We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Santa Grand Hotel West Coast
Nearby Hotels
$258
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$186
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$143
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$271
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$240
$202
Fullerton Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$227
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$353
$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$134
$92
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
$297
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
$529
$312
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
18
63
63
24
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
63
63
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational university of singaporeentire bathroomnasi lemakdays staybusiness tripbudget hotelconvenience storeair conditioningdryerlaundry
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 181 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

If you're looking for a cheap hotel near NUs which is perfectly no-nonsense yet provides very efficient service, I'd recommend Santa Grand, it is just off clementi road and has a good number of cheap restaurants next to it offering a variety of cuisines. The bus stop is just a stone throws away and Clementi, the nearest MRt station is a very convenient Bus No. 183 away!
The rooms are clean and well equipped, though not the most spacious. There is a very simple yet good free breakfast also available. The service is friendly too.
My only complaint is the lack of toiletries, there is no soap or shampoo- just 4 bottles of something whih is a 'hand AND body wash'!

Room Tip: Do remember to ask for a room with a window or you'll get a room with curtains that you pull open with the anticipation of a window onto the street and face a solid wall!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jasmine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, thank you for your patronage at Santa Grand Hotel West Coast.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. At the Santa Grand Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay.

We appreciate your feedback about the toiletries, we will make the improvements on toiletries soon. We shall continue to strive for better customer service.

Thank you again for your feedback and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We really look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I stayed at the Santa Grand when visiting the National University of Singapore during January 2012 - across Chinese New Year.

Reading some of the reviews on here, I feared the worse, but I didn't think it bad at all. In Europe it would easily pass as a 3* hotel. It wasn't cheap - $143++ per night normally, with a $20 or so surcharge for Chinese New Year, and I haven't really compared it for value for money with other places.

The good:

* the place is very clean, and my room was well-serviced each day
* the room was well-appointed, with most of the amenities you'd expect in a 4* hotel
* free wi-fi, worked well
* good bus service right outside the door, if you want the bus - 5 mins journey to the MRT
* 24-hour reception desk (I think)
* good-sized 7-11 nearby (not the tiny one right outside; go around the corner), and some local restauants, if that's your style (not mine).

Neutral:
* the hotel is well-located for NUS, or presumably for other West Coast business places; otherwise rather out of the way
* breakfast was just about adequate
* the room wasn't large, but I've stayed in smaller places

Bad:
* there was a certain 'cheap' feel about the check in/out process (only condescendingly not charging for early check-in, suggesting I leave the card-key at reception when going out, to avoid a $30 lost card charge, having the maid check the room before I could check out?!)
* noisy fridge in my room
* 'wet room' bathroom - difficult to avoid wet feet after shower; drain gurgled constantly (tip: put two towels over it to muffle the sound)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doc_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

If you want to stay in a 1 star hotel but pay 4 star prices, then this hotel is for you

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FriendlyLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a total of 4 nights. The first night we stayed there we were in a very small room. On our return the room was a little bigger and that was better. It had a small table and little stool, TV, and small fridge, kettle, hair drier. We stayed in room 205 - which is on a corner. It is a very handy hotel to the University. To get to the city you have to catch a bus to get to the MRT train/tube station. Buses go all the time from right out of the front of the hotel and the tubes/trains go every 3 mins. Its an excellent transport system. The hotel is very clean and the room is made up every day. The rooms have lots of TV stations and a little fridge and two free water bottles every day! The breakfast is pretty limited to boiled eggs and toast, oranges or apples, average coffee, and sweet bread/buns. The hotel is quiet and the beds quite hard but we slept well every night. Good aircon too!

Room Tip: go for a corner room if you can they tend to be bigger.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Koalakaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I booked 3 night hotel via booking.com for SGD140 pernight. Once book they already charge one night from my credit card. And there is penalty if we want a early check in. Room was too small, just enough to walk around. Although is it quite clean with full amenities, kettle, hair dryer and etc, but one thing is not comfortable for me is their mattress which is to hard like sleeping on wooden bed. The rest is OK. Location wise ok and very near to NUS, groceries and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zairol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews