We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For an affordable stay in a clean 4 star, consider this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #114 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I need a last minute hotel that was reasonably priced and clean, and found this online. Having skim read the reviews here, I was nervous and expecting the worse, however, I guess I was lucky, since I had a lovely large corner room, with friendly reception and fast checkin, and fast checkout, and friendly bell man storing my bags. I stayed in the Excelsior Tower,in room 1225 (see photos). Only complaint for me was high cost of internet (SG $25 per day). Great location, and the price makes this hotel a bargain in Singapore. In the shopping mall attached the the hotel is a great array of computer and electronics shops, and some wonderful surprises for fast food

Room Tip: request a corner room
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TobySimkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,378)
There are newer reviews for Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,062 - 3,068 of 4,378 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2011

a very busy hotel! however, the staff there makes sure that you don't feel neglected. clean, comfortable and fairly spacious rooms with easy access to the peninsula plaza shopping centre. since it is situated at the heart of the city, you'll find everything you need around, day or night. being just a few minutes walk from the mass transit (MRT), it's an ideal hotel for business stay and family/shopping.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chits82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I was told by the reservation staff that we can have a special rate for just $12 per day in the hotel car park.Yet while we check in,the "trainee" told us that did not has such car parking rate but promise that will revert us ASAP.However neither of them calling to us.
When we check out in the next day,another front desk receptionist which is more experience told us there have the $12 car parking rate but must provide them the car plate number while check in.That was a suck things while I listen this words as the "trainee" told me did not has this rate and cause me has to pay more than actual.I was wondering whether the Trainee is understand english or not.That is pretty much disappointed that a 3-4 star hotel will place an inexperience staff to deal with your hotel residents.Hope the proper training can be provide your staff to be professional.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nts on the way home from Thailand, took over half hour to check in as the receptionist said he was struggling to find us a room, (even though our room was booked months in advance!) Not too impressive when you have a tired and hungry baby and 4 year old travelling with you. Eventually we were allocated a room in the Pen Tower. I was advised a cot would be on its way (requested this was to be sent as soon a possible as baby was due for a sleep, note the cot was requested in our original booking) ended up having to call reception after nearly an hour to find out where it was only to be told to contact housekeeping direct (baby ended up sleeping on our bed with pillows around her). Room was v old and shabby/dirty, there were stains on carpet, rubbish found from previous guests, marks on wall and mould in bathroom. Would normally have requested another room, however as we were only here for 2 nts and had already wasted enough time at reception with them finding us this room and getting baby's cot sorted decided to make do. Beds and pillows were like bricks and had to ask for a seperate duvet to pad baby's cot out as was pretty much a wooden board for her to sleep on. The only good thing about the room was it did have an excellent view of the Marina Bay Sands famous hotel with the laser lights at night and also the Singapore flyer. This is my 5th trip to Singapore and worst hotel I have stayed at, location is good for raffles, flyer etc but havent really ever had a prob getting around Singapore from any other hotels I have stayed at previously, so would recommend you find anotehr hotel to stay at and most likely get more for your $$$.

Room Tip: Request Excelsior Tower, slightly better than Pen
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kraver71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We were more than pleased with our choose of hotel for an overnight stay in Singapore. It's in a great location and the staff were fantastic. We were invited to leave pur laptop in the hotel safe after we checked out and the rest of our luggage in a locked room. The outdoor pool was very refreshing and large enough to swim laps. You can get a free towel from a desk in the gym. The breakfast was exceptional with a vast range of choices including fresh fruit, natural yoghurt, exquisite muesli, porridge (two types), various Asian dishes and an array of hot food. Our room was not large but certainly big enough for our needs. Note: to access Reception, enter the lift and press L.
If this is your first trip to Singapore, I suggest you avoid eating at the outdoor restaurants at Boat Quay - a short walk away. The vendors will harras you as you wander past and the food is over-priced. We were also charged for the paper napkins (!!) and for the small bowl of peanuts that arrived on the table. I can't recommend an eatery as we didn't find a really good one.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tourist014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

we were here for 4 nights. excellent room decor with a huge space neat setting a mini bar coffee maker. the toilets were very small but kept very clean. Lavish Breakfast
House keeping very friendly .

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chefsiddmehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The whole experience of staying at Peninsula was bad. There were 2 bluidings & it was very confusing as different services were available at different buildings so you are partically running between the two.

The room were the worst that i have ever experienced - bed, bedding, pillows were uncomfortable, there was only 1 lampshade in the whole room. Bathroom was so small that you were always banging into something, there was no amenties in the bathroom.
There were ants, spiders, etc in the room

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shrub21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#51 of 316 in Singapore
2,494 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#57 of 316 in Singapore
3,608 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#62 of 316 in Singapore
3,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Pacific Hotel
#122 of 316 in Singapore
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Address: 5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179805, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $134 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city within easy reach to exciting landmarks in Singapore including the Singapore Night Race circuit which is just 2 minutes walk away as it is one of the trackside hotels.Just 5 minutes walk to City Hall MRT Interchange where the North-South, East-West MRT lines meet and also to the popular night spot at Clarke Quay. Only 5 minutes drive to the Esplanade, Marina Bay Sands Casino and Convention Centre, Chinatown and Orchard Road tourist shopping belt. 10 minutes drive to Resorts World Sentosa Casino and Universal Studios theme park. 20 minutes drive to Changi International Airport.The two towers of Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel offer 600 guests rooms and suites with simple luxury as well as function rooms for seminars and wedding banquets. The hotel also offers a business center and a tour desk to assist with travel arrangements.Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel Singapore is an excellent choice for business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peninsula Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore
Peninsula Excelsior Singapore
Peninsula Singapore
Peninsula Hotel Singapore
Singapore Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing