We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet hotel with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #116 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel with great location”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed for a night between flights. The location in central Singapore is excellent. Metro nr Cathedral is within walking distance with light bags (if weather OK). Check in was good. Higher rooms have some nice views. Did not try breakfast. Pools looked fun. Room was clean and comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    1,846
    1,068
    357
    211
See reviews for
848
1,509
388
662
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 7 nights. The location is fantastic. So close to City Hall MRT station, we didn't use a taxi once! All attractions easily reached using MRT and leg power. Had breakfast each morning at Spinellis cafe which adjoins the Peninsula Tower. Cheap and great coffee. Room was very clean, bed and pillows very comfortable. Receptionist tried to give us room with twin beds but we insisted we get the room we booked, a double! Bathroom was plenty big enough although we did encounter problems with toilet not flushing too well. The first four nights were beautifully quiet apart from overlooking the fire station, so sirens did go off during the night. Unfortunately our room was right opposite the service lift which made lots of noise when in use. We accept that the lift needs to be used to supply various floors with linen but when it was in operation even after midnight, it became very disruptive. Also, with people in rooms adjacent to ours, it was very easy to hear EVERYTHING!!!! Pools were disappointing. The Falls near reception was off putting as the pool wall facing into the foyer is glass and it is possible to see people, in the pool, not the greatest look. The other pool had no shade and the outdoor furniture needs to be replaced. Last morning we ate breakfast in Coleman's Restaurant. Very little variety unless you were looking for an Asian breakfast. Also quite messy and staff not very friendly. So overall, sensational location. Hotel needs some work.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The Peninsular Excelsior Hotel was recommended by my travel agent. Being our first time in Singapore we were reliant on the recommendation that was made to us.
We arrived early approx. 6:00 am and from an email I had received from the hotel staff I was aware that we may have to store our luggage and put our passports in the safe while we went on our first tour as our check in was 2:00 pm In this email they were aware that it was a special celebration for us. When we arrived we were advised that while check in was at 2:00 pm there was a room that we could have early. It was in the non-smoking area – perfect. The downside was that this room had 2 single beds.. I did comment to the receptionist that were celebrating our anniversary and would prefer a normal bed.. Did they offer to upgrade us knowing it was our anniversary. No.. Stuck us in a rubbish room. They gave us an early check in of which was appreciated as my husband who was on crutches at the time with a knee that has seen 28 ops and is not in a good way. He was exhausted and needed to rest his leg before we went on our first tour for the day as we were only spending 3 days in Singapore before boarding a cruise. This room did not look like what I had seen on the internet or what I expected. After our tour I went to have a shower and the head fell off the shower, My husband went to wash his hands at the basin and the handle fell off the tap. When we went to breakfast the next morning we went to reception and reported the issues. I also said I was not happy with the room and it was not what we saw on the internet. To this the young girl said you have to pay to use the internet. I explained 5 times in the end my husband told me not to worry when they said there was no one of higher authority to talk to. On returning to our room the maintenance man came had a look and said he would be back soon. We said we were going on a tour so could this be fixed then. When we returned from the tour it had not been fixed and again I had to ring to have this done as we had another tour to go on and wanted to shower. The room had not been cleaned either..
Breakfast was another issue, IT WAS NEVER HOT.. Cold bacon etc. the only hot food was an omelette that was cooked in front of you. My husband had the rice dish of which had HAIR IN IT. This was reported and we got a half weak apology.
I did not feel that this hotel was worth $200 per night plus breakfast on top.
I spoke to another patron who was offered a CLUB ROOM When they checked in early not a twin single bedroom.
GYM – WHAT GYM
When I went to use the gym I found 1 treadmill 1 walker and 3 pieces of equipment what a joke when all were in use.. I wanted to use decent equipment not the rubbish presented.
POOL was on display to the foyer reception area.. Who wants to be on display like a seal at the zoo…I have since been told that there are a lot better and newer hotels for the price I paid inc breakfast. Location was great with shops near by.,we were on tours every day so luckily were not in the room too much mainly when my husband had to rest his leg...

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shetezwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The photos look lovely but its a bit of a different story once you're there. We stayed here (2 adults and 3 children - 7/4/2) as part of the Singapore stopover on the way home. We had two twin rooms that interconnected. One room was ready at check in and the other was still being cleaned, no problem for us. When we settled in, the adult bedroom was 2 single beds so we pushed them together and thought that they would put on a double doona in the next day or two, but after 3 days we had to ask that they change the two single doonas to a double. The floor after pushing the beds together was awful, we had to put towels down so we didn't move the dust and muck around too much. Similarly when we opened the adjoining door there was a large build up of dust under the doors that never got vacuumed the whole 6 days we were there.
We were upgraded to a premier room when we checked in at no extra charge, lovely I thought. The room was relatively nice with a nice bench seat in the window to admire the view of the other building (Peninsula Excelsior is broken into two buildings/towers with pool and reception between them), so our view was of the other tower. The bathroom was terribly small, smallest in all of our travels for the past 3 weeks. Shower was over bath with a glass screen and shower curtain which proved difficult to reach the towels on the rack around the glass screen. The premier room has a window between the shower and the bedroom with a roller blind in it - both rooms blinds were awfully moldy and rusty so was better not to pull them down! Our soap was not restocked once we ran out and they have no flannels! Which with young children was a challenge so we had to use large handtowels to wash the children. You're not in the room often, just a place to clean up and sleep so its functional, but little things we really noticed this time compared to our last stay in Singapore. Only one glass, mugs were dusty and limited toiletries (shampoo/cond and a sewing kit).
Location is awesome, very convenient for everything, however, getting a taxi was sometimes a challenge - no designated hotel taxi queue which was disappointing. You have to queue up outside with all the other shoppers and locals and there is sometimes a wait. Wifi was $25/hr unless you had it as part of your package. Room service was good (hot food and quick) but no childrens menu in the whole hotel, its actually the same menu in the 2 restaurants and room service. Staff were helpful in providing a bread roll for children.
Pool was lovely and clean, hotel lobby was large and clean although many BIG groups travel through so waiting for the lift to go down to ground level was a pain a few times. You'd think that when you're in the front row waiting for the lift - you're next in but other guests pushed past and tried to get in first. After waiting for 4 lifts so that we could actually fit in, we finally got in but the lift was overcrowded and doors wouldn't close but the people last on were very reluctant to get out!
Concierge not very helpful with bag pickup when departing, we missed our scheduled airport transfer as we had been waiting 35 mins for concierge to help with bags and that was at 6:25 in the morn. There was no-one around when I finally went down just after 6:30 and concierge had accepted note from airport transfer saying I wasn't there so they'd gone but no-one thought to ring our room and see if we were on our way! Very disappointing end to our holiday as we had to take 2 taxis to airport and pay for them. Concierge was not apologetic or helpful in getting taxi just pointed out to us that we would have to pay for peak hour surcharge!
Its a place to stay, but its a very big hotel that almost can't handle the demand. Bathroom was definately the low point for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amandao352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here for two nights recently and really felt very comfortable The room was nice and well furnished.
Excellent location for Raffles and Chinatown.
Didn't eat in the restaurant but had a couple of drinks in the lounge.
Great view from the rooftop especially at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianDunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great location, In easy walking distance of all the main locations. Good facilities and helpful staff.
Good restaurants nearby. Good pool facilities with 2 pools. If you fly Singapore airlines this hotel is a must at £50 pn

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 68IanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel is extremely central and near the St. Andrew's Cathedral and the City Hall MRT station.

The rooms are standard and nothing special.

Breakfast is not in the room price and at 20 SGD (prereservation price otherwise 28 SGD) a bit pricey for the quality they offer. There is a nice coffee shop just outside with espresso and bagels or sandwiches are an alternative to the subprime breakfast. The omlettes are good but there is one guy there to cook them and I had to wait 5 minutes to get to order mine. There are no cereals but lots of chinese breakfast items.

The WiFi is unreliable as it often breaks off. There is a short ethernet LAN cable (not just a socket). If you get a room on the 12th or higher floor and are on the port side of the tall building you can have a very nice view.

Room Tip: As high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Swiss_MnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#44 of 306 in Singapore
2,414 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#50 of 306 in Singapore
3,695 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#46 of 306 in Singapore
3,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furama City Centre
#69 of 306 in Singapore
2,525 reviews
Marina Bay
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Grand Pacific Hotel
#122 of 306 in Singapore
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Property: Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Address: 5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179805, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city within easy reach to exciting landmarks in Singapore including the Singapore Night Race circuit which is just 2 minutes walk away as it is one of the trackside hotels.Just 5 minutes walk to City Hall MRT Interchange where the North-South, East-West MRT lines meet and also to the popular night spot at Clarke Quay. Only 5 minutes drive to the Esplanade, Marina Bay Sands Casino and Convention Centre, Chinatown and Orchard Road tourist shopping belt. 10 minutes drive to Resorts World Sentosa Casino and Universal Studios theme park. 20 minutes drive to Changi International Airport.The two towers of Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel offer 600 guests rooms and suites with simple luxury as well as function rooms for seminars and wedding banquets. The hotel also offers a business center and a tour desk to assist with travel arrangements.Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel Singapore is an excellent choice for business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peninsula Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore
Peninsula Excelsior Singapore
Peninsula Singapore
Peninsula Hotel Singapore
Singapore Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing