We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Amazing Singapore street food tour

Did the Chinatown Food Tour with Ai Lian who was very friendly, knowledgeable and a great tour... read more

Reviewed May 10, 2019
blighni
,
Newcastle, Australia
via mobile
China Town - Fantastic Afternoon with Ai Lian

Met our guide Ai Lian at the MRT and discovered we were the only two people on the tour so had a... read more

Reviewed December 26, 2018
Graham H
,
East Preston, United Kingdom
Read all 111 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Singapore
from $82.00
More Info
from $112.04
More Info
from $52.29
More Info
from $31.09
More Info
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
97
9
2
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
97
9
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kampong glam curry noodles food stops wonderful guide pandan cake city gallery popiah food culture cultural sites sugar cane juice hawkers markets maxwell hawker centre arab quarter lian history insight pace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 111 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2018 via mobile

We booked this tour to visit Kampong Glam and our guide was Ai Lin. The best tour guide we have had. She was very knowledgeable about the history of singapore and the area and also about the food culture. It was a walking tour and we experienced a few dishes, visited the local visitor centre and historical shops anf temples in the arab quarter highly recommen this tour. Geraldine

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank Geraldine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2018

We were only in Singapore for a short time, so wanted to make the most of the food with a guide to show us a mix of different things – this tour did all this and more for us, and is one of the best tours we’ve ever done. It turned out that we were the only ones to have booked that particular tour, so we got a private tour with Ai for the afternoon. She was really friendly and enthusiastic, and we didn’t realise when we booked that we’d actually get a cultural tour alongside the food which was a pleasant surprise. With each of the food stops, Ai would find us a table and then disappear for a few minutes, returning with a range of food for us to try. We started at the Maxwell Food Centre with some Hainanese chicken and rice with some sugar cane juice – the chicken was beautiful but the juice a little too sweet for me! From here we went to the City Gallery, where Ai walked us through the history of Singapore and plans for the future over a scale model of the country which was fascinating. The next food stop was a range of vendors above a food market, where we tried popiah (kind of spring rolls), ice katcha, and carrot cake (which was actually radish). The last of these was particularly surprising, as we would actively have avoided radishes but it was delicious. Back to culture, we went round the Buddhist tooth relic temple, stopped at a Traditional Chinese Medicine shop, a quick stop outside the Sri Mariamann temple, before going up to top floor of a block of public housing which gave some lovely views over the city. Lastly we tried the Michelin star curry noodles, which were just amazing, and Ai even bought a pandan cake for an extra tasting at the end which was lovely. Overall I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this tour to anyone, and would especially recommend doing a private tour with Ai if you can as it was a lot of fun (in fact my parents did just that when they went to Singapore after us!).

Date of experience: October 2017
5  Thank adamathompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018

Arthur Ang was truly awesome. If you sign up with a food tour with Arthur you will not be disappointed. You will get to really have a taste for Chinese, Malay and Indian style foods. He extends the tour to 5-6 hours because you can't do this topic justice in just three hours. He goes at a pace that is comfortable. Even though we were exhausted from a tour the previous day, Arthur made this work for us.
He sticks to a mutually agreed upon basic itinerary that he shares with you at the beginning of the tour. There were ten foods we were going to make sure to sample and we got to them all. On top of that Arthur knows so much more than food and has a very easy way of sharing his knowledge and his life. Give him a try as your tour guide and you will see what we are talking about.

Date of experience: March 2018
3  Thank lukelundemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2018

The Kampong Glam Food Tour takes you through the Arab quarter of Singapore, eating and learning all about the history and culture of the area. Our guide Ai Lian was wonderful and very knowledgeable about the history and architecture of the area. We tasted a Persian mutton filled flat bread for breakfast, some Malaysian curries for lunch and sweet tea and glutinous rice desserts to finish. We went to the mosque, the Malaysian museum, a perfumery and an art deco building to name just a few stops. Highly recommend this tour to those new to Singapore.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank PerthLizzy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2018

I had the chance to go on 2 tours with Leo, one was a SG heritage tour, combined with food. He took us to eat like locals an try all sorts of delicious food! He was also very attentive to cater for my needs (I'm vegetarian), and he shared his passion and knowledge about SG with enthusiasm and charisma.
His tours made a huge difference in my trip to SG, since I only had a couple of days, but I felt that I experienced and learned so much thanks to Leo. Highly recommended!!!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Paola V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews