be better to go to a big hotel, pay a bit more and you can get pampered to the hilt - including designer/branded shampoo, soap, etc which you can squirrel away when you check-out. If you still want to book Regency House, may sure you get a reply to confirm they will meet each of your request - be it a baby cot, an extra mattress, a quiet room or even the area in sq m. of the room. Please do give them time - not 2 days before you arrive - to look into your demands or requests and time for them to reply to you.

2) Most guests are long staying and have come to know the staff, and vice-versa - by name. These guests know/learn to clear their breakfast things to a side-table close to the kitchen, and they know the 2 "aunties" who manage the breakfast service really appreciate this DIY house spirit. I find it a rather homely and friendly give-and-take thing. The staff - from house-keeping, reception, and kitchen - are very friendly and if you communicate well in advance (and not at short notice) your requests, they will consider it done. I did notice some guests making a mess of the table they occupied, ate their breakfast and left, leaving behind dirty plates, etc including lots of toasted bread, fruits, etc. which they greedily piled up but did not eat, and they expect the staff to clean up after them. The aunties are practical in continuing to re-plenish the buffet table so as to keep the food fresh, warm and inviting-looking. I thank auntie Alice for " creating " a tasty mini-sesame bun filled with mashed steamed chicken fillet and lettuce.

3) Almost all serviced apartments in Singapore Orchard Road area do not serve breakfast and do not clean rooms at week-end and during public holidays (think this is a policy they have to follow) and this makes it different from hotels. I have asked other serviced apartment outfits and this seems to apply to them too.

4) The Orchard road area is an extremely busy area, and this means very busy and heavy traffic, hence during certain hours it is very difficult to get a taxi at short notice. Singapore has an efficient system for booking a taxi or a limo in advance - at an extra cost - but you are guaranteed that you will not be kept waiting. I learnt that in this busy core Business District city area, taxis are not allowed by law to stop anywhere along the road to pick up passengers. The taxi drivers risk paying a fine when caught by the CCTV cameras along the road. But they can do so outside the core Business District city area. So if you need a taxi for an important purpose like going to the airport, do book a taxi at least a day/night before - this is for your own advantage.

5) Regency House is very well located and is very close to MRTs, shopping complexes and eateries of various types and budget levels. As such, like other outfits in the same area, the rates are high. In any case, Singapore high-end hotels and high-end apartments are expensive. Go try lower-priced outfits and you will learn the difference.

6) I defined and listed my needs before I did my booking, contacted Regency House well in advance to find out how they can meet my requirements, and I am not disappointed. The staff are efficient, very helpful, and friendly - Edward, Ginly, Joyce, Theresa, house-keeper Susan, engineering and security staff, just to name a few, under the leadership of Christina, are a quality team that makes a stay at Regency House a truly enjoyable and memorable experience. I hope to be back to stay soon.

Thank you to the team at Regency House !

Best regards,
Seow

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silverlucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaWLee, Manager at Regency House by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Silverlucky,

Thank you for your excellent review and we are happy to know that Regency House has surpassed your expectations during your recent stay.
We will pass your appreciation to all the staff who have provided exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were on holiday and stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment at Regency House
It was a great apartment, and we were very comfortable.
It had a fully equipped kitchen, cable TV with a wide choice of complimentary channels, and free Wi-Fi.

Staff were simply great – from the manager, reception, housekeeping staff and of course, the breakfast ladies.
They all provided customer service that well exceeded my expectations.

There were nice warm touches throughout our stay – the basket of welcome items and the surprise Christmas cake that were given to us on Christmas Day.
The apples, lollipops, cookies and excellent coffee that was provided at the Lobby is an excellent set-up. We spent a lot of afternoons having a cup of coffee and a cookie and chatting with the friendly staff.

All in all, it has been a wonderful stay and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenTeo0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaWLee, Manager at Regency House by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear StephenTeo0608,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is especially heartening to receive such nice compliments about the staff.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Regards, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2013

we spent two weeks in Regency House and I can say this place is very nice. the location is very good close to MRT station and Plaza Singapora . The quality and friendliness of the staff simply cannot be overstated. we really enjoyed staying.

Room Tip: room side is small
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obaid600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaWLee, Manager at Regency House by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Obaid600,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review to compliment Regency House and the staff.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

After all those wonderful comments on tripadvisor we decided to stay in the Regency house for one week (me, my husband and our three small children). On their website I found a two bedroom appt plan and it looked like it was a big appartment, with two bathrooms and spacious bedrooms. I contacted the regency house asking them in advance to prepare a babycot for my little son because we would be arriving in the middle of the night and I wanted everything to be ready. On the arrival to the hotel, the check in was very quick (they were waiting for us). But there was no babycot, and apparently it was not possible to have it so late. Fortunately we took our own babycot with us so my son could have his own bed. The other problem was to find a place for it: the both bedrooms were so tiny that there were barely a little place to put the babycot, not at all the place where I would have put it normally, just next to the door. There was only one tiniest bathroom in our appartment, very small even for two people, let alone 5 (2-3 sq.m). The shower cabin had only one fixed to the wall shower, which is not convinient with small children. There was a small shelf to put a shower gel, bit so small that we could not use it at all. We had to put all out washing stuff in the floor.
On their website it's noted that the appartments do not have the same floor plan, but if they put a plan with two bathrooms and a big bedroom, so this, at least, must correspond, because my choice was based on this plan.
The kitchen was nice and very well equipped, but only for 4 pers. we always were missing a glass or a spoon.... But there was a microwave, a big fridge and a washing machine.
The room was very noisy! From outside, because it gives on a busy Penang road and the windows and not isolated at all. From the corridor, because the door is very thin. And even from upstairs!
The breakfast was a disaster. The tiny little room with just maybe 10 tables, on certain days people were queueing to have a place. There was not enough of food and choice is very limited. Every time the women who prepared food brought a new plate everyone was rushing to take some food. There was always something missing and people had to wait. Those poor kitchen women were so busy washing and preparing and bringing food that thay did not even have time to clean the tables. I saw people cleaning a table for them, because otherwise they had to wait long until it is cleaned. Unfortunately our breakfast was included in the price, otherwise I would have bought my own food and had a breakfast in our room.
They do not clean the rooms and do not serve the breakfast on weekend and public holidays. Not convenient for a short stay. As well, they do not provide shampoo and bath gel, only once on arrival. We normally do not take it with us as every hotel provides it.
The TV had just a few channels, not all they claim to provide.
The good thing about this hotel is its location. Next to a metro station, which connects three lines. Easy to get everywhere in the city. The same about the buses. Actually, you can walk anywhere from the hotel. Orchard road is just 2min away.
There is also a park just next to the hotel.
The personnel is very nice and polite, but helpless. We asked to book a taxi on the day of our departure, and it was not done. The receptionist went on the street to catch a taxi for us and there was no taxi available.... Quite a stressful 10 min until we finally found a taxi to get to the airport.
Well, it's probably a good place for a long stay, when you have everything you need with you, but not for a short stay. It's very expensive for what it is. And noisy! I am pretty sure I could have found a better appartment in Singapore for the same price that we had paid.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Glandois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaWLee, Manager at Regency House by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Glandois
Thank you for your feedback.
I am sorry to hear of your experience during your recent stay at Regency House.
The website provides an indication of the type of apartments available at Regency House. It is one of the many 2 bedroom apartments that we offer. Whilst it is unfortunate that the apartment that you had was not up to your expectation, perhaps you should have indicated your preference in the reservation form. We would have tried to accommodate your request.
Regency House is a Serviced Residence, and the services provided differ from that of a hotel. However we will do our best to accommodate any additional services requested.
We have in total 63 complimentary channels for our guests’ viewing. A list of the available channels is provided in each apt. Had you needed any assistance accessing these channels, we would have provided you with the help needed.
We have taken note of your comments on the breakfast service and we will monitor the situation and look at ways in improving the breakfast experience for all our guests.
We are also pleased to inform you that Regency House will be embarking on a project to soundproof all apartments facing Penang Road during the later part of this year.
Lastly, we apologize for the wait for the taxi. My front office staff had suggested to you to book in advance for the taxi but this was refused. As a result of this, we had to call for one; this obviously required a longer waiting time as it is dependent on other factors out of our control such as the immediate availability of taxis in the area and the weather, which happened to be raining very heavily that evening.
We hope that we will have another opportunity to make your next stay experience a better one in the future. You can write me at christinalee@fareast.com.sg if you have any further queries. We look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and Happy New Year.
Regards, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
2 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I spent 9 months as an expat living in Regency House and I can honestly say this place is like a home away from home. While the location and facilities are certainly enough to warrant a booking. The quality and friendliness of the staff simply cannot be overstated. From the manager all the way down to the cleaning staff and the man at the door. Everyone is friendly, approachable, and eager to provide top notch service.

Room Tip: Extra bedrooms are a little small but fine for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arlov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaWLee, Manager at Regency House by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Arlov,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is especially heartening to receive such nice compliments about the staff.

Once again, thanks for your feedback and it will be a pleasure to have you back with us again.

Regards, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Spent one week on holiday with the family in a 3 bedroom apartment. The apartment was spacious and it had all the necessary for a comfortable stay. Breakfast was included and although simple, it was adequate to start off the day. Location is perfect with 2 major MRT stations just a few minutes walk away. However it is the staff that makes the place. They are simply wonderful and we have never been served by a nicer group of staff. We had a lovely Christmas party on our last day and we really enjoyed the food, drink and entertainment. Wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 311sue70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaWLee, Manager at Regency House by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear 311sue70,

Thank you for your compliments.

It was a great pleasure having you with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back at Regency House.

Regards, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Concorde Hotel Singapore
Concorde Hotel Singapore
#76 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Serviced Suites Orchard Singapore
Orchard Road
Orchard Parksuites by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Lanson Place Winsland
Lanson Place Winsland
#64 of 225 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency House by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency House by Far East Hospitality

Property: Regency House by Far East Hospitality
Address: 121 Penang Road, Singapore 238464, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regency House by Far East Hospitality 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the junction of Penang Road and Oxley Road, Regency House is within minutes by foot from the major shopping malls along Orchard Road. Besides the fine dining options along the famous district, the serviced apartment is a minute's walk from Killiney Road, which offers a wide selection of local and International cuisine.The Istana, which is the Official Residence of the President of Singapore and entertainment hotspots such as the trendy Robertson Quay are also located nearby. The Somerset MRT station close by connects you to the rest of the island, with the Singapore’s Central Business District at Raffles Place just two stops away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regency House by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency House Hotel Singapore
Regency Hotel Singapore
Regency House By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing