We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop over hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Park Orchard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Park Orchard
Ranked #86 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great stop over hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed for two nights in January as a stop over on route to the Uk from Australia. I had a great stay and this hotel is perfect for combined business leisure travel. The pros: ideally located in the heart of the Orchard rd shopping district the design is vy modern, the second tier rooms have functional desks and free wi-fi so you can work from the room, the small gym is well equipped and I was the only person using it both mornings and the block out curtains are great so you can catch up on sleep at any time of the day. The cons: nothing major, I did have to queue for breakfast both mornings which is not ideal, the hotel doesn't have a dayspa (but the hotel does arrange bookings at the sister hotel spa or can organise a therapist to come to your room) and the pool is built alongside the lobby so doesn't suit those who don't want to be on display. Having said that I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you want any kind of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BecandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    538
    217
    87
    45
See reviews for
379
370
90
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
416 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel has recently undergone a renovation resulting in very comfortable and modern rooms. The hotel is very clean and check-in plus other hotel services most efficient. It is well situated right on Orchard Road and within a very short walk to the major shopping plazas in this part of Singapore. Having said that, shopping nowadays in Singapore has not the attraction and dollar savings that it once enjoyed. Things are often no cheaper than at home but there is a fine range of luxury goods for those so inclined. The hotel serves a good breakfast and all staff members encountered were friendly and most helpful. A good place to stay for business in the central area of town, but once you have walked the shops in Orchard road there is not much else to do. For leisure I think it is preferable to stay closer to the water for example around the Marina or Raffles areas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilthetravellerXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great location for shopping, being opposite and next two shopping complexes and just a short walk to more shopping complexes and department stores. Five minutes walk to visitor center and in the middle of two MRT stations, so a short walk to both. Was very happy with the location. Staff who served us was especially friendly on arrival but was new on the job so had to keep asking his superior for help. Our booking got mixed up. We booked two rooms for three nights but somehow, one room was only booked for two nights. One room was ready but the other one wasn't so we had to wait for the other one to be cleaned. We arrived at about 5pm and the other room was finally ready at 7pm. They forgot to restock the fridge from the previous guest and we were charged for the previous guest's consumption. We queried this and they fixed it up. We stayed on the eighth floor, with a view of orchard road, so was happy with the view. The room however, looked old and tired. The carpet was stained everywhere and looked dirty. Though the sheets looked like they had been changed, one pillow had a dirty brown mark on it. The bathroom was a little cramped, with no space to hang our things, but for the hook inside the shower. Poor planning and use of space. The towel hook was almost falling off. No proper soap dish to put the soap, as the tiny dish was a big block designed to put all the shampoo, conditioner etc..., away from the sink. That made mess everytime you washed you had and put the soap back after washing your hands. The shower and bath had mould in several places. I felt gross taking a shower. All furniture were very old and was chipped and marked all over and table and benches had water marks from cups, so was not cleaned properly. Bed a little firm, mattress did not have a lot of padding compared to other hotels beds that I've stayed in. The cupboard had automatic lights on, would only turn off if the cupboards were closed properly. But the cupboard could not be closed properly, so had to sleep with light on, which was very difficult as the cupboard was next to the bed. Had to use some to wedge cupboard shut otherwise I would have gotten no sleep at all. We had book the rooms at the higher rate to include breakfast but as we were checking out at 5am on the last morning, we asked for the lower rate without breakfast. They asked if they can provide breakfast to takeaway instead, which I agreed to eventhough I didn't really want to. Anyway, they never gave us any breakfast to takeaway when we checked out and was charged at the same rate. The breakfast buffet was not very good anyway. The food selection limited and not very nice, just not made very well or tasty. The tables were very small and though were did not have to wait for a table, others that came later did and when they finally got a table, the head waiter would call out "next!", just like at a the doctors surgery. When we checked out, the bell boys who helped with out luggages were not very friendly, quite surly and came and stood in front of us after they help put the luggages in taxi expecting us to tip them. I didn't think tipping was part of Singapore culture. When we did not tip them, the looked pretty cheesed off. I don't think I will stay at this hotel again as my experience was not a good one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peechees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We booked this hotel for 2 nights at the end of our honeymoon in January. Judging by the pictures on various hotel websites, it seemed like it was a super new slick 5* property. And on Orchard Road (5 mins walk from both Somerset and Orchard MRT), and at a friendly rate for the type of hotel, it seemed too good to be true. Well...it was just a little.

Upon arrival back in S'pore our taxi driver was quick to inform us it was not actually a brand spanking new hotel, but rather the so-many-th name and/or management change of the hotel. Upon arrival we could indeed see that especially the lobby areas were refurbished, but especially in the room it did seem like it was done a little rushed, if you know what I mean. Some elements were great and the bed and shower were comfortable, the design was a little tacky in our view. We had a blown up photograph of a random blonde fashion model behind our bed, and to be very honest, the whole look and feel and amenities and service were more those belonging to a slightly less luxury (say 4*) hotel. Because we were on the 7th floor overlooking the downstairs half-covered bar, it was quite dark all day even with curtains opened. It could be brighter on the other side of the hotel, though I cannot confirm this. So it's not bad, not at all, just not as great as expected.

So would we book it again? Maybe. For the rate that we paid vs our room experience, it was a little steep. However it is right in the centre of the centre, so for a shopping trip, you can't get any better for location. I guess the purpose of the trip should be a deciding factor. In which I'd say: yes to (shopping)stopovers, friends travelling or those who want something more than decent yet who won't spend an awful lot of time in their rooms.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor overlooking the lobby bar. This was quite dark so perhaps try finding a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelenAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you decide to stay here you are really just paying for location. The hotel is located right in the heart of Orchard and starts on the 4th floor of this building. The hotel does a good job with its funky and stylish decorations, especially in the lobby and bar area. At check in we got a free bump to the "executive level room". The room itself was nice but small and not anything special...it made me wonder what the rooms on levels below us were like. Free internet on the 10th floor is a nice bonus. Breakfast was also acceptable...but again nothign special. To be fair to this hotel, we had stayed at the Conrad in Singapore the night before and LOVED it, so perhaps our standards were too high. All in all this is a fine hotel, but the price is simply too high for us to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

In the middle of shopping street.
Chick and cool design impressed me , we checked in late at night but it alright ,staffs are friendly welcome. Bed and bed sheet clean at very comfort. It's bad that the wardrobe lighting can't be turn off , they intend to or faulty switch ?? I don't know.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thanarat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Positive: location is spot on with mall after mall and 2 MRT stations very close by!

Negative: our room looked out on a terrible building site, according to the hotel all the other rooms was booked, that was a lie, we barely saw other people on the Crystal Club floor. The room was small and dark, the bathroom was even smaller. The Club privileges was nice but variety was small. We have stayed in many hotels in cities across the world and the value for money was just not on par. After 2 nights we cancelled the rest of our booking and moved to the Pan Pacific Singapore (for almost the same rate), would highly recommend that hotel to travellers!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jua83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#72 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,040 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Orchard Road
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#20 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore
Royal Plaza on Scotts
#45 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,981 reviews
Orchard Road
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Orchard

Property: Grand Park Orchard
Address: 270 Orchard Road Grand Park Orchard, Singapore 238857, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#59 Business Hotel in Singapore
#77 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Park Orchard 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded as Asia's Leading Design Hotel and one of Singapore's trendiest hotels, Grand Park Orchard is a lifestyle destination on Orchard Road. With its breathtaking herringbone design exterior glass façade and show-stopping media wall, our flagship property is a masterpiece in contemporary chic. Boasting a prime location in the heart of Singapore's premier shopping and entertainment district, Grand Park Orchard lives up to its name as Singapore's most fashionable hotel. From the designer interiors in the lobby, to 308 rooms and suites equipped with complimentary smartphone service offering free unlimited 3G internet connectivity, local and international calls to selected countries, and a metropolitan sky bar with its stunning pool, you will be greeted by cutting-edge works of style meisters at every turn. The exclusive Crystal Club and personal butlers are also available to take your experience to the next level at one of the best city hotels in Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Park Orchard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Park Orchard Hotel Singapore
Park Hotel Singapore
Grand Park Orchard Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing