We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for over night stay.....”
Review of Hotel 81 - Sakura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 81 - Sakura
Ranked #211 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We missed our flight going back home and we stayed there for a night. Nothing much to say about the hotel but it helped us a lot. When we missed our flight, we were looking for a cheap hotel for a night and the airport counter gave us this hotel. Surprisingly one of my wife's cousin's apartment was just a walking distance from this hotel that actually helped us a lot.

Anyway, the hotel is fine, clean and.....I should say okay for one nigh. Its very hard to find a hotel with this rate that offers this quality in Singapore. You can find many yummy restaurants around Joo Chiat road.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mamun007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 149 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

A very nice feeling hotel with the concept of Japanese style.
I booked a twin room for me n my colleague, it is not a spacious room but the room condition is just nice for us. Surrounding of this hotel is full of pub and restaurant, therefore it wont be a problem for us to having our dinner after our work and for sure the entertainment in the pub as well..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ah_Lai90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my second stay in Singapore in as many months and this budget hotel was several grades higher than my previous budget accomodation.
The foyer is fairly non- desript and the room was smallish but certainly adequate for my overnight stay. I found the room clean, with a pleasant ambience and all the facilities in place. Make your own tea/ coffee or wander down to the many restaurants nearby. Yes, it's in the red light area of Singapore but Singapore is a very safe place and just adds a bit of colour to the adventure.
The staff are warm, friendly and helpful. I would have no hesitation in staying there next time in Singapore.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank james u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I gave it a three only because of the price. The room was reasonable but I had to go down to the front desk to get towels. And there isn't even a curtain for the shower, just a hand held spray. It is pretty clear this is the red light district of Singapore. On the positive side that means lots of bars and restaurants nearby. I booked this hotel because it close to the airport. So, fine for a short overnight stay but I would not recommend it for anything longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdoeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Booked thru last minute.com for $69 a night. Very small but clean, quiet and dark in room perfect for getting some sleep after travel. Easy walk to public transport.
Manager Jimmy very helpfully in planning a inexpensive day trip.
Will stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amhuman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was one of the hotels I stayed in as part of my survey of budget hotels. I liked it better than the Hotel 81 Opera, which is diagonally across Joo Chiat Road, because the oddly shaped room did not feel claustraphobic even though it didn't have a window; it seemed more spacious.

There is another Hotel 81 called Changi that isn't on Trip Advisor. It is a nice enough budget hotel and it rents rooms by the hour. ;-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank abcadventuretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is my Singapore's home-away-from-home. It may not have everything but it's good enough for me. It's located in the area where Vietnamese food is to be found easily. Karaoke lounges are everywhere and this is where men would come and meet their ladies of the night. Thus, Hotel 81 is at the right location to cater for such needs but it is also catering to the need of a traveller like myself who's looking for value-for-money accommodation option that's slightly better than backpackers. Backpackers in Singapore is different from the ones in Europe where they easily cram in 50 beds in one big hall. The room is big enough for a double bed and it so happened that the bed here is comfortable. The shower pressure is great! Wi-fi could be purchased at Sg$10 a day. There's a table but no chair but that doesn't matter that much to me. I don't use TV anyway. For Sg$75 a night, there's nothing to complain about. Hotel 81 never promises the world and it is what it is and that's good enough to me. Singapore is a tiny place. Public transport is never an issue as taxis are everywhere. The place is so well-policed and so brightly lit that solo female jogger could be found exercising at 1am! Don't have sweet condiments laying around because there are ants everywhere! That's not the fault of the hotel but that we are in a tropical country and thus, this is a norm. BUT one word of caution, this is ideal for the budget conscious and not suitable for those guests that are looking for 4 stars treatment!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wiredfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#158 of 319 in Singapore
377 reviews
Geylang
Chang Ziang Hotel
Chang Ziang Hotel
#197 of 319 in Singapore
122 reviews
Geylang
Four Chain View Hotel
Four Chain View Hotel
#252 of 319 in Singapore
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BudgetOne Hotel
#243 of 319 in Singapore
8 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#150 of 319 in Singapore
568 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel  81 Classic
Hotel 81 Classic
#235 of 319 in Singapore
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 - Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Sakura

Address: 181 Joo Chiat Road, Singapore 427452, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $46 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Sakura 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 - Sakura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Sakura Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing