We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backpacker Cozy Corner GuestHouse
Ranked #156 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Its very budget hostel and provides value for money. I stayed during Aug 2009 for 2 Nights and it was worth it. Though they are very punctual in timing for check-out, however you can keep your luggage at Reception and it is completely safe.

Rooms basically sharing bed accommodation are very dark without any natural light option. And due to which on last day i got up very late and my plan was hampered, however no complaints as it was my mistake on not waking up on time on alarm.

Internet was free however only 3 PC were available so you need to manage among it. The location is very nice and convenient. Get down from MRT and you will head to the hostel. Also since its located in centre... market and other places is also very near with walkable distance.

P.S: Since drop down doesnt have a option to Select Aug 2009, i am selecting traveling date as April 2011.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NihitJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 125 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

we stayed here for 1 night, the room was clean, a/c was working, breakfast consisted of toast, jam, margarine, coffee, and tea. shared bathrooms so bring shower slippers! they advertise free wifi but for some reason none of the staff know what the password is, so we just ended up using one of the 3 communal pc's. pretty ok overall.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deanv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We surfed on the internet and found this hostel which is considerably cheaper than other hostels. It is also a easy-to-find hostel where only 5mins walk from Bugis station with a lot of food stalls and shopping malls around. However, it's the end of the good news.

We met some friends from Singapore and they brought us to the hostel. When we'd like to check-in to the reception, the lady staff asked us rudely if we had paid the 1st night deposit. We said we had paid but she didn't seem to get it and asked us "i ask again if you had paid or not." (N.B. I travelled a few English-speaking places and had never encountered this problem before). I felt that I was suspected that I skipped the deposit and lied.

When we planned to leave just after putting in our luggage in the room, she was like commanding my friends to wait and sit in front of the reception ONLY (by the word she stressed), not even standing up. And said "Here's a lot of CCTVs checking on you"

We stayed 2 nights in double room but both nights were horrible. The bed sheet and pillow cases were not clean at all and we could still find some hairs attached. The blankets were not clean either so we ended up using bathing towels instead. Still, we were sleeping sweating throughout the nights because the A/C was not working properly, it spewed out hot air instead of cool air even though we'd set it to 18˚C. On the first night stay, it rained in the evening throughout the night, and water was dripping everywhere from the water pipes that goes through the room (as shown in pics). We couldn't sleep at all because the bed was wet and the air in the room was very humid. It was not even dried by the time we check-out (same time as the pics taken).

The pantry was located at the first floor and next to the toilets and bathrooms so we can see ppl wrapped with towel when we were eating toast.

Room Tip: Any other room than Room No.35 double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhlnalgri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights before our trip to Kuala Lumpur... The location is perfect... Just across the Bugis Junction mall.. Hawkers are everywhere.. Near the.MRT (Bugis) ... Helpful staff, breakfast was good enough... Rooms are small but it is ok if you are a couple.. Noises are everywhere (People talking outside and Slamming of the doors) .. It bothers me... Blankets sucks... Must bring your own... No wifi access...

If you're on a tight budget, I recommend this... Just appreciate everything and you'll have a pleasurable stay.. =]

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Well, after all it's a hostel so you shouldn't really expect much from it! just good for those young travelers on budget staying for not more than 3 nights. The location is quite good being close to an MRT station and in the center of the city. It's SUPER noisy so don't expect to spend lovely nights!! the toilets and shower rooms are not clean! and lastly the staff is just not willing to lift a finger to help! they would barely even bother to pay attention to what you are saying let alone answer your questions!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adventurelover32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed in this place for several nights while visiting Singapore. It is located in a busy part of town near Bugis Junction MRT. Our party was a family with small children and it is not common that backpacker hostels allow children, but these people were very accommodating. I booked two rooms, which on the second day was changed to two other rooms which were more suitable. I found that the rooms were quite small, and the ones facing the street is quite noisy. The walls are quite thin also, so the rooms are never perfectly quiet. One night, at 2am I had to ask one of the guests to keep his voice down while he was loudly speaking on his phone. This of course is not the fault of the establishment.
They offer internet on 3 public computers, and self service breakfast consisting of coffee and toast. We did not use but choose to eat at a place downstairs. Bathrooms are shared by everyone.This place may not be suitable for families travelling same way as us, but we found it sufficient, and stayed again here 3 weeks later for 2 nights while on our way home. The staff was friendly and helpfull and there was nothing specifically wrong with the place, but it is also not outstanding. It is more suitable for solo travellers I guess.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank msjvanrooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Air conditions room?really?what aircon?my gf & I stayed for 3 nights during our stay the "air condition" which only goes up to 18degrees didn't do it's job we even left it on during the whole stay but still failed to cool down the room!the bed sheets were very dirty too!was itching throughout & used lots of antibacterial spray!plus the breakfast area is by the toilets, don't be surprised if you see people brushing their teeth, phlegming their throats out right next to your table & hearing people havin a shower & disposing their human wastes!!!!!the only good thing about this place is the location!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve_chao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel 81-Bugis
#238 of 319 in Singapore
223 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Adamson Inn
Adamson Inn
#9 of 82 in Singapore
61 reviews
Kampong Glam
Hotel NuVe
Hotel NuVe
#3 of 82 in Singapore
256 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#37 of 319 in Singapore
23,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker Cozy Corner GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker Cozy Corner GuestHouse

Address: 490 North Bridge Road | 2nd Floor, Singapore 188736, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $39 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Backpacker Cozy Corner GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker Cozy Corner Guesthouse Hotel Singapore
Backpacker Cozy Corner GuestHouse Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing