We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty reasonable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Peninsula Excelsior Hotel to your Saves list
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179 805, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
brisbane
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“pretty reasonable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Excellent location, rooms are spacious and the beds were wonderfully firm. Pity about those dreadful bath showers which are almost impossible to use with safety! Oh for a good Australian shower....We had breakfast with the locals just around the corner for about $5 per person, thereby avoiding the costly hotel breakfast spreads. Staff were very polite and totally cooperative. To our dismay the small fridge was not turned on when we arrived, thereby rendering it useless. Why supply an empty warm fridge to tired travellers? Apart from these small problems we enjoyed our 3 day stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seckolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    1,653
    960
    331
    191
See reviews for
747
1,346
353
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed there on Aug 8th on a transit stop over. On check in had to wait for more than 20 min to be able to check in. Staff are nice and Friendly. The girl who checked me in was polite and efficient. f you are looking for Shopping there is nothing much immediately around the hotel, but you can find some malls within few minutes walk. The "Location" of the hotel not great.

A tip: don't even try to go into the building exactly opposite the hotel entrance. It is DISGUSTING, Stinky.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gowtham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Peninsula Excelsior for two nights in late July. The hotel's location is ideally placed right smack in the middle of Singapore with bus stops and MRT stations placed within one block from the hotel. For the techy shoppers, Funan Digitalife Mall is just behind the hotel so shopping there is very very convenient.

Guests are able to ask for smoking or non-smoking rooms. In my case, I had requested for a non-smoking room of which they upgraded me to the top floor of the hotel - with the perfect view of Clarke Quay, Marina Bay, etc. Very generous of them in that sense.

If you are planning to enjoy the city and are particular about not being able to maximize the room as much, then you might be better off with other hotels a little farther off. However if you don't mind costs as much, this is the perfect hotel to stay in Singapore.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank yekimyekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Efficient business hotel. Meals were very good, although expensive as might be expected from this property. Was updated through Amex booking and had a very well kept suite which was amply stocked with water which is a necessity. Used a small conference room in the business center, and had strong service from Emma, who is a fixture there. Front desk staff not as strong as the rest of the hotel, need a slight attitude adjustment ( a bit stiff and pretentious).

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRockford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good hotel, reasonably priced, and in a great location. Ask for a room with a view of Marina Bay as the lights at night are great.
The staff are friendly and courteous, the only issue I had was that it can take a long time to get an elevator.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here on the recommendation of our travel agent. It is situated in a great part of town with easy access to everything and very close to an MRT station. E hotel is clean and comfortable and the service was very good. The only negative, and it is avery small one, our friends stayed on a lower floor in a different tower to us and they could hear the karaoke from the bar near reception which goes until 2am. To combat this ask to stay in the other tower!

I stupidly left a number of clothes in a drawer in the room when we left for Thailand. I contacted them and with very little effort on my part managed to get them sent to my home in Aus. This is the after sales service that shows the mark of a hotel that knows what good service means. I would stay here again and recommend it ti others.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scottsinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Jury is still out on this one, and perhaps will continue to be. We stayed there for two nights in August after our stay in Indonesia, and to be frank there was nothing particularly outstanding or memorable about this hotel...it was a room...to stay in...in a hotel...and that's about it. Do my best to write some pros and cons.

Pros:

- Location is pretty good. City Hall MRT station is very close by, there are convenience stores across the road in case you need something at night and during the day/evening there is a shopping mall, restaurants, bars and shops surrounding the complex. There is a small indoor hawker food centre near the back, across the road from the Central Fire Services building (which is quite an attractive piece of architecture), if you want some more authentic Singaporean cuisine;

- It is a fairly solid hotel - most of what you need is there. The lobby is quite bright and big, there is a half decent pool - nothing spectacular, but good enough to have a decent swim. It also had a tidy little gym and restaurants inside. The rooms are fairly spacious.

Cons:

- Fluctuating standard of service. We checked-in late, around 9 p.m. when there were no other guests requiring services and yet front desk still took over half an hour to give us our rooms. The staff in question also had a rather defensive approach to work. We also encountered a rather laid-back and chilled out concierge who offered less-than-helpful advice. That said, when we did call front desk for help, they were very polite and helpful, and the concierge on our second day was also very professional and helpful.

- Room. Perhaps it was just our particular room, but we must have been located next to a boiler room and there were loud noises generated by machinery all through the night.

- Internet. This is Singapore, one of the richest and most technologically advanced nations in the world, yet there is no free wifi for the lower floors. I called front desk and they explained that we could hook up to the net if we paid - frankly the various pay 'packages' on offer were extortionate by modern standards. Sort it out! Wifi was free in Indonesia the night before!

Nothing much to add really.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HK_Bigman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#56 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,945 reviews
Grand Pacific Hotel
#116 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#64 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furama City Centre
#57 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,916 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#46 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 2,338 reviews
Marina Bay
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Property: Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Address: 5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179 805, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city within easy reach to exciting landmarks in Singapore including the Singapore Night Race circuit which is just 2 minutes walk away as it is one of the trackside hotels.Just 5 minutes walk to City Hall MRT Interchange where the North-South, East-West MRT lines meet and also to the popular night spot at Clarke Quay. Only 5 minutes drive to the Esplanade, Marina Bay Sands Casino and Convention Centre, Chinatown and Orchard Road tourist shopping belt. 10 minutes drive to Resorts World Sentosa Casino and Universal Studios theme park. 20 minutes drive to Changi International Airport.The two towers of Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel offer 600 guests rooms and suites with simple luxury as well as function rooms for seminars and wedding banquets. The hotel also offers a business center and a tour desk to assist with travel arrangements.Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel Singapore is an excellent choice for business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Peninsula Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore
Peninsula Excelsior Singapore
Peninsula Singapore
Peninsula Hotel Singapore
Singapore Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing