We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money and Better than Expected”
Review of Hotel 81 - Sakura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 81 - Sakura
Ranked #202 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Rolle, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money and Better than Expected”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is the first time I have stayed in a "budget" hotel in Singapore and I am very pleasantly surprised. I decided on the Joo Chiat location as I didn't really want to be in Geylang where most budget hotels are located and for a start very pleased with the location indeed. Lively, clean, restaurants, pubs, shops and the inevitable karaoke bars - but made for a very good mix. Passing taxis readily available and easy access to CBD and airport.
The hotel itself - I arrived very early at 11 am and was checked straight in.Internet wifi free for 2 devices and worked perfectly. Reception bright, clean and efficient. Room, not large, but not tiny either. Standard room had queen sized bed, window overlooking street, good black out curtains, bathroom with shower over tub and basic toiletries. The main thing was the room was very clean, bedding and bed excellent, large LED flat TV and very efficient aircon. Tea, coffee and bottled water provided.
The aircon started leaking overnight and created a small puddle, but as I left for a meeting I reported it, the fault was efficiently and courteously noted and perfectly fixed by my return.
When you don't need a bar, restaurant, pool etc on site, but need a clean and more than functional base, then in my opinion this is it.
Very pleasantly surprised indeed - excellent value and will use again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shaun321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    52
    36
    12
    12
See reviews for
24
34
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here on our recent trip to Singapore mainly due to the price which compared to most other hotels in Singapore was pretty cheap, the hotel and rooms themselves were all Japanese themed, clean and were well kitted out with wifi,tv, tea/coffee making facilities and toiletries. The staff during the day were friendly and helpful however we found the staff taking over at night to be a bit rude and unresponsive. The hotel itself is located in the red light district which posed no problems and only added more colour to the place. On the doorstep is a laundromat, 7 eleven and a variety of other shops, cafes and eateries along Joo Chiat Road and the nearest SMRT stop, Paya Lebar is also within walking distance, allowing access to all the major tourist attractions.
Good for a budget stay if you don't have high expectations and are just looking for a bed for the night after exploring the rest of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavieTheme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We missed our flight going back home and we stayed there for a night. Nothing much to say about the hotel but it helped us a lot. When we missed our flight, we were looking for a cheap hotel for a night and the airport counter gave us this hotel. Surprisingly one of my wife's cousin's apartment was just a walking distance from this hotel that actually helped us a lot.

Anyway, the hotel is fine, clean and.....I should say okay for one nigh. Its very hard to find a hotel with this rate that offers this quality in Singapore. You can find many yummy restaurants around Joo Chiat road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamun007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A very nice feeling hotel with the concept of Japanese style.
I booked a twin room for me n my colleague, it is not a spacious room but the room condition is just nice for us. Surrounding of this hotel is full of pub and restaurant, therefore it wont be a problem for us to having our dinner after our work and for sure the entertainment in the pub as well..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ah_Lai90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phang Nga, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my second stay in Singapore in as many months and this budget hotel was several grades higher than my previous budget accomodation.
The foyer is fairly non- desript and the room was smallish but certainly adequate for my overnight stay. I found the room clean, with a pleasant ambience and all the facilities in place. Make your own tea/ coffee or wander down to the many restaurants nearby. Yes, it's in the red light area of Singapore but Singapore is a very safe place and just adds a bit of colour to the adventure.
The staff are warm, friendly and helpful. I would have no hesitation in staying there next time in Singapore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank james u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I gave it a three only because of the price. The room was reasonable but I had to go down to the front desk to get towels. And there isn't even a curtain for the shower, just a hand held spray. It is pretty clear this is the red light district of Singapore. On the positive side that means lots of bars and restaurants nearby. I booked this hotel because it close to the airport. So, fine for a short overnight stay but I would not recommend it for anything longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdoeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Booked thru last minute.com for $69 a night. Very small but clean, quiet and dark in room perfect for getting some sleep after travel. Easy walk to public transport.
Manager Jimmy very helpfully in planning a inexpensive day trip.
Will stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amhuman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#150 of 312 in Singapore
366 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#147 of 312 in Singapore
548 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Orchid
Hotel 81 - Orchid
#247 of 312 in Singapore
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#128 of 312 in Singapore
336 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 Hollywood
Hotel 81 Hollywood
#190 of 312 in Singapore
152 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel  81 Classic
Hotel 81 Classic
#238 of 312 in Singapore
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 - Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Sakura

Property: Hotel 81 - Sakura
Address: 181 Joo Chiat Road, Singapore 427452, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Sakura 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 - Sakura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Sakura Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing