We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convinient Location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Penta Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Penta Hotel to your Saves list
Penta Hotel
33 Birch Road, Singapore 219894 , Singapore (Rochor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convinient Location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have stayed many times at Penta Hotel in Singapore, on 33 Birch Road. Its a very convenient location, walking distance to the Farrer Park MRT, Angullia Mosque, Mustaphas Mall and many Indian restaurants around, etc. The staff could be more friendly. Nancy who is a very senior Manageress is very helpful........to tell us how to get about etc. Rooms are small, but value for money, as in Singapore everything is expensive. Linen are been changed everyday, and the toilets are cleaned daily. I have always had a Pleasant Stay here.

Room Tip: Would recommend to avoid the Ground Floor as its very noisy on Sunday Evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mohamed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hi I stayed here for half a day. I had waiting time of 12 hrs during my visit to New Zealand. I got my transit visa and went out to roam around Singapore.

I requested Taxi guy to take me to Little India and drop me at decent hotel. He dropped me here.

Hotel is good, very nice for medium budget. It is located closure to shopping place like Mustafa (where you get everything).

Staff could be more friendly, but I do understand that he had some problems that day.

This hotel is okay when you see the budget at good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamaMohanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Walking distance from Ferrer Road MRT, crowded Little India and 24 hour Mustafa Shopping Centre. It's a pure no frills hotel, however rooms are clean, washroom is appropriate.
There is one receptionist to handle all customer queries/ grievances and let's just say she is mediocre in displacing her duties..
Excellent location for Indian Pure Vegetarians as there are lots Indian restaurants/cafes nearby also selling India delicacies.
Appropriate for budget & solo travelers but a bad choice for a romantic/family vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rohit28788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Delhi
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Penta Hotel is located in Birch Road, Singapore and is a good hotel very close to Little India This is a good hotel for Budget travellers and it is also very close to MRT station as well., There are few indian restaurants close to this Hotel and you can get good Indian food. Overall an OK place to stay in Singapore when travelling on Budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prabhatkatyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

i stayed here with my family for 3 days in singapore, the stay was very comfortable.it had all the commodities needed....the room and toilets were clean and well maintained....the location was also good as lots of small shops and eateries were around....would stay there again..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAK444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed at this place with my wife for a couple of days. I have visited Singapore more than 30 times and let me tell you that this hotel is mostly frequented by Couriers who take stuff from here to back home for selling it in the grey market. Its a hotel with no service at all. There is a single receptionist to handle everybody. The place is right in the middle of down town little India. So there is no charm for people staying here of being in a foreign land.Its worst than being in karol bagh or a dirty slum in South Indian on Week ends. So take my advise and don't stay here if you are on family, romantic vacation. Only for people who want Indian food when being out of India. May be you understand my point.,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaurav_Noir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed in a Family room. It has one double bed and one single bed. The hotel and rooms are clean. This is a great value if all you need is a clean place to sleep at night. The rooms are small but that is the case with Singapore hotels in general.

I tried booking hotels online. For two adults and 2 children, very few hotels would come close to the price of Penta. Some wanted me to book two rooms because one room would exceed the capacity.

This hotel is not available for booking on popular booking sites like Expedia or booking.com. I guess that helpls keep them the cost down because they don't have to pay brokerage to these sites.

Another plus is its closenes to the Farrer Park MRT - which is a 2-3 mins walk. The restaurants in Little India, the taxi stand in front of the Serangoon Plaza, Mustafa are a few minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pankaj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Hotel 81 Dickson
Hotel 81 Dickson
#169 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 967 reviews
Little India
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
#94 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,880 reviews
Little India
Broadway Hotel Singapore
Broadway Hotel Singapore
#206 of 305 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#176 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Classique Hotel
#194 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#83 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penta Hotel

Address: 33 Birch Road, Singapore 219894, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Penta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penta Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing