We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hotel to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #116 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night on 3rd April 2012. Everything was good except for the fact breakfast was not included in the tariff. However, this did not matter much for me as I was from India and I had two good Indian Restaurants at stones throw away distance from the hotel. Would certainly recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: Stay on the higher floors to have a good view of Singapore
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MN1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,912 - 2,918 of 4,475 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

We checked in around 7Pm after a 8 hr flight and were right away assigned a room. The reception officer Weiming was a young boy with a pleasing personality and obliged to our request fr a room in a higher floor and a with a view with a studio room facing Marina bay Sands and the Singapore flyer which was fantastic.

The staff are nice and pleasant, but the concierge area on the ground floor was fairly small given the number of rooms and guests in the hotel. I feel that the concierge staff need a bit of training on paying attention to the guests.

The hotel is in a very busy shopping area and right next to Funan mall fr IT stuff and Peninsula mall. Marina Bay, St Andrews church, Esplanade the flyer are in walking distance.

The Breakfast was nothing much, but can be rated as average.

Overall, a very memorable stay fr the 3 of us.

Room Tip: Ask fr a higher floor. The hotel has 2 towers, we stayed in the Peninsular wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reyaz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Lacks a warm welcome,service is average, the double bedroom is a bit too small and certainly inadequate as a triple room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Have checked in early morning of 1st July (paid charges for 30th June). As per the booking reference and confirmation should check-out on 5th July morning. Guys call you at 10:00 PM on 4th July and tells you have to vacate the room as booking is only up to 4th. You have over stayed pay extra and vacate immediately. They show some crab saying they have already sent mail, which I am yet to receive. Now, One will go where at 10:00 PM? When I have asked they demand addition S$ 674 for additional night stay. Since, I have friends in Singapore, I could manage some how. Coming to breakfast " its a fish market - Nobody owns any thing - nothing is available in dishes, till somebody fills those dishes, enjoy stinky space. Hence, my suggestion is "Please avoid this hotel".

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eswararao N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had one night in Singapore to see an exhibition at Marina Bay Sands which was only a few MRT stations away (albeit with 2 line changes)
The hotel has 2 towers - one is the Peninsula, the other is the Excelsior. It would be the Peninsula Tower that has the impressive views of the Marina Bay Sands. Our deluxe room (in the Excelsior tower) was beautifully appointed yet on the smaller side, and quite dark because of the dark furniture/curtains and small windows. It was perfectly adequate but my preference would be not to stay for longer than one or two nights. Strangely, there wasn't a clock in the room. When booking, ask for a high floor that is not adjacent to the elevator or you'll hear it all night long unless you're a heavy sleeper.
In terms of location, the MRT station is a 5 minute walk and provides access to 2 metro lines, allowing for easy access to most locations. It is on a direct line from Changi airport and the trip takes about 40-50 minutes.
The area surrounding the hotel/MRT offers access to shopping centre and some restaurants.
Although a very pleasant neighborhood, I would probably choose to stay somewhere amongst some interesting local sites/experiences.
Staff were wonderfully helpful and a room was made available on arrival at 9:00am for which we were very grateful.
Our Agoda offer didn't include breakfast so we chose to eat at a little cafe at the hotel entrance that offered eggs and bread/rolls or granola with milk served with coffee for under $10.
Taxi fares to/from the airport are around $20 and take 20-30 minutes - unless travelling in peak hour when it can take twice as long and cost twice as much.

Room Tip: High floor for better views. Away from the lifts to avoid noise throughout the night. Views of Marin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyHolidayzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Located on coleman, near city hall, it is a more centered location than on Orchard Road. You can walk to Chimes, Raffles nort or Boat Quay, Clarke Quay, Chinatown south. And the central MRT node of city hall is 100 m away. The hotel is clean, room are big enough, the price is among the cheapest you can get for this category in Singapore. That's my new preferred hotel when i come to Singapore.

Room Tip: as usual, the higher the floor, the better it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anabase61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here while in Singapore for a conference at the Marina Bay Sands complex. The hotel staff were friendly, check-in was painless, and the room, while you could tell it wasn't a brand new hotel, was still in good working order.

My only complaint was that it was hard to figure out all the light switches on the wall and what turned on which light. Specifically, there's a light above the coffee maker that gets turned off by pushing on the wooden shelf below it. I couldn't figure this out and ended up just sleeping with that light on all night the first night!

There's decent water pressure, and no problems getting hot water etc.

The internet access in the rooms, at least in my room, was wired only. So if you have an ipad, you'll have to go down to the lobby, where there's wireless access.

Breakfast was good (especially the bacon).

There's a metro stop pretty close by, and the wait for a taxi was not long, so transportation shouldn't be a problem.

I would stay here again, and wouldn't have a problem recommending the property to others.

Room Tip: I was in a corner room (1834 in the excelsior tower) which appeared to have slightly more room than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ConferenceMgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#65 of 317 in Singapore
2,540 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#63 of 317 in Singapore
3,816 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#57 of 317 in Singapore
4,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furama City Centre
#296 of 317 in Singapore
2,652 reviews
Grand Pacific Hotel
#119 of 317 in Singapore
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Address: 5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179805, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $125 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city within easy reach to exciting landmarks in Singapore including the Singapore Night Race circuit which is just 2 minutes walk away as it is one of the trackside hotels.Just 5 minutes walk to City Hall MRT Interchange where the North-South, East-West MRT lines meet and also to the popular night spot at Clarke Quay. Only 5 minutes drive to the Esplanade, Marina Bay Sands Casino and Convention Centre, Chinatown and Orchard Road tourist shopping belt. 10 minutes drive to Resorts World Sentosa Casino and Universal Studios theme park. 20 minutes drive to Changi International Airport.The two towers of Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel offer 600 guests rooms and suites with simple luxury as well as function rooms for seminars and wedding banquets. The hotel also offers a business center and a tour desk to assist with travel arrangements.Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel Singapore is an excellent choice for business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Peninsula Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore
Peninsula Excelsior Singapore
Peninsula Singapore
Peninsula Hotel Singapore
Singapore Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing