We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #123 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed in Peninsula Excelsior for two nights in late July. The hotel's location is ideally placed right smack in the middle of Singapore with bus stops and MRT stations placed within one block from the hotel. For the techy shoppers, Funan Digitalife Mall is just behind the hotel so shopping there is very very convenient.

Guests are able to ask for smoking or non-smoking rooms. In my case, I had requested for a non-smoking room of which they upgraded me to the top floor of the hotel - with the perfect view of Clarke Quay, Marina Bay, etc. Very generous of them in that sense.

If you are planning to enjoy the city and are particular about not being able to maximize the room as much, then you might be better off with other hotels a little farther off. However if you don't mind costs as much, this is the perfect hotel to stay in Singapore.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank yekimyekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,614 - 2,620 of 4,505 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

Efficient business hotel. Meals were very good, although expensive as might be expected from this property. Was updated through Amex booking and had a very well kept suite which was amply stocked with water which is a necessity. Used a small conference room in the business center, and had strong service from Emma, who is a fixture there. Front desk staff not as strong as the rest of the hotel, need a slight attitude adjustment ( a bit stiff and pretentious).

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRockford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a very good hotel, reasonably priced, and in a great location. Ask for a room with a view of Marina Bay as the lights at night are great.
The staff are friendly and courteous, the only issue I had was that it can take a long time to get an elevator.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
5  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here on the recommendation of our travel agent. It is situated in a great part of town with easy access to everything and very close to an MRT station. E hotel is clean and comfortable and the service was very good. The only negative, and it is avery small one, our friends stayed on a lower floor in a different tower to us and they could hear the karaoke from the bar near reception which goes until 2am. To combat this ask to stay in the other tower!

I stupidly left a number of clothes in a drawer in the room when we left for Thailand. I contacted them and with very little effort on my part managed to get them sent to my home in Aus. This is the after sales service that shows the mark of a hotel that knows what good service means. I would stay here again and recommend it ti others.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scottsinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Jury is still out on this one, and perhaps will continue to be. We stayed there for two nights in August after our stay in Indonesia, and to be frank there was nothing particularly outstanding or memorable about this hotel...it was a room...to stay in...in a hotel...and that's about it. Do my best to write some pros and cons.

Pros:

- Location is pretty good. City Hall MRT station is very close by, there are convenience stores across the road in case you need something at night and during the day/evening there is a shopping mall, restaurants, bars and shops surrounding the complex. There is a small indoor hawker food centre near the back, across the road from the Central Fire Services building (which is quite an attractive piece of architecture), if you want some more authentic Singaporean cuisine;

- It is a fairly solid hotel - most of what you need is there. The lobby is quite bright and big, there is a half decent pool - nothing spectacular, but good enough to have a decent swim. It also had a tidy little gym and restaurants inside. The rooms are fairly spacious.

Cons:

- Fluctuating standard of service. We checked-in late, around 9 p.m. when there were no other guests requiring services and yet front desk still took over half an hour to give us our rooms. The staff in question also had a rather defensive approach to work. We also encountered a rather laid-back and chilled out concierge who offered less-than-helpful advice. That said, when we did call front desk for help, they were very polite and helpful, and the concierge on our second day was also very professional and helpful.

- Room. Perhaps it was just our particular room, but we must have been located next to a boiler room and there were loud noises generated by machinery all through the night.

- Internet. This is Singapore, one of the richest and most technologically advanced nations in the world, yet there is no free wifi for the lower floors. I called front desk and they explained that we could hook up to the net if we paid - frankly the various pay 'packages' on offer were extortionate by modern standards. Sort it out! Wifi was free in Indonesia the night before!

Nothing much to add really.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HK_Bigman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Had a 2 night stop over in Singapore. Location of the Hotel is fantastic as it is central and very close walk to MRT station. Arrived early in the morning at the hotel and unfortunately our room was not ready. Staff were not very accommodating with regards to this and the only option we had was to pay about S$120 to upgrade to another room. The upgrade and check-in took quite long. Rooms are lovely and clean and have all the necessary facilities. There was a view of the swimming pool and other wing of the hotel but not towards the sea as we had initially requested. Breakfast was average. Nice variety but nothing special. WiFi is not complementary (as the staff say). Need to pay for it. Roof top bar is ONLY accessible to Premier Club rooms.
Was a pleasant stay overall, as we only really slept there. So much to see and do in Singapore!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Darryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is well positioned, within walking distance of Orchard Rd, Clarke Quay,and other attractions.
The rooms are clean and pleasantly appointed, good water supply in the bathroom and a reasonable pleasant lounge area should you want to sit and rest outside of your room.
Our package did not include breakfast but we found small nearby cafes worthwhile.
Some of the cafes had free wifi. The hotel charges for wifi services.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#65 of 317 in Singapore
2,576 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#59 of 317 in Singapore
4,129 reviews
Furama City Centre
#298 of 317 in Singapore
2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Pacific Hotel
#124 of 317 in Singapore
1,218 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#64 of 317 in Singapore
3,895 reviews
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#55 of 317 in Singapore
4,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Address: 5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179805, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $136 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city within easy reach to exciting landmarks in Singapore including the Singapore Night Race circuit which is just 2 minutes walk away as it is one of the trackside hotels.Just 5 minutes walk to City Hall MRT Interchange where the North-South, East-West MRT lines meet and also to the popular night spot at Clarke Quay. Only 5 minutes drive to the Esplanade, Marina Bay Sands Casino and Convention Centre, Chinatown and Orchard Road tourist shopping belt. 10 minutes drive to Resorts World Sentosa Casino and Universal Studios theme park. 20 minutes drive to Changi International Airport.The two towers of Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel offer 600 guests rooms and suites with simple luxury as well as function rooms for seminars and wedding banquets. The hotel also offers a business center and a tour desk to assist with travel arrangements.Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel Singapore is an excellent choice for business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Peninsula Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore
Peninsula Excelsior Singapore
Peninsula Singapore
Peninsula Hotel Singapore
Singapore Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing