We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location! But So-So in other things”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South East Asia Hotel
Ranked #253 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
bangkok
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Location! But So-So in other things”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have stayed here 3 nights. The room rate is reasonable and the location is great.
It is very close to MRT, Bugis shopping Street and Department store.

But the room is old, there were no hair drier, iron and refrigerator in the room.
The hotel has only one small elevator, no car parking and no Wi Fi. The breakfast is poor, not much choice. I think that I will never get back again.

Room Tip: You should select the high floors. It will have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apimukp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    78
    73
    18
    13
See reviews for
65
57
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
96 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Found this hotel after research. It centraly located and comparing to other hotels in the area price is very reasonable. It is run by some eldery staff mainle be groomy women . Rooms are a little small and most of them need renovation . Breakfest poor . But the main reason we spent there four nights was the location & price.....

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with window facing outside!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pazitush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My parents stayed at this hotel for 5 days and I think this was horrible experience. Customer service was bad at the Check-in, the lady never looked up to see her customers' faces and I really hate her attitude and her voice. I knew that Singapore was one of the best service country in the world but this hotel just ruins it and detroys our good feelings totally.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Conellius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2012

On behalf of a friend from Malaysia, I emailed this hotel to enquire if there's any room available this December. Got a reply asking for number of persons. I replied 2 adults and 2 children. Children ages less than 16 years old. And what I got was,

11 years old are considered adults size. (as though they know these children). Too big to fit in the room. Since you did not furnish more details. there are no available rooms.

What the ****?

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Adib H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel location is accessible, near the MRT. Our room is clean though it has no hair drier.The front desk personnel were friendly and accommodating. We were disappointed when we had our buffet breakfast, because when we asked for a water she was murmuring as if she was angry...?.. Another bad thing is that while one of our company is still eating his breakfast, that lady already took the plates in our table, considering that we are not finished yet. Must train that lady with good manners. The food is just right for price being paid.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jo_manila876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here years ago a few times, and must have used superior rooms as this time we had a standard, small aged and smelly. Some of the staff are way over officious and the booking process is from the dark ages.

No wifi, extremely limited breakfast, although most places in this price range dont offer brekkie, but who cares when you can go and get a murtabak, mmmmmm.

So if its just location and price this is ok, but for anything else go elsewhere.

Room Tip: stay only for location and price, easily accessible from Bugis MRT and circle line not far either an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noleaveleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel looked newly renovated when I visited eight years ago, but it has aged noticeably since then. How old-fashioned is it? No wi fi in the hotel, but coin-op computers near the elevator. Still, the rooms are clean and functional. Those overlooking the pedestrian street out front cost more, while the cheaper rooms are at the back of the hotel. Some of the rooms back there are windowless and therefore a bit claustrophobic.
Breakfast in the vegetarian restaurant downstairs is included in the price -- a simple breakfast of toast and tea/cofee, or a basic Chinese buffet breakfast usually featuring noodles or fried rice, a vegetable, and steamed buns.
The reason to stay here, besides the reasonable (for Singapore) price, is the hotel’s great location. Nearby are a food court, busy temple, department stores, and Bugis shopping bazaar. Main bus routes are nearby, as is Bugis MRT station. For the energetic, destinations like the National Museum and Little India are within walking distance. The hotel staff are helpful in giving directions.
Book ahead; it's a popular place.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blokototerminous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fragrance Hotel - Bugis
#167 of 312 in Singapore
433 reviews
Summer View Hotel
#102 of 312 in Singapore
456 reviews
Hotel 81-Bugis
#233 of 312 in Singapore
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#62 of 312 in Singapore
6,375 reviews
Downtown Core
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#209 of 312 in Singapore
147 reviews
Hotel G Singapore
#70 of 312 in Singapore
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South East Asia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South East Asia Hotel

Property: South East Asia Hotel
Address: 190 Waterloo Street South East Asia Hotel, Singapore 187965, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
South East Asia Singapore
Hotel South East Asia
South East Asia Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing