We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 nights at the Peninsular Excelsior Singapore.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #117 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5 nights at the Peninsular Excelsior Singapore.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I arrived around 10:00am. We were pleasantly surprised that's we were given a room by 11:00.
The room was large with a bay window overlooking the St Andrew's Cathedral Singapore Flyer in the distance. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was powerful. The hot water was constant unlike some hotels you get intermittent blast of hot and cold water. During our 5 day stay room keeping was excellent.
The hotel is situated in an ideal location. The nearest MRT station is CITY HALL- a five minute walk away. Anyway most of the tourists attractions are well within walking distance.
The City Hall MRT station is actually part of a very big shopping centre - Raffles City from there one can walk along the underground shopping complex to the newly renovated SUNTEC CITY.
Breakfast was complimentary.The cafe had limited tables so have breakfast before 8:30.

Room Tip: Do ask for rooms at the Excelsior Tower. The lifts at the Peninsular Tower are very busy with group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldbeanPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    1,849
    1,071
    358
    211
See reviews for
850
1,513
389
663
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Excellent location close to business district, close to City Hall MRT station, good and clean Hotel with excellent rooms. Rooms are nice and Bathrooms are relatively much bigger. Huge lobby and huge capacity hotel. Hotel is apparently old looking from outside by interiors are newly done up and modern. Have a small Gym and a pool. Sky deck is good too. Can't ask for anything more from a business hotel. I found great value for the cost at Peninsula.

Room Tip: Prefer Peninsula Tower compared to Excelsior Tower if you could choose. Wifi is free for guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajeevThakkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

After I read some of the reviews on trip adviser I elected to stay at a Club room on the upper floors and had an outstanding view across the harbour and parkland. The room was clean and spacious. The service by staff - from check in, club room and restaurant was fine - no problems at all. Although the lobby and check in is located on an upper floor, the bellboys / ground floor staff were excellent with advice and assistance. The Club room has free drinks and light snacks only between 6-8pm - with outstanding views and exceptional staff. Unfortunately the top level of the Club room was booked by a private function on one of the nights I stayed, but the lower level was fine, although there was no balcony access from this level. I anticipated some problems from the trip adviser reviews, but everything went perfect.

Room Tip: My room on an upper level was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank touring1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Fantastic location, walking distance to all major attractions. The hotel has an attractive pool area, and the rooms are nice although the bathrooms are showing their age. Probably better for couples or business trips as the pool area is quite small and not ideal for children.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nova1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Located in near Metro station, nice lobby where you can see swimmers in "see through" concept pool.
The room itself is not bad, good value for money.
My room has all the amenities, located in the peninsula section, you can see traces of very old building but apparently it is already refurbished

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The location is the only thing that brings it up to average. On arrival we were given a room that had not been prepared correctly. The bathroom was soiled and the desk and furniture very dusty. The house coats were thrown in the wardrobe unfolded so we didn't know if they had been used. Spoke to reception who said they would send housekeeping. We waited forty five minutes then went to reception and asked for another room. We were given a room on a smoking floor, the only one apparently available with a double bed. Described to us as an upgrade with a king bed and the room had just been refurbished. As we were exhausted after along flight we said OK. Wrong. The room may have been refurbished but not for a long time. The carpet was very worn but overall the room was a little cleaner. Trouble was we both had trouble breathing with the stale cigarette odour. There was no king bed. Take three. We eventually settled for a room with twin beds which was not what was booked. It was in the Excelsior tower and had a wonderful view from the eleventh floor to air con equipment with an accompanying noise from the fans. Next the wifi. $5 an hour. This is an international hotel in a large business area. We had been in a lot of hotels over the past seven weeks and not once did we have to pay for wifi. Disappointing. Housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired. Just came in the room without warning several times. Embarrassing when you have just come out of the shower. Would not stay here or recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel is definitely not a 4 star... more like 2 1/2 really! The lobby is nice but that's about it.

The rooms are really dated looking and a bit tattered. The view from our room was of the connecting buildings rooftop which consisted of old ugly aircon units and masses of grey concrete. Our TV remote didn't work properly and the bathroom wasn't much to write home about. The location is pretty good - which was the main reason for choosing this place... not too far from Orchard Rd - a main shopping district. There are some shops/mall just outside which was good. The taxi driver didn't know where the hell this place was and ended up driving here there and everywhere for like an hour, so I guess its not that popular??? hehe

Overall I'd say pay a little more and stay somewhere a bit nicer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mybeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#44 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#50 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,701 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#46 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furama City Centre
#70 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,576 reviews
Grand Pacific Hotel
#121 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Marina Bay
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Property: Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Address: 5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179805, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city within easy reach to exciting landmarks in Singapore including the Singapore Night Race circuit which is just 2 minutes walk away as it is one of the trackside hotels.Just 5 minutes walk to City Hall MRT Interchange where the North-South, East-West MRT lines meet and also to the popular night spot at Clarke Quay. Only 5 minutes drive to the Esplanade, Marina Bay Sands Casino and Convention Centre, Chinatown and Orchard Road tourist shopping belt. 10 minutes drive to Resorts World Sentosa Casino and Universal Studios theme park. 20 minutes drive to Changi International Airport.The two towers of Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel offer 600 guests rooms and suites with simple luxury as well as function rooms for seminars and wedding banquets. The hotel also offers a business center and a tour desk to assist with travel arrangements.Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel Singapore is an excellent choice for business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peninsula Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore
Peninsula Excelsior Singapore
Peninsula Singapore
Peninsula Hotel Singapore
Singapore Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing