We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White expat trap - not authentic and overpriced”

Longtail Asian Brasserie & Bar
Ranked #1,277 of 10,798 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: Asian, Burmese, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Marina Bay
Description: Longtail is an contemporary european style Brasserie with SE Asian Street Flavours and in the hearth of Marina Bay
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
1,066 reviews
857 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,115 helpful votes
“White expat trap - not authentic and overpriced”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

One would never go to a pan-European restaurant serving French, Italian and Spanish food in search of a gastronomic experience. Similarly, one should be very weary of a pan-Asian eatery serving Chinese, Japanese, Lao, Thai and Vietnamese dishes - unless, of course, one is completely ignorant of Asian cultures. This is what LongTail is - a bar (with good wines and drinks) by and for Gwai Lo (鬼佬)! The chicken bao are no better than those at 7-Eleven; the rice paper wrapping the Vietnamese spring rolls is broken because it's too wet; the phở (which tastes better than its unappealing look would suggest) is served without the complete assortment of fresh herbs, and one has to ask for the Sriracha chili sauce (it is served with chili oil, which Chinese eat, but not Vietnamese.) The food is OK, but it's certainly not the real thing. It's not even 'modern' Asian (that ceviche may be an attempt to imitate Nobu, but sorry, it aint't!) If you want good and authentic Asian cuisines and still enjoy the beautiful Marina Bay Sands view, go to Sabai Customs House next door (for Thai), Jing on One Fullerton (for Chinese), etc. And yes, prices are many times what these dishes would cost at decent restaurants in other parts of Singapore.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batzi893, General Manager at Longtail Asian Brasserie & Bar, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Lam N,

First of all, thank you for your patronage at Longtail Asian Brasserie & Bar.

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent experience at our restaurant and that our food is not up to your expectations. As a restaurant operator, our goal is not only to serve authentic flavor of food, but also to serve food that suits the palate of our guests. We are disappointed to hear that it is not the case of your visit. On the other hand, we are pleased to hear that you enjoy Sabai Fine Thai on the Bay next door, which is also under the same management.

We hope to welcome you back to Longtail Asian Brasserie & Bar in the future. If so, please do not hesitate to contact me directly as I would be more than happy to personally take care of you and ensure that you will have a memorable experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    27
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good after a walk at the Marina Bay but expensive”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

it is a good place to have a salad or a vietnamese meal (Bo Bun). The food is oriented on vietnamese specialities. The terassse is nice also and a nice spot close to the CBD and the marina bay. Watch out prices as, a beer pint and a beef salad cost 18 boxes each.

Please don t try desert they are over priced and not good at all...We tryed 4 types of deserts...no one was good....to avoid

I would say a good place for tourist while walking on the bay, if you are from Singapore thus not a good choice.

The service was good also, nice people

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnawardforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“pretty good”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Went here because of the tripadvisor reviews. It was just as expected. Reasonable prices for the otherwise expensive area (at least during the 50%-off-driniks happy hours, which last till 8pm). Food OK, although the lamb shank others have spoken well of turned out to be a bit sweet for our taste. They also have live music, with different acts each night of the week. A pleasant experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiltwearer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent food and excellent service”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

With a small group of people we shared some starters which where excellent. I had the Lamb Shank and that was great.

After an unfortunate accident resulting being showered with beer, they kept my shirt for cleaning and did send it all the way back to Amsterdam (Cleaned of course).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaap A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Highly rated”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We visited this restaurant simply because it was no.1 on trip ..... not so easy to find, ..however.. it was well worth the effort as the food was fantastic ! so good we ordered a second round !
would really recommend you visit this restaurant and you can find it in Customs House ( which we had failed to notice ! )

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mollycatScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longtail Asian Brasserie & Bar also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Longtail Asian Brasserie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing