We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Decent hotel for your money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Penta Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penta Hotel
Ranked #215 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Decent hotel for your money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hi I stayed here for half a day. I had waiting time of 12 hrs during my visit to New Zealand. I got my transit visa and went out to roam around Singapore.

I requested Taxi guy to take me to Little India and drop me at decent hotel. He dropped me here.

Hotel is good, very nice for medium budget. It is located closure to shopping place like Mustafa (where you get everything).

Staff could be more friendly, but I do understand that he had some problems that day.

This hotel is okay when you see the budget at good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamaMohanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    18
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
6
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surat, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Walking distance from Ferrer Road MRT, crowded Little India and 24 hour Mustafa Shopping Centre. It's a pure no frills hotel, however rooms are clean, washroom is appropriate.
There is one receptionist to handle all customer queries/ grievances and let's just say she is mediocre in displacing her duties..
Excellent location for Indian Pure Vegetarians as there are lots Indian restaurants/cafes nearby also selling India delicacies.
Appropriate for budget & solo travelers but a bad choice for a romantic/family vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rohit28788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Delhi
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Penta Hotel is located in Birch Road, Singapore and is a good hotel very close to Little India This is a good hotel for Budget travellers and it is also very close to MRT station as well., There are few indian restaurants close to this Hotel and you can get good Indian food. Overall an OK place to stay in Singapore when travelling on Budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prabhatkatyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

i stayed here with my family for 3 days in singapore, the stay was very comfortable.it had all the commodities needed....the room and toilets were clean and well maintained....the location was also good as lots of small shops and eateries were around....would stay there again..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAK444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed at this place with my wife for a couple of days. I have visited Singapore more than 30 times and let me tell you that this hotel is mostly frequented by Couriers who take stuff from here to back home for selling it in the grey market. Its a hotel with no service at all. There is a single receptionist to handle everybody. The place is right in the middle of down town little India. So there is no charm for people staying here of being in a foreign land.Its worst than being in karol bagh or a dirty slum in South Indian on Week ends. So take my advise and don't stay here if you are on family, romantic vacation. Only for people who want Indian food when being out of India. May be you understand my point.,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaurav_Noir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed in a Family room. It has one double bed and one single bed. The hotel and rooms are clean. This is a great value if all you need is a clean place to sleep at night. The rooms are small but that is the case with Singapore hotels in general.

I tried booking hotels online. For two adults and 2 children, very few hotels would come close to the price of Penta. Some wanted me to book two rooms because one room would exceed the capacity.

This hotel is not available for booking on popular booking sites like Expedia or booking.com. I guess that helpls keep them the cost down because they don't have to pay brokerage to these sites.

Another plus is its closenes to the Farrer Park MRT - which is a 2-3 mins walk. The restaurants in Little India, the taxi stand in front of the Serangoon Plaza, Mustafa are a few minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pankaj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our trip to Singapore - 6N & 7Days. Stay at this hotel was really good, strongly recommend for those who trip to Singapore as tourist and not planning to stay at the hotel for long time.

I basically look for bed and toilets to be clean in tourist places, both are very well maintained by the room service staff here. Every day, I was leaving the hotel 8am and reaching back for sleep around 10-11pm so it was perfectly meeting my expectations.

Staff at the reception were very friendly and helpful.

It is very close to MRT, Bus, Taxi and Indian Rests. Looking forwarad to stay again:).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srinivasan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Classique Hotel
#214 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Little India
Broadway Hotel Singapore
Broadway Hotel Singapore
#213 of 305 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#192 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#113 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Asphodel Inn Singapore
#228 of 305 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Fortuna Hotel
#254 of 305 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penta Hotel

Property: Penta Hotel
Address: 33 Birch Road, Singapore 219894 , Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Penta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penta Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing