We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Royal at Queens
Nearby Hotels
$271
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$314
$203
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$186
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$334
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$195
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$236
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$140
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$159
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
$409
$243
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
$529
$312
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveler rating
93
370
232
54
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
370
232
54
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingapore art museumsingapore airlinesbras basah mrt stationsingapore stopover holidayquiet streetorchard roadbuffet breakfastcircle linehop on hop off busstayed at this hotel for nightsfree wifidvd playerrooms are cleanhotel is locatedbugis areatwin roomraffles city
Filter
Updating list...
560 - 565 of 790 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children stayed here for 6 nights. We were only allowed a King size bed and a 1 rollaway. It made the room very squeasy. The beds only had a thick quilt no top sheets, so we asked for a sheet, as the quilt was to hot, we had to pay $100 deposit!! They told us we could leave the sheet in the room at the end of our stay, but we took it to reception to get our money back.
We liked the position of the hotel, a cheap taxi ride to Orchard Rd, close to a 7/11, and lovely cool shopping centre turning right out of hotel and walking 1 block. The breakfast was ok, the dinner was just ok but for S$12 what so you expect? We were the only ones in the restaurant, so had the whole buffet to ourselves!
The pool would have to be the smallest hotel pool I have ever seen, but each time we went to the pool we were the only ones there!
Close to Bugis station, could easily catch the MRT from airport to hotel and a short walk to the Allson hotel up to the second floor which joins to the Royal, easy!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travel2x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2009

Stayed two separate nights either way on the Singapore Stopover scheme on trip to New Zealand so only paying 2 GBP per night with airport transfers was going to be a bargain whatever. I liked this hotel, although first impressions are not great. No formal reception, just a row of people behind desks. Rooms were for me great. Plenty of rooms, no trendy gimics, everything there and easy to use wth no fuss. Free broadband access from room, a personal security box easy to use, powerful shower and bath. Normal coffee/tea. Even the fangled personal lighting scheme was easy to use and worked. The hotel is used for weddings a lot but that didn't impact us. The staff were great, not starched with forced smiles and silly uniforms, just natural smiles, down to earth and very helpful.
Location is just around the corner from raffles and if you can get used to the humidity its possible to walk to many of the tourist haunts. The buffet breakfast was a blend of western/asian, very good value at $22 singapore before 50% discount with Singapore stopover. Evening options were an Asian buffet or western a la carte. Both times when we stayed there western guests were a very small minority., seems to be used a lot by asian tour groups.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank handfordr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

A good reasonably priced hotel for a few days stop over. Unfortunately we were here for a week. Initial reaction was "small room, nicely re-decorated, but what's that smell??? " Noticed there was what looked like mold on the walls beneath the new wall paper and a sewer gas smell coming from the bathroom. Must admit the other room my colleague was in didn't smell and seemed slightly larger.

Nice neutral modern decor. The bedding was good - feather duvets and pillows. No other choices offerred for pillows and they were rather too soft but we survived. Towels were tiny and well used, but clean. Shower over bath was very narrow. Fought with the shower curtain every morning but plenty of hot water and good pressure.

Only 3 english tv channels - Channel 5, espn and CNN - no discovery channel , most unusual. There is a broadband outlet in the room but no wifi. You can borrow a cable or use the spare computer in the tiny business centre office at $6 an hour for internet access.

The staff were very good, polite and efficient - no complaints. An additional swipe card key was available but not offerred on check-in. We had to ask and pay a $3 cash bond for the 2nd card but it was worth it.

If there is an emergency an automated voice message is transmitted thru speakers in the hall ways. I know this as it went off at 7am one morning. We had no idea what it was saying until the "All clear - sorry for the false alarm" message was transmitted. Good thing there wasn't a real fire or bomb scare.

Breakfast - Quantity not quality is the focus here. Cereal is either cornflakes or Cocopops, two types of bread for toast, you can get an omlette made on the spot by a chef (which is worth the queue), bacon - lots but dried out and fatty, hash browns (found them on the last day in the asian food section, asian breakfast section - yes, fresh fruit - melons, pineapple, apples (no bananas), apple or orange juice, coffee, tea and warm milk - ewwwww (no cold milk), pastries and yogurt. As I said... lots of food but not the greatest quality. And we also have to add that we sufferred 2 attacks of delhi belly a few hours after eating breakfast on two different days - and it was the only time we all ate the same things. Coincidense maybe??? ...but I don't think so.

The buffet dinner was a very cheap $12 per person - but there was significantly less to eat than breakfast and the quality was even worse (if that's possible). We invited people to join us for a meal and were very embarrassed.

There is a small gym with a running machine, cross trainer and exercycle - all good quality and in good condition. The pool is hard to find and just a lap pool really. You MUST shower before entering the pool - WHY???? because the signs command it.

Eating out - exit the hotel and turn right, walk for 1 block and enter a newish shopping centre on the right. Take the escalator to the 4th floor. Avoid the asian chicken rice place and head for the steak house in the middle. The steak, chips and veges are excellent - but ask for no seasoning unless you adore salt/pepper/paprika for africa on everything.

OR exit the lift on level 2 of the hotel, go thru the glass doors into the Allson hotel, exit thru the Allson hotel entrance and turn left. There is a good food court there with lots of local traders or further along the street, diagonally opposite at the traffic lights, under the Intercontinental Hotel there is a great shopping centre with lots of eateries.

There is also a huge night market nearby. Turn right coming out of the hotel and walk two blocks. Walk past the fruit shops and the entrance is right there. Great for last minute souvenir and gift shopping.

Last advice, bring earplugs as the corridors get noisy with other guests banging doors and talking loudly at any hour of the day or night. Also the aircon is a bit noisy as was the baby crying in the next room.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mmbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

We booked the Royal@Queens through the Singapore Airlines stopover package and have stayed there 2 years in a row, except this year it was $100 cheaper due to the promotion of first night for $1.

So our 5 nights cost us $505 which also includes lots of bonuses such as free transfers, 50% discount on meals at the hotel, free entry into various attractions such as Singapore Zoo, Jurong Bird Park etc.

Royal@Queens is a good hotel in a great location; the room is nice with a huge flat screen TV, DVD player, iron and ironing board, tea & coffee making facilities and a big in room safe. It use to be part of the Allyson Hotel and is still connected by a walkway. The hotel is a 5 min walk to Bugis Street, Raffles, Chijmes, City Hall MRT, there is a 7/11 next door, atms and a food court. It also took us about 15 minutes to walk to Little India.

If the price was right we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cathy&Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

Arrived at the hotel around 8am and managed to check-in. Bravo! The hotel is located around 10mins walk away from Bugis Mrt station and shopping centres. Very convenient and safe to walk back to hotel at night time. The room was nice and cozy, very clean and new bathroom. Breakfast was ok, decent choices. Getting a taxi in front of the hotel was easy and less than 2mins wait. Definately will go back!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vacation888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews