We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay, not really great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal at Queens
Ranked #167 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just okay, not really great”
Reviewed October 12, 2006

Our stay at Royal at Queens was just plain okay. It's nothing spectacular and there were some problems with the hotel. First, the walls in our room needed repainting (or a thorough cleaning). There was a yellowish substance on the walls that kinda looked gross (I think old paint has chipped off) and the sink in the toilet was a little clogged. Housekeeping also left a wet towel (that we didn't use!) on top of our luggage, so of course, our luggage got wet! There was also this irritating housekeeping lady that kept on pressing our doorbell while shouting "housekeeping!" and so she woke up our tired little baby who was napping!! Can't she just buzz once and wait for a reply rather than push the doorbell again and again?!? Breakfast was again, just ok. Food was plentiful but it wasn't the best. I loved the orange juice though, and the staff there was quite polite. Location-wise, it's okay since it's right behind Allson and there's a good enough foodcourt beside it. Bugis and OG were quite near, although the 10-15 minute walk was kinda tiring if you're carrying a little baby. Overall, Royal at Queens is a little below average. It's definitely not a 4-star hotel!

  • Liked — Probably the location
  • Disliked — The hotel needs a makeover!
  • Tips/Secrets — Look for a hotel with a good location.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cheerful_mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    338
    212
    51
    40
See reviews for
197
242
61
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2006

Stayed at the Royal on a Singapore Stopover trip. The location was great, it was near the Bugis Street markets and a street away from a 24 hour foodcourt (very good and cheap hawker's food!). However the hotel was in such a terrible state. My room smelled of mold and dampness (like the carpet was wet for a couple of weeks!). The bathroom was such a disaster with cracks on the walls, the vanity and the toilet basin. The hotel staff were abit clueless as to what was happening during the morning. One staff told me the hotel cafe won't open till 10:00 am, as I had an early flight I was at the lobby at 7 am and behold the cafe was serving a buffet breakfast. I did have my breakfast and went to pay, no one was at the cashier, the kitchen staff told me to go away as she didn't want to take my money. I had to literally look for someone who worked in the hotel and gave her the payment for my breakfast! Would not stay there again. And did I mention that everyone staying at the hotel seem to be smoking!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Tips/Secrets — Not worth the money
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Freshjive_Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 6, 2006

We stayed at this hotel at the end of June this year. It was part of a package with Singapore Airlines. We paid for 3 adults (husband, wife and 14 year old daughter): we were given a double room with an extra bed which effectively meant that you could not walk in the room or store your luggage. On asking reception about these appalling arrangements they were very aloof and unconcerned that they had unhappy guests. Finally, the lobby manager offered us an upgrade to the suite. We paid the difference though I think we would have been better off in another hotel. The suite was more spacious. However,
1. The bathroom which is not 4 star standards leaked.
2. The bed linen was old with blankets that probably hailed from world war 2.
3. The night frills had awful stains which housekeeping said they could not change.
4. The breakfast was definitely not 4 star standard.
5. The website of the hotel and pictures there are very misleading.

Would not recommend this especially if you think that this is a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 14, 2006

I stayed at Royal At Queens for a couple of nights at the end of January 2006. It seemed like a pretty good deal, booked online.
Maintenance works were being done to the pipework with what seemed like a very large hammer from 3 to 4AM. This eventually stopped after a call to reception (who didn't think it was a strange hour to use a hammer!)
As with most hotels, a credit card swipe was taken for any incidentals, none of which were used, aside from said phone call to reception.
Lo and behold, my credit card has charges from the hotel, which I don't notice until my statement arrives.
I travel to Singapore two to four times a year and will never stay there again. It will also be at the bottom of my recommendations list for others.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
33 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#115 of 312 in Singapore
1,155 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Singapore
Hotel Royal Singapore
#243 of 312 in Singapore
706 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#114 of 312 in Singapore
4,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
V Hotel Bencoolen
V Hotel Bencoolen
#159 of 312 in Singapore
1,294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kai
Hotel Kai
#111 of 312 in Singapore
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal at Queens

Property: Hotel Royal at Queens
Address: 12 Queen Street, Singapore 188553, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal at Queens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 4-Star smoke free hotel with 231 well-appointed guest rooms, including Executive Rooms, Junior Suite & Service Apartments that are incorporated with contemporary decor that caters to both business and leisure travellers. Strategically located in the City's dynamic business, financial, convention, cultural, entertainment, and educational hubs, our hotel is located close to places such as Suntec City, Raffles City, Chijmes, Singapore Art Museum, Bugis Junction, Bugis Village, Esplanade Theatres On The Bay, Marina Square, Singapore Flyer, Little India, Boat Quay and Clarke Quay. We are also conveniently located within walking distance to 3 MRT stations - Bras Basah, City Hall, and Bugis - with Bras Basah MRT Station being only 100 meters from our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Royal at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal At Queens Singapore
Royal At Queens Hotel
Hotel Royal At Queens Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing