We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sushi in Town”
Review of Tatsu

Tatsu
Ranked #928 of 11,201 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Read about this restaurant and head down with my family of three after confirming our reservation. Staffs are very friendly and warm. We took awhile to place our Order because the presentation on the menu looks fantastic and appealing. We eventually settles for a serving of Mix Sashimi and topping it off with an individual bento set.
The freshness from the Sashimi simply melts in our mouths and all three give it a thumb up. The Bento sets is just as good and better than others around the city area.
We are looking forward to our second visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatsu_Sg, Owner at Tatsu, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Aaron S,

Thank you for your recent review on the 5 June 2014!

We would like to thank you for choosing Tatsu as your dining destination for your family! We are more than honoured to have served you and your family during your time with us! Appreciate that you took some time out your busy schedule to arrange for a meal with your family at our Restaurant.

We are glad that you and your family appreciate our Staff and the freshness of our Sashimi! Hope you enjoyed every bit of your dining experience with us! Thank you once again for your really kind words! We are looking forward to have you dine with us again!

Best wishes,
Tatsu (Sushi & Teppanyaki)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 56 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

17 years is a long time for an F&B outlet to survive in Singapore so there must be something that Japanese restaurant Tatsu is doing right. While other restaurants are busy opening (and closing) chain stores, Tatsu focused on maintaining their customer base at Chijmes and only recently expanded their business to serving diners in the Central Business District. Located at Asia Square Tower 2, customers will be able to enjoy 2 different dining experiences from the Sushi Bar and the dedicated Teppanyaki Performance Counter.

The Sushi Bar serves fresh sashimi and sushi along with seasonal creations. The fish is air-flown multiple times a week for that extra freshness. The Omakase Sashimi ($40) is a contemporary platter with some interesting flavors. Notable were the Albacore (aka White Tuna) marinated in soy and yuzu and the superbly marbled and creamy Toro!

There's something about homemade tofu with century egg sauce that drives me crazy and the one used in the Pitan Tofu ($8) dish was lightly spiced to give it that extra kick.

If you would like some entertainment to go along with your meal, you would be entertained by Chef Kelvin's acrobatic cooking antics at Tatsu Teppanyaki. There were flying knives, seasoning shakers and food flying around and not to mention fire, lots of fire! If you are into rich flavors, do not miss out on the food here.

The King prawn ($24) is done 2 ways. The head is flattened and grilled into a biscuit disk that crackles. The meat was tossed in an umami garlic mayonnaise with lots of fried shallots and garlic (enough to kill a vamp). Save the sauce for the other dishes, it's amazing with EVERYTHING. especially with the garlic fried rice.

An A4 grade Wagyu Beef from Miyazaki Prefecture is used for the teppanyaki (200g, $168) but was sadly a little overwhelmed by the yakiniku sauce. Well, you can customize the strength of the flavors so just let the chefs know in advance.

Affordable lunch and dinner sets are available at the Asia Square outlet with prices starting from $25. Bento delivery is also available in the CBD.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ms-skinnyfat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatsu_Sg, Owner at Tatsu, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear ms-skinnyfat,

Thanks for your post on the 5 March 2014! We appreciate your really kind words and perfect descriptions of the food you had tried when you came by!

We are really glad that you enjoyed your time dining with us! We are pleased to have the opportunity to serve you and thankful that you have taken some time out of your busy schedule to come dine with us!

Best wishes,
Tatsu (Sushi & Teppanyaki)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Thank juroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Greyrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2017
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 素人旅行人
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatsu also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Tatsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing