We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget hotel to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Grand Hotel West Coast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel West Coast
Ranked #211 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Budget hotel to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very good hotel with very friendly staff. Easy access to public transport. Small room but clean and tidy. Happy to recommend someone who is looking budget hotel.Fine eatery around hotel which are open till late night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhanish_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for recommending us. We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided a prompt and attentives service that made your stay memorable. We will also gladly share your positive feedback along to the team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    60
    57
    22
    12
See reviews for
14
17
24
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Not much space in room and street noise. But for the rate, it is good value.

The receptionists were friendly but not helpful. Got my departure date mixed up and I have to vacate my room one day earlier and move to another Santa Grand property

Room Tip: It is great value, small room with all amenities at a good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skohsoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time write us a review and noted some positive point about Santa Grand Hotel West Coast. We recognize some of the hotel rooms are small while we do have larger rooms available. If a spacious room is a guest’s preference, we will try our best to accede to their request and we would be pleased to recommend the room types for our customers.

We deeply apologize for posted incorrect departure date, which affected your booking and being transferred to an alternative hotel. We have since counseled our staff on better customer service and we shall continue to strive for better service level.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your continued patronage.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have stayed here three times over the last year while visiting NUS to work with scientists and students. The room is quite small, but location to NUS is very very good. The closest subway station is a half an hour walk and there isn't much to do by the hotel except for maybe Holland Village.

The breakfast service is very minimal - some pastries, toast, and rice crispies with two choices in fruit. Definitely do not come here hungry!

If you are just here to sleep it's really not bad, but if this is a jumping ground to explore Singapore I would reconsider.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and noted some positive point about Santa Grand Hotel West Coast.

Indeed, Santa Grand Hotel West Coast caters mostly to corporate guests and visitors to the universities and hospital located in the western part of Singapore. Whilst the location is good for some guests who want to stay nearby universities, for travellers who prefer a more centrally located city area, we do have other Santa Grand hotels in our chain like Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen at Chinatown or Santa Grand Hotel Bugis to meet the diverse need of customers.

As regards the breakfast, we serve simple continental breakfast to cater to a wide preference of our guests. However, this is generally quite accepted to guests who can also have the option of eating outside and have a taste of local Singapore hawker fare.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to having you back with us soon.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Comparing Santa Grand West Coast against its nearest competitors, I would say it wins hands down. For a business trip, it would be the better accommodation. Once you are a regular the hospitality does make you feel like at home.
Room wise, they have refurbished, and thus a bit better than before. The same with the breakfast area which have been expanded. Breakfast laso has been modified to make it more like home and "dry".
For me it's the preferred accommodation west of the city, since there's none in Jurong.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MohamedMIQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and pleased that our hotel corresponded to our signature- "Local Hospitality with a Personal Touch". Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to your return soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Santa Grand has simple small rooms that have just enough space to open a suitcase and to squeeze a small desk in the corner. All amenities are new and there's nothing to complain about in this regard. The toilet is not separate from the shower and one has to be fine with a wet floor after the shower. The location is very good - there a a bunch of budget restaurants and a 7 Eleven around the corner and the bus stop is right in front. The wireless is free and functions pretty well (too week though to support skype).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oesn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank your for your review! We are delighted to know that you have an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. We are glad that our wireless connection is working well, we will keep improving our wireless system in order to serve our customers better.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to have you back with us soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Overall, I do not recommend the Santa Grand West Coast. This is why:

The location is within 50 meters of a 7-11 and several restaurants. The wireless internet service worked well. The breakfast is basic, consisting of bread, rolls, boiled eggs, some fruit, cold cereal, coffee and tea. The air conditioning worked fine. There is a compact hairdryer in the room. The rooms provide a small wardrobe closet with safe and mini-fridge, a small desk, and a small uncomfortable wooden stool to sit upon. No alarm clock or radio is in the room, however there is a LCD panel TV on the wall. The nearest MRT is Haw Par Villa, about 4 bus stops away on Pasir Panjang Road.

The default rooms are on the interior of the building and are small, dark and gloomy. However, they will “upgrade” you to slightly-less-gloomy (and sometimes slightly larger) room with a window for S$11 per night. For your S$11 you are rewarded (as of December 2012 / January 2013) with a view of the construction outside complete with porta-potty (porta loo), and the melodious sound of jack-hammers.

My impression of the daytime front desk staff might be described as indifferent to slightly irritable, i.e. going through the motions and doing her job like anyone else. In sum, there are no really major issues with the hotel, staff, rooms or location. However, you can find better value at other locations (even within the Santa Grand chain there are better options) unless you absolutely have to stay in this exact NUS / NUH / West Coast neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PecosJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and noted some positive point about Santa Grand Hotel West Coast.

We appreciate your feedback about our service standard, we recognize that their service can be improved and we have since counselled all the frontline employees to focus on improving their services. As regards government construction project in front of our hotel, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused and this government project will be completed soon.

We agree that Santa Grand Hotel West Coast caters mostly to corporate guests and visitors to the universities and hospital located in the western part of Singapore. Whilst the location is good for some guests who want to stay nearby universities, for travellers who prefer a more centrally located city area, we do have other Santa Grand hotels in our chain like Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen at Chinatown or Santa Grand Hotel Bugis to meet the diverse need of customers.

Once again, thank you for your comment and we hope to have a chance to host you again.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

For a median-priced hotel, it was really clean and nice. The staff were super friendly and helpful. They gave me recommendations on food places around the area and their smiles never ceased. This is best for solo traveler or a couple. Maybe not for a big family since the room wasn't so spacious. The only thing I'd like to be improved is the toilet -- It would be better if the toilet bowl has a separate area of its own since with the current layout, it sits right beside the shower which makes it wet as well as the floor. The Santa Grand East Coast toilet layout is better. And oh, the breakfast they offer is not much --- just bread, butter and fruits.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misheki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank your for your compliments! Indeed, Santa Grand Hotel West Coast is easily accessible with the public transport, hospitals, and universities just a stone throw away. It is a perfect hotel for the business travellers and universities visitors. We are glad to know that you have an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback about the shower, we will look into it and make improvement. Thank you for highlighting this matter to us.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to have you back with us soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Singapore
0.0 mi away
Fragrance Hotel - Ocean View
Fragrance Hotel - Ocean View
#294 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fragrance Hotel - Waterfront
Fragrance Hotel - Waterfront
#297 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Avenue Rochester Hotel
Park Avenue Rochester Hotel
#80 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Arena Country Club
Arena Country Club
#227 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
3.4 mi away
Genting Hotel Jurong
Genting Hotel Jurong
#1 of 1 in Jurong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citadines Fusionopolis Singapore
Citadines Fusionopolis Singapore
#213 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel West Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel West Coast

Property: Santa Grand Hotel West Coast
Address: 428 Pasir Panjang Road Santa Grand Hotel West Coast, Singapore 118769, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel West Coast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Grand Hotel West Coast is located in the western part of Singapore, with the National University of Singapore (NUS) and National University Hospital (NUH) in close proximity. The five-storey building features elegant rooms and is also adjacent to the business and technology hubs of One-North and International Business Park. Guests will enjoy a warm stay because all sensory details have been carefully refined to be just right. As with all the touches, from the positioning of the high speed network link to the modern amenities, guest will feel thoroughly at home. Santa Grand Hotel West Coast caters mostly to corporate clients with offices located in the western part of Singapore. These include NUS, NUH, NTU and companies involved in the construction, oil refining, shipping & marine industries. It is primarily a corporate hotel suitable for visiting professors, foreign students or family member, senior level executives and those visiting NUH - overseas patients & family members, corporate companies - foreign expatriates on attachment or temporary lodging till they move to permanent accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel West Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Singapore
Santa Grand Hotel West Coast Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing